We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Geordie welcome”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Travelodge Washington A1 M Northbound
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Washington
Certificate of Excellence
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
“Geordie welcome”
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Spotless, modern, functional, comfy bed and pillows, white soft towels, tea, coffee, wi-fi, television, free car park and easy access to services for food and fuel,and whizzoff on the motorway,vrooom!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Barbara D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    58
    17
    6
    5
See reviews for
51
70
14
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Stayed at the Travelodge in Washington (A1 Nth) really convenient for our trip. Staff were really friendly and we chatted about local sights and things to do. We were fully appraised of dining options and we chose the nearby Italian (with Happy hour on food!!!) - great food and drink for little cost - bonus. Good nights sleep in comfortable beds then breakfast at Greggs set us up for the day. Would recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Airdrie, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We stayed here on the drive back North and it was just what we needed. Nice comfy beds and the basics of tea and coffee provided. No, as previous reviews have noted it doesn't have a restaurant in it but there are a Costa, Greggs, and Burger King in the stations either side of the Motorway! For what you pay and what we required it was a comfortable and convenient nights stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mistyholly2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Argyll
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

The staff at the hotel were friendly and helpful. The hotel is in a noisy spot, but was close to where I needed to be. The booking site said it had been refurbished. I was pleasantly surprised. Although not my taste in colour scheme or the quality of lighting shades and art work it was a clean room with a comfy bed. The lighting was adequate to read. The reception and general cleanliness of the hotel was good and well maintained. We had this lovely room for £34, which is excellent value.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Dorothy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

if you need to stay over in this area either come prepared, ie eat before you arrive and bring something for breakfast with you or stay else where. The hotel itself is really modern, clean, air con and very nice staff but the lack of services at this place would stop me from staying here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lucaloo22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
211 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Let me start by saying this is a review based on a budget priced hotel/lodge.

We stayed at this Lodge as it was at a half way point on a journey to a weeks stay in a holiday rental property in the North East. The hotel is on the north bound carriageway of the A1 so we didn't have to travel off our route to find it.

The receptionist was pleasant and helpful at our arrival giving us information about an Italian restaurant a short walking distance from the hotel. The room was, as expected, king sized bed (new and very comfortable), dressing table and hanging space for clothes. Clean and functional. The bathroom was very clean with a bath and shower over the bath. The facility to make tea and coffee was supplied and we were supplied with extra tea bags and milk when requested.

The Italian restaurant recommended to us was just a 3/4 minute walk (through a gap in the fence!!) from the hotel. They served a Happy Hour meal until 6.45 every week day which we missed by minutes!!!!! Shame!!! The food was very good.

With the location of this hotel and the the close proximity to a good restaurant we would certainly use this hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank FarquiH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckinghamshire
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Have avoided Travelodge as they were dreadful but this was last minute and not much choice.
It was however one of their refurbished ones and they really have done a good job.Comfortable bed, new fittings and actually clean (apart from a hair in the shower). TV needs tuning. A1M is quite at night so not too noisy. Hotel does however face the lorry park so a bit of coming and going about 7.00am. Only one camera which only covers about half the car park. Services northbound close at night so a bit deserted late on. Cross the bridge if you want a late night snack. WiFi is free for 1/2 an hour then £3 or go into the services where is should be free anyhow.
Would be happy to stay here which I never thought I would say about Travelodge.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Racenight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Washington
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Washington
Holiday Inn Washington
#4 of 6 in Washington
760 reviews
0.2 mi away
Campanile Hotel Washington
Campanile Hotel Washington
#6 of 6 in Washington
346 reviews
4.4 mi away
Best Western Beamish Hall Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Newcastle (Washington) Hotel
4.8 mi away
Beamish Park Hotel
Beamish Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Marley Hill
394 reviews
0.0 mi away
Travelodge Washington A1M Southbound
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Washington A1 M Northbound? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Washington A1 M Northbound

Property: Travelodge Washington A1 M Northbound
Address: A1 M | Portobello, Washington DH3 2SJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Washington
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Washington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Washington A1 M Northbound 2*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelodge Hotels Ltd so you can book your Travelodge Washington A1 M Northbound reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Washington a1( m) Northbound Hotel Washington
Travel Lodge Washington
Washington Travelodge
Washington Travel Lodge
Travelodge Washington A1 M Northbound Tyne And Wear

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing