We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Golfing Birthday Break!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mercure Newcastle George Washington Hotel Golf and Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Mercure Newcastle George Washington Hotel Golf and Spa
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Washington
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Golfing Birthday Break!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

Had a very nice 3 night stay here from Norwich for my golfing/birthday break. Great location as we visited Washington, Newcastle and Durham for a reasonably priced taxi! The Hotel was very nice, nice rooms with a very comfortable bed and a magnificent shower! The golf course is one of the best cared for course's I've been on and is beautiful. The Sports bar tho, I did have issues getting served. A nice chap who I assumed worked there got up and served me! The Bar does have a lovely balcony tho overlooking the course. Had breakfast 1 morning but I didn't feel it was worth £10 as it was plated due to it not being busy. But a lovely stay all in all and would consider going back.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank SuperChefBaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craiglands, General Manager at Mercure Newcastle George Washington Hotel Golf and Spa, responded to this review, 20 April 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit. However, I will ensure improvements are implemented from your concerns as soon as possible.

I look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Martin Hall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

794 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    260
    245
    169
    66
    54
See reviews for
155
213
47
187
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the George Washington hotel for 3 nights and it was brilliant. Our room 203 was spacious, clean and nicely decorated with a fridge which came in handy, we had a lovely view overlooking the golf course. The area of the hotel we were in was lovely and quiet even with the golfers teeing off quiet early sometimes. We only had breakfast once which cost £10 it was very nice but not worth the money for someone who only has a bowl of cereal and orange juice but if your a big breakfast eater then it's great value for money and very tasty. The sole purpose for the trip is so my boyfriend could play golf which he said was brilliant and one of the best courses he has ever played on, if your not a member it only costs £25 for a round. We got a taxi into Newcastle a couple of times, we used the hotels recommended company called Prestige which cost about £14 into the centre of Newcastle. There isn't anything near by the hotel so a cab is needed if you want to go out anyway. They do do a good deal if you just wanted to visit Washington village as it costs only £3.40 before 7pm, there are a few pubs and restaurants in the village. We also headed to Durham for the day which again only cost £18 in a taxi, Durham is a lovely place and defiantly worth the visit! We only had lunch in the hotel once so cannot comment on the evening meal. We made use of the leisure facilities which were very nice, pool not very big but okay for a few laps, the jacuzzi was lovely as was the sauna. We also had a massage in the beauty room which was £18 for back, neck and shoulder...very relaxing!! Overall we had a very lovely time at the George Washington and will defiantly return in the future!! Thank you very much!

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Catherine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craiglands, General Manager at Mercure Newcastle George Washington Hotel Golf and Spa, responded to this review, 20 April 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your kind review. It is much appreciated and I can assure you that my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

I am pleased you found the golf course a great course to play, our Green Keeper has been working hard to ensure it is in good condition. There is certainly many places of interest to visit in the local area.

I look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Kind regards,

Martin Hall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dubai
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

Another great location but did not understand how guest are supposed to drag their luggage without ramps in the passage way? The rooms are spaced so far from the lobby and guest have to self transport the luggage and dont understand why they dont have ramps instead have only steps and number of doors to open while carrying the luggage around!!!!

Room Tip: Rooms are generally quite
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank richardds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craiglands, General Manager at Mercure Newcastle George Washington Hotel Golf and Spa, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your comments, I can assure you that the matters you have raised will be looked into and will be dealt with where possible.

Kind regards,

Martin Hall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

Having relatives in the area family had booked here for Mother's Day lunch, good choice! Food was spot on, service was good, nice relaxing atmosphere. Our roast dinners came piping hot with awesome mashed potato delicious Yorkshire puds and a fine selection of well cooked vegetables served with real meat gravy ( you can tell the difference ) just beautiful!! A great big thank you to staff, well done! Also a good gesture to present mums with a gift. Family will be back for definate.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Longy84ste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craiglands, General Manager at Mercure Newcastle George Washington Hotel Golf and Spa, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit to the hotel for Mother's Day.

I look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Martin Hall
General Manager
"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014

I really like this golf course and its very comfortable pro-shop and bar area with balcony and views over the course.However there is an ongoing problem in that the only way to get served at the bar is to go and search for a member of staff either in the pro-shop or in the hotel.If you can find somebody who might be available to come and serve then you may well find that not all drinks are available.This is clearly very unsatisfactory and I am surprised that the management cannot come up with a solution so that staff are aware when a customer needs to be served.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craiglands, General Manager at Mercure Newcastle George Washington Hotel Golf and Spa, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Dear Golf Member

I am really sorry to hear that we are not meeting your expectations. I would like to discuss this with you in person. Please could you contact me on 0191 402 9988 and ask for myself.

Kind regards,

Martin Hall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

Ask for a room at the side or back else
you will get a view of air conditioning
Or the roof of the health club
Each evening there were still trays
In the stairwells of stale and
Smelling breakfast remnants
Not what a r star hotel should do

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craiglands, General Manager at Mercure Newcastle George Washington Hotel Golf and Spa, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Dear Guest

I am sorry that on this occasion that you were disappointed with your stay. I treat all feedback with the utmost seriousness and I am currently investigating this matter. I will ensure the room service areas are cleared as soon as possible as per our service standards.

Kind regards,

Martin Hall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colwyn Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
334 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 419 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014

Staying in different hotels each week I conclude that there are 3 important boxes which need to be ticked.

Cleanliness --- This hotel is very clean. Bathroom and bedroom were spotless.Bedding all spotless.

Quietness ---- Room I was allocated was at the back and was very quiet. You'll always get the morons who insist on banging the doors and shouting outside your room but this is what they do in their own hovels and is not the fault of the hotel.

Warm room ---- Hotel fell down slightly here. It was a cold night and heating went off leaving the room to go cold.

Staff were polite. Location was ok if you want to go to Newcastle without paying for parking overnight.

Surrounding area has little to offer in way of restaurants.

Didn't do breakfast as could never justify the cost which I seem to recall was £13

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank liamshelley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craiglands, General Manager at Mercure Newcastle George Washington Hotel Golf and Spa, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write your review about your recent visit to the hotel. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and I have noted your comments regarding bedroom heating and the cost of breakfast. The maintenance team have reset the heating timer to stay on longer and I will discuss the cost of breakfast when I next meet with the hotel's owners.

Kind regards,

Martin Hall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Washington
3.0 mi away
Quality Hotel Boldon
Quality Hotel Boldon
#1 of 1 in West Boldon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Washington
Holiday Inn Washington
#5 of 6 in Washington
3.5 of 5 bubbles 707 reviews
2.3 mi away
Premier Inn Newcastle (Washington) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Newcastle Gateshead Marriott Hotel MetroCentre
4.8 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 19 in Durham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,959 reviews
8.8 mi away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Newcastle George Washington Hotel Golf and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Newcastle George Washington Hotel Golf and Spa

Property: Mercure Newcastle George Washington Hotel Golf and Spa
Address: Stone Cellar Road | High Usworth, Washington NE37 1PH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Washington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Washington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Newcastle George Washington Hotel Golf and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 103
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, ACCOR, Priceline, Odigeo and Lastminute so you can book your Mercure Newcastle George Washington Hotel Golf and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Newcastle George Washington Hotel Golf And Spa Tyne And Wear

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing