We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure Newcastle George Washington Hotel Golf and Spa
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Washington
Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed for the second time on 15/03/2014. Room was clean, bed was very comfortable. We had the two 3 course supper for £30 deal. I had fresh fruit with sorbet starter, steak and ale pie main and strawberry cheese cake for dessert. I dont know how other people have complained about the food, we couldn't fault it. It was all brought out quickly, main was hot and tasted delicious. Well worth the 15 pound each. Male waiter was very polite. Will be staying again :-)

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank EMMA2015X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craiglands, General Manager at Mercure Newcastle George Washington Hotel Golf and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your kind review. It is much appreciated and I can assure you that my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

I look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Kind regards,

Martin Hall
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (861)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

542 - 548 of 861 reviews

Reviewed 12 March 2014

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank steve L
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Craiglands, General Manager at Mercure Newcastle George Washington Hotel Golf and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 3 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for a stag doo & a couple of rounds of golf.
The hotel is self is old but it is decorated well & modern inside. The rooms we were in were twin rooms & sufficient for what we needed although not a great deal of space.
The bathroom was modern & looked as if it was recently fitted.
The food was inclusive in our booking & for the price it was good. Perhaps offer veg with the main courses & a choice of cream or ice cream with dessert. On arrival back from the local town at 12:30 in the evening we hoped for a couple of pints before bed & the older guys looked for a coffee however the bar was closed although its advertised as a 24 hr bar. The helpful night porter advised the hotel was quiet & he was the only staff member working so couldn't open the bar. This was not a problem as we understood the Feb is a quiet month.
The golf course will be a nice course when its dry! Although we had no rain during our stay a few holes on the front 9 were badly water logged. All shots had to be teed up.
We'd certainly return again in the summer to play this course again!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Craig_Sus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craiglands, General Manager at Mercure Newcastle George Washington Hotel Golf and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit.

The golf course plays much better from the spring onwards and I hope this year's weather will be as good as last year.

I look forward to seeing you again and hope you can appreciate the course in all its glory.

Kind regards,

Martin Hall
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Spent 4 night leisure break with my wife. From check-in to departure never had any issues with staff(ing). Any issues dealt with satisfactorily. Menu selection, quality of food and restaurant service very good. Only real point to bring up was the use of a disabled parking space (no blue badge on display) by an able bodied female member of staff despite dozens of other available parking spaces. The Kia Picanto driver/staff member used the nearest disabled space on our first 2 days there! Not a good advert......

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SallyC09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craiglands, General Manager at Mercure Newcastle George Washington Hotel Golf and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit.

Please accept my sincere apologies regarding the disabled car parking. I will ensure this is addressed for the future.

I look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Martin Hall
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014 via mobile

Just left this hotel after my four stay and I would still go back. It is sliding in my favour though. The room was very hot even with the radiator turned down and the flood lights were very bright outside not engendering a pleasant sleep. The food has also declinded. The hotel has been very quiet on each of my visits and the staffing light there is light and and too light staffing. Even when it is quiet you still need enough people to keep it running smoothly. The loud party of golfers weren't fun either but not the hotel's fault and to the hotel's credit they did their best to keep disruption to other guests to a minimum. Still my favourite hotel inbthat area but I may stay somewhere else next time to remind me why. Lovely staff as always.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank MidlandAssessEnergy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craiglands, General Manager at Mercure Newcastle George Washington Hotel Golf and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for your review further to your recent stay. I would firstly like to thank you for your loyalty to the hotel and offer my sincere apologies for the disappointment you have experienced on this occasion.

I will discuss your comments with the hotel's management team. I would like to assure you the hotel employees have remained the same for the previous year. However, I will ensure we do not become complacent.

I do hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Regards

Martin Hall
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
2  Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Craiglands, General Manager at Mercure Newcastle George Washington Hotel Golf and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 8 February 2014

Staff extremely friendly and clean and tidy room and great price, exceeded expectations! Gym abit on the small side, but other than that it's great! Receptionist very knowledgable and very supportive with any queries

Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
1  Thank Ty G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craiglands, General Manager at Mercure Newcastle George Washington Hotel Golf and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2014

Dear Guest

Many thanks for your kind review. I am glad my team made your stay enjoyable.

Hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Regards

Martin Hall
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Washington
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Washington
Holiday Inn Washington
#4 of 6 in Washington
793 reviews
2.7 mi away
Premier Inn Newcastle (Washington) Hotel
3.0 mi away
Quality Hotel Boldon
Quality Hotel Boldon
#1 of 1 in West Boldon
457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Sunderland Marriott Hotel
Sunderland Marriott Hotel
#3 of 10 in Sunderland
746 reviews
9.0 mi away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
4.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephenson Quarter
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephen...
#9 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Newcastle George Washington Hotel Golf and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Newcastle George Washington Hotel Golf and Spa

Address: Stone Cellar Road | High Usworth, Washington NE37 1PH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Washington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Washington
Price Range: £65 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Newcastle George Washington Hotel Golf and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 103
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Newcastle George Washington Hotel Golf and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Newcastle George Washington Hotel Golf And Spa Tyne And Wear

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing