We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (158)
Filter reviews
158 results
Traveller rating
79
48
19
9
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
79
48
19
9
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews burger king travel lodge stayed here comfortable bed wh smith service station night stay car registration staff were helpful and friendly costa coffee on numerous occasions base for visiting ideal location very pleasant stay family room south shields clean tidy
Filter
Updating list...
154 - 158 of 158 reviews
Reviewed 22 May 2014

This is a great Travelodge, especially when compared to some of the 'older' Travelodges in the area that I have used when in Newcastle and South Shields. Well presented rooms, clean, no sticky carpets. Basic but everything worked. TV had a good range of channels for the short time I was in the room. Amenities were there , Tea n Coffee were fine and there was shower gel in the bathroom.
It's a Travelodge not a Hilton but they still had a great service via a the very pleasant receptionist who helped me register the car into the system (necessary evil these days at a lot of hotels so no issues there). 1 min walk to the services and Costa has a 24hr coffee shop and there's a WH Smith for snacks papers etc or there's a Burger King on the Northbound carriageway, 2 mins walk over the bridge. There's also an Italian Pizza place just outside of the car park on the North side. Alternatively, there's a Toby Carvery just 2 mins drive away which is great for an evening meal or a full English in the morning (8am onwards for only £4!!)
If I'm up this way again and need a one night stop , I'll certainly come back. Well done Travelodge , the Washington A1M Southbound is a great location and is well kept and serviced. Now you just need to get the services to build a 24 / 7 restaurant and it would be perfect!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the rear of the property as its a little quieter road noise wise.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We were very impressed with the hotel and it served our needs perfectly and the receptionist on arrival was lovely. However, on our return we were sent a very unpleasant letter from CP Plus saying we were due £100 for parking outside the hotel but after a telephone call to them were informed this wouldn't be the case if we could prove we stayed in the hotel. Keep your receipt! The first girl I spoke to too ask for a duplicate receipt, Leanne, was thoroughly unpleasant and unhelpful but the second, Michelle, was the complete opposite and couldn't have been nicer. She told me, after taking the reference from the letter, to tear it up that she would have the charge removed. Thank you Michelle.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank williamhughes315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

What a pleasant surprise on entering the Travelodge the girl on reception was very friendly and we were quickly checked in, on going into the room we were impressed with the fresh decor and beautiful comfy beds it was a lot different to one we'd stayed in a few years back, well done travelodge! When we came back into the lodge after a day sightseeing the staff were friendly and interested in where we'd been. After we'd checked out we'd unfortunately left our camera behind but before we'd got home and realised our loss the Travelodge team had ccontacted us to arrange getting it back to us, thank you Ian and Jessica your help was above and beyond our expectations.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
2  Thank Carole P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Car Parking should be free for guests but read the small print on the signs and make sure you tell reception your registration number.
Reception girl friendly but its like you are talking to a bank teller. Its very spartan and the rooms lack the basics like shampoo and shower gel.
Okay in an emergency but there are better places to stay.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SWmuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews