We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient & comfortable Travelodge”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Travelodge Washington A1M Southbound
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Washington
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 July 2014

My wife and I chose this as it is so convenient for getting to the many points of interest - Hexham, Hadrian's Wall, Beamish Museum, Chester-le Street cricket ground and also some excellent restaurants. The staff at Travelodge were all unfailingly pleasant and helpful at all times. Our room was pleasant, comfortable and well decorated/furnished.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Outlaws_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (130)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

123 - 129 of 130 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2014

This was much better than other travelodges I have stayed in over the yrs. Recently refurbished, this hotel is very clean and pleasant and ideal for an overnight stopover. I seem to remember that previous travelodges did not have TV or any coffee/tea facilities. This had a great TV plus a basic tea/coffee set in the room. Couldn't ask for anything more for the price! The reception staff were all very friendly and helpful too.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank GrahamCharlotte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

right by A1M so suffers from road noise. rooms at back probably a bit quieter. easy parking and not charged if register details at reception. Greggs in services literally next door good for takeaway breakfast - breakfast bun and large hot drink for £3. Nice big comfy bed, large TV with remote control, clean bath and shower (with weak pressure). Good towels. Clean and neat but a bit dated decor wise. Not bad for the price though and it served its purpose for quick overnight stop. Friendly guy on Reception.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
1  Thank noryorkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

room was fine, clean and reasonably modern.

amenities across the carpark, greggs, costa, burger king, wh smith so all good there.

the receptionist did seem to be on the phone to her mates though whenever i passed and failed to acknowledge us with a greeting when we passed her in the hallway. not essential, but it would have been nice!

only other downfall was just 1 towel and 1 single solitarty bottle of all in one shampoo / bodywash in the bathroom, even though we stated when we booked that the room was for 2.

all in all perfectly fine for the money (£40)

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Deminedprincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

This is a great Travelodge, especially when compared to some of the 'older' Travelodges in the area that I have used when in Newcastle and South Shields. Well presented rooms, clean, no sticky carpets. Basic but everything worked. TV had a good range of channels for the short time I was in the room. Amenities were there , Tea n Coffee were fine and there was shower gel in the bathroom.
It's a Travelodge not a Hilton but they still had a great service via a the very pleasant receptionist who helped me register the car into the system (necessary evil these days at a lot of hotels so no issues there). 1 min walk to the services and Costa has a 24hr coffee shop and there's a WH Smith for snacks papers etc or there's a Burger King on the Northbound carriageway, 2 mins walk over the bridge. There's also an Italian Pizza place just outside of the car park on the North side. Alternatively, there's a Toby Carvery just 2 mins drive away which is great for an evening meal or a full English in the morning (8am onwards for only £4!!)
If I'm up this way again and need a one night stop , I'll certainly come back. Well done Travelodge , the Washington A1M Southbound is a great location and is well kept and serviced. Now you just need to get the services to build a 24 / 7 restaurant and it would be perfect!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the rear of the property as its a little quieter road noise wise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We were very impressed with the hotel and it served our needs perfectly and the receptionist on arrival was lovely. However, on our return we were sent a very unpleasant letter from CP Plus saying we were due £100 for parking outside the hotel but after a telephone call to them were informed this wouldn't be the case if we could prove we stayed in the hotel. Keep your receipt! The first girl I spoke to too ask for a duplicate receipt, Leanne, was thoroughly unpleasant and unhelpful but the second, Michelle, was the complete opposite and couldn't have been nicer. She told me, after taking the reference from the letter, to tear it up that she would have the charge removed. Thank you Michelle.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank williamhughes315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

What a pleasant surprise on entering the Travelodge the girl on reception was very friendly and we were quickly checked in, on going into the room we were impressed with the fresh decor and beautiful comfy beds it was a lot different to one we'd stayed in a few years back, well done travelodge! When we came back into the lodge after a day sightseeing the staff were friendly and interested in where we'd been. After we'd checked out we'd unfortunately left our camera behind but before we'd got home and realised our loss the Travelodge team had ccontacted us to arrange getting it back to us, thank you Ian and Jessica your help was above and beyond our expectations.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
2  Thank Carole P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Washington
0 mi away
Campanile Hotel Washington
Campanile Hotel Washington
#6 of 6 in Washington
369 reviews
0 mi away
Premier Inn Newcastle (Washington) Hotel
0 mi away
Travelodge Washington A1 M Northbound
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Holiday Inn Washington
Holiday Inn Washington
#4 of 6 in Washington
807 reviews
0 mi away
Quality Hotel Boldon
Quality Hotel Boldon
#1 of 1 in West Boldon
468 reviews
0 mi away
Mercure Newcastle George Washington Hotel Golf and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Washington A1M Southbound? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Washington A1M Southbound

Address: Moto Service Area, A1M | Portobello, Washington DH3 2SJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Washington
Amenities:
Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Washington
Price Range: £29 - £54 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelodge Hotels Ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Travelodge Washington A1M Southbound reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Washington a1(m) Southbound Hotel Washington
Travelodge Washington A1M Southbound Tyne And Wear

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing