We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Newcastle George Washington Hotel Golf and Spa
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Washington
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“brilliant tine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

Stayed overnight on a special deal with a treatment and meal and breakfast next day!!! Great value for money! Meal was absolutely enormous only managed 2 courses not a criticism mind!!! Staff were brilliant! Treatment was amazing well worth our money!! My only issue would be the jacuzzi needed a clean but we did not notice till it turned off and we could not turn back on!!! This was my second time and I will defo go back!!
Rooms were fab very clean indeed well done George Washington!!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craiglands, General Manager at Mercure Newcastle George Washington Hotel Golf and Spa, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your kind comments and compliments – I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay. I will ensure the Spa Bath cleanliness is reviewed and improved for the future.

I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Martin Hall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

803 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    264
    249
    170
    66
    54
See reviews for
157
217
47
189
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

fantastic stay lovely spa pool. The room was lovely roomy and comfortable. Didn't have any food as it was a bit pricey and there were other pubs/takeaways nearby. The hot chocolate was lush. The staff were helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Caron R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craiglands, General Manager at Mercure Newcastle George Washington Hotel Golf and Spa, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your review, I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit to the hotel.

I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Martin Hall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights last week and would highly recommend this hotel. From the outside it looks a bit tired and dated so I wasn't expecting too much but was pleasantly surprised.

My bedroom and en-suite was spotless. Even had a decent Iron and board in the ample wardrobe.The breakfast was really good and they fry the eggs to order which is great. The staff were all polite and efficient.

Special mention goes to Gary the duty Manager who never seems to stop but took time to recommend places of interest we may like to visit. Also, when houskeeping forgot to leave my daughter clean towels a quick call to reception saw Gary straight along with fresh towels. Excellent.

If we are ever in the area again we would definitely stay here.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jellycat11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craiglands, General Manager at Mercure Newcastle George Washington Hotel Golf and Spa, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your kind comments and compliments – I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Martin Hall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jarrow
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

Had a fantastic overnight stay over a weekend period. Sat/Sun. The receptionist upon arrival was pleasant and helpful. We had a well furnished room and on the Saturday evening enjoyed a lovely meal in the restaurant. Good food and excellent service by pleasant staff.
The breakfast the following morning was also very good..
There is a pleasant lounge area where you can sit and chat or watch the TV etc.
We have since returned on Saturday evenings just for a meal in the restaurant.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gordon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craiglands, General Manager at Mercure Newcastle George Washington Hotel Golf and Spa, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your kind review. It is much appreciated and I can assure you that my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

I look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Kind regards,

Martin Hall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014 via mobile

Hi I stayed in this hotel while I was visiting family x the rooms were a nice size just right for myself , the rooms were outstanding for been clean couldn't fault at all , the house keepers do a great job keepin on top . As I used to be a house keeper for years the first thing I do is check for how clean rooms are . But I am now retired , please give the house keepers thumbs up for the work they do as I felt when I done the job we got forgot about the hard work we do . I did not eat or drink at hotel as I was out all day with family but next time I will do x very nice polite people

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kylie1945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craiglands, General Manager at Mercure Newcastle George Washington Hotel Golf and Spa, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the hotel regarding your recent stay. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and experienced good housekeeping standards. Certainly, the housekeeping department of any hotel are the unseen heroes and I am pleased you were able to praise their hard work.

I hope to see you again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Martin Hall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

We had a family room which was very spacious, clean , warm and comfortable. Used the gym, which was very well equipped and the pool, which was rather narrow and hardly wide enough for 2 to swim side by side. Had the 3 course evening meal, it was delicious. I had the pork ball curry, one of the best curries I have tasted, excellent. Only downside was the noise the young adults made returning to their rooms in the early hours. If it had not been for that I would have given it a 5 rating.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Caroline B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craiglands, General Manager at Mercure Newcastle George Washington Hotel Golf and Spa, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit. I am sorry you experienced some noise disturbance from other guests at the hotel.

I look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Martin Hall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Washington
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Washington
Holiday Inn Washington
#5 of 6 in Washington
3.5 of 5 bubbles 720 reviews
3.0 mi away
Quality Hotel Boldon
Quality Hotel Boldon
#1 of 1 in West Boldon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
2.7 mi away
Premier Inn Newcastle (Washington) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Newcastle Gateshead Marriott Hotel MetroCentre
10.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth Park
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth...
#23 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 805 reviews
4.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephenson Quarter
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephen...
#8 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 929 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Newcastle George Washington Hotel Golf and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Newcastle George Washington Hotel Golf and Spa

Property: Mercure Newcastle George Washington Hotel Golf and Spa
Address: Stone Cellar Road | High Usworth, Washington NE37 1PH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Washington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Washington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Newcastle George Washington Hotel Golf and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 103
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Booking.com, ACCOR, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Newcastle George Washington Hotel Golf and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Newcastle George Washington Hotel Golf And Spa Tyne And Wear

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing