We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and Classy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Premier Inn Newcastle (Washington) Hotel
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Washington
Certificate of Excellence
Fife, Scotland
Level Contributor
189 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“Clean and Classy”
Reviewed 2 September 2012

For a budget chain Premier Inn's rooms are far superior to those of its nearest rival Travelodge. Typically a Premier room may cost around £10 more but it is money very well spent.
We arrived at around 4.30pm and there was nobody at the desk so we pressed the bell. Within 20 seconds a young man had appeared who apologised for not being there and proceeded to book us in. He explained all about the breakfast etc, the Toby Carvery next door and the 'Good Night's Sleep' promise. If you don't have a good night, i.e. noisy neighbours, traffic etc they will do their best to resolve it but failing that the room is free.
The room was bright, spacious and airy. It smelled fresh and was very clean. There were ample towels and toiletries, as well as coffee and tea supplies. The bed was very large and extremely comfortable. Spare pillows, blankets etc, all there if we needed them, we didn't have to go asking.
The bathroom was spotless and designed in such a way that the main entrance door to it also doubled as a door inside the bathroom to section off the wc, thus one of us could use the loo whilst the other used the basin/shower in complete privacy. Clever little idea!
There were proper sized mugs for the tea and coffee, real glasses for water (not crappy little plastic cups), a hairdryer, bottle opener, side-lit vanity mirror and even the bedside lamps were designed with little flexible reading lamps below them.
Premier Inn seem to have surveyed customers to find out what they want, and then actually delivered it.
On the downside? No bath in our room, just a shower, but to be honest I'm having to struggle to pick fault if that's the best that I can come up with.
We didn't have the breakfast in the morning (at £8 a head I thought it was a bit steep) but after sampling the rubbish at the Toby Carvery next door I wished we had forked out for it. The Toby advertised cereal, fruit, yoghurt etc but there was none of it out for the choosing, and I ended up eating overcooked sausage, undercooked bacon, tepid tomatoes and gristly black pudding. Next time I will have the Premier breakfast.
We can highly recommend this hotel, I've paid a lot more for a lot less. Just avoid the Toby next door, the food is dire.

Room Tip: Don't know if they have baths in any of the rooms so I'd suggest checking first if you prefe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dangerousbryman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

709 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    515
    146
    32
    10
    6
See reviews for
273
238
24
84
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
118 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2012

As always, you get what you expet from this P.Inn. Clean and tidy, friendly staff and a good location for many things. Never heard any noise from motorway.
But the best bit is .......this is the first one we have stayed in that has a walk in shower room for the disabled, I almost feel like P.I have been listening to the comments I have made in the past!!
Let's see more.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jakeal82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk GB
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 August 2012

Stayed for 2 nights this week complained both mornings at reception about bad nights sleep, bed hard, no offer of any help or alternative. On arriving home complained by e-mail, twice now, not even a reply.

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank NorfolkGBChippy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 August 2012

We stayed to visit family. We stayed in end rooms on ground floor and it was the quietest hotel I have stayed in. Had no trouble getting more tea & Coffee when needed. Premier breakfast was great value with so much choice. I am very hard to please but stay was very good. Only slight comment, bed was a little firm for us, otherwise very clean and all you will need.

Room Tip: We had ground floor rooms to left of reception and found them very quiet rooms this year
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2012

We stayed here as a family while visiting Beamish. The lady on reception was extremely helpful and check in was a breeze. The beds were comfy we were in a family room and thankfully unlike other premier inns I have stayed in recently it wasn't too hot. However we did encounter problems being next to someone who snored all night long in the ajoining room, not their fault I know but still not pleasant. The gentleman on reception noted this and by the next morning the hotel had already refunded the nights stay!!! The breakfast was good and the staff were the most helpful I have come accross so far.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EMMLEE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2012

From the moment we arrived the staff were fantastic, the rooms brilliant and the breakfasts great. There is nothing bad to say about this hotel. Will definitely be going back to a premier inn in the future

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Overcomer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2012

We stayed here in June 2011 for 2 nights - Staff overall were very friendly and helpful, however on our stay the cleaner had left the door to our room open. Luckily nothing was taken but It was still a scary experience to come back to the hotel and find our door open with noone in sight. I was refunded my money for one nights stay for this incident.
Breakfast was great :)

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Szczyrba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitbread-77, Steven Hicks, Social Media at Premier Inn Newcastle (Washington) Hotel, responded to this review, 9 August 2012
Thank you for your review.

I was most concerned to learn of your recent experience with Premier Inn. Please be assured we take the security of our guests very seriously and we are currently investigating this matter with the Management Team.

Once again thank you for your review, we hope to welcome you back to Premier Inn in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Washington
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Washington
Holiday Inn Washington
#4 of 6 in Washington
747 reviews
0.3 mi away
Campanile Hotel Washington
Campanile Hotel Washington
#6 of 6 in Washington
335 reviews
2.3 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 19 in Durham
2,030 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Washington A1 M Northbound
4.8 mi away
Best Western Beamish Hall Country House Hotel
5.1 mi away
Beamish Park Hotel
Beamish Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Marley Hill
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Newcastle (Washington) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Newcastle (Washington) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Newcastle (Washington) Hotel
Address: Emerson Road, Washington NE37 1LE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Washington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Washington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Newcastle (Washington) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Positioned between Newcastle, Sunderland and Durham City. For shopping, the MetroCentre is only a short drive. Other attractions include Durham County Cricket ground, the Angel of the North and Beamish Open Air museum. Our Washington Premier Inn has everything you'd expect, incredibly comfy beds in every room, power showers, Freeview TV and an onsite restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Premier Inn Newcastle (Washington) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Newcastle (Washington) Hotel Washington
Washington Premier Inn
Holiday Inn Washington
Premier Inn Newcastle (Washington) Hotel Tyne And Wear

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing