We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great girls weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Mercure Newcastle George Washington Hotel Golf and Spa
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Washington
Reviewed 22 October 2012

We have just been on a girls weekend to the hotel, from the moment we walked in we were greeted with a smile and a welcome, the hotel was quiet no weddings on, We had very comfortable and clean twin rooms, we had 2 great breakfasts and we would like to say a big thank you to the staff who made us a fresh cooked breakfast after we arrived late on mon am thinking it was still weekend times, nothing was too much trouble, we had 2 evening meals and the food was exceptional ,great chef. we asked for advise about nights out and where to go and the staff were spot on we had a great time. we used the spa this was small but enough for us as it was quiet, we will def be back for another night out and weekend break ,

Room Tip: £15 taxi fare into newcastle for a night out. sunday market on the gareshead quayside was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janmoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craiglands, General Manager at Mercure Newcastle George Washington Hotel Golf and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2012

Dear janmoz

I’m sincerely happy that you enjoyed your stay to the Mercure George Washington and thank you for taking the time with expressing your delight.

I see that overall you found the food of a high standard as well as service. I will of course share your kind words with the kitchen and the F&B team (especially with the team members on Monday morning).

We hope to delight on your next visit.

Many thanks

Neel Chawla

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (906)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

714 - 720 of 906 reviews

Reviewed 15 October 2012 via mobile

Hi came here earlier in the year as my cousins,aunt & mam had arranged a surprise pampering day for me a few weeks before my wedding x we were treated like like queens lovely welcome then we had two beauty treatments each, had a swim in pool, giggles in the bubble pool, steam room was pretty x we then had lunch with champagne which was delicious x great relaxing day x thankyou to all the staff who made it so special also my family xxx

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank honeymoon2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2012

Good hotel, some of the rooms can be unbearably hot due to the large red hot pipes running through the rooms that feed the other rooms further down the corridors, but get a room well away from reception and it is not a problem. Breakfast food is always ok, the staff are all great and helpful. It is a really quiet location which is a big bonus for me. The health club is pretty small and the pool is barely big enough for a swim, but it is free so no complaints really. Free Internet and loads of parking. All in all my number one choice if I am in the area. The room rates are usually good as well.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank andyfatnbald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2012

Stayed here for a weekend whilst my bf was golfing.

Hotel very nice. Rooms clean and reasonably sized, beds comfortable.
Meal was really nice in the restaurant both times we ate and breakfast was Ok too.

would return for the weekend.

Room Tip: Think they are all the same but we had one on the upper floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kazza74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2012

Well I do not usually spend time writing reviews or ratings on websites like this but following my recent stay last weekend at the hotel I just had to 'put pen to paper' and elaborate on my fantastic experience at this hotel (or maybe it should be called a resort!).

I had to be in Newcastle for a business meeting, and having never visited the NE before I decided to extend my stay over the weekedn. Washington is around 20 mins from the centre of Newcastle but due to easy access to the A1 driving there and back was very easy.

The hotel is in a quiet area, unlike many Premier Inns and similar there are not constant aeroplanes flying over keeping people awake at night.

I am not a keen golfer but I had to try to driving range, the people on the complex were extremly friendly and even though I was by myself I thoroughly enjoyed myself as the persona of many people was fantastic.

My room was a decent size, apart from finding it difficult to find the remote (it was hiding under some paper on the table!), I can't complain - it was spacious, comfortable and had all amenties that one would require.

The bar area isn't the largest bar in the world, but I felt was a perfect size for the hotel - bearing in mind it is a hotel! The staff were friendly and was nice to see people who could talk English working in a hotel!!
I ate in the restaurant on the evenings and also chose to have Sunday lunch. I was greatly impressed by the lunch, especially the mashed turnip and meat - might have to revisit just for the food!

I'm not much of a gym/pool/spa person but the pool area looks to have been refurbished recently, it is of a decent size and allowed for a few hours of complete relaxation.

Definitely worth a look at, especially if you love golf, have a family or just love good food!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Me my wife and two kids aged 5 & 8, were staying in the North East visting family and local attractions. The Mecure at Washington was an ideal location for us, and was easy to find off the motorway. The appearance of the hotel did not give us the best feeling, as it looked a little dated from the outside, however, we were pleasantly surprised to find that looks can be deceiving, because the family room we had was very nice, it was very clean, comfortable, modern and was a good size, a definite family room compared to other hotels, which advertise family rooms.
The spa was very well kitted out and our kids loved the pool, which helped everyone relax after the journey. The breakfast was excellent too. All in all I would very much recomend it and would definetly stay again. The one downside which stopped me giving a five star review, was the lack of lifts, so if you have a room on the 1st floor like we did, there is quite a trek up and down stairs with your bags, not easy with two kids. I would try and stay on the ground floor next time.

Room Tip: There are no lifts, so ground floor rooms are more convenient if you want to avoid carrying your bag...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2012 via mobile

First stay here and last

Bathroom full of mould

Random fire alarms due to over sensitive sensors when raised this with manager was told it was the guests fault for setting them off

Bar meals finish at 6 so if you are a light arrival as I was, and don't want a large meal, well tough luck

Breakfast was un inspiring and being alone it felt as though was unwelcome and was seated in a dark corner

Also no t mobile or orange signal in the hotel - I know this isn't their fault just thought it was worth mentioning

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ian912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craiglands, General Manager at Mercure Newcastle George Washington Hotel Golf and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2012

Dear Ian912

Thank you for your review and I’m disappointed to learn you experience was not a positive one.
Thank you for your feedback regarding apparent mould and this will be sorted in quick time. I must note that our general bedroom & bathroom standards are very high.

Our bar menu does finish at 6pm however there is a large selection of dishes with lighter options.

Once again thank you for your review.

Kind regards

Neel Chawla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Washington
2.7 mi away
Campanile Hotel Washington
Campanile Hotel Washington
#6 of 6 in Washington
379 reviews
3 mi away
Quality Hotel Boldon
Quality Hotel Boldon
#1 of 1 in West Boldon
483 reviews
2.7 mi away
Premier Inn Newcastle (Washington) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Washington
Holiday Inn Washington
#3 of 6 in Washington
819 reviews
4.9 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 18 in Durham
2,212 reviews
9 mi away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Newcastle George Washington Hotel Golf and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Newcastle George Washington Hotel Golf and Spa

Address: Stone Cellar Road | High Usworth, Washington NE37 1PH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Washington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Washington
Price Range: £60 - £82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Newcastle George Washington Hotel Golf and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 103
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Accorhotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Newcastle George Washington Hotel Golf and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Newcastle George Washington Hotel Golf And Spa Tyne And Wear

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing