We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brill room huge, spotlessly clean, lovely night sleep”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Premier Inn Newcastle (Washington) Hotel
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Washington
Certificate of Excellence
south yorkshire
Level Contributor
71 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Brill room huge, spotlessly clean, lovely night sleep”
Reviewed 6 September 2012

Just stayed for one night, however could have stayed for a few more if we did not have other commitments.The service from booking in to leaving was excellent. was made to feel very welcome by all staff being so helpful and friendly. Our room was huge,spotlessly clean,with really comfortable bed and pillows. We had decided to use the Toby inn just round the corner for breakfast which was very good value.However we know that others in hotel had taken a breakfast within the hotel and reported that they thoroughly enjoyed it.
Enjoyed our break and would use this hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sweepSouthYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

710 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    516
    146
    32
    10
    6
See reviews for
273
239
24
84
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
England
1 review
Reviewed 6 September 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights over the bank holiday weekend to use as a base to visit the highlights of the North East area.
Both my husband and I felt the location was brilliant as Durham was 10 minutes south and Newcastle 10 minutes north.
Our room was on the ground floor right at the front and we had no trouble sleeping, this is good when you consider there is a restaurant on the same site, a housing estate nearby and a motorway.
Staff were very friendly and helpful especially on arrival when I realised I had only booked the room for one person. This was sorted out straight away at no extra charge.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kirsty H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Albans, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2012

My husband & I booked into this hotel 12 weeks in advance, paid in full upon booking. On the day we were to arrive, we got caught up in two horrendous traffic jams and found we were going to be late checking in. I phoned the hotel and informed them of our dilemma, the lady thanked me for calling and said not to worry. The Hotel is in a very awkward position, and we got lost trying to find it - with a satnav! When we arrived at 7pm the only room available was a disabled room with only a wet room shower, no bath. I was too tired to argue, and just got on with it. We will not be using this hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoyFancuttBurger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2012

I was a bit dubious first of all because the photo on the Premier site made it look a bit dingy, however, was pleasantly surprised on arrival.
Very clean and modern looking. Shower rooms only, but they are very good showers anyway so didn't miss the bath. Staff fantastic.
Small breakfast area but everything to hand, quality that you would expect from Premier.
Great food at the "Toby Inn" and very reasonable price. Quality of food excellent.
Enjoyable stay.
Not far from Beamish Museum!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gloggs2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fife, Scotland
Level Contributor
191 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2012

For a budget chain Premier Inn's rooms are far superior to those of its nearest rival Travelodge. Typically a Premier room may cost around £10 more but it is money very well spent.
We arrived at around 4.30pm and there was nobody at the desk so we pressed the bell. Within 20 seconds a young man had appeared who apologised for not being there and proceeded to book us in. He explained all about the breakfast etc, the Toby Carvery next door and the 'Good Night's Sleep' promise. If you don't have a good night, i.e. noisy neighbours, traffic etc they will do their best to resolve it but failing that the room is free.
The room was bright, spacious and airy. It smelled fresh and was very clean. There were ample towels and toiletries, as well as coffee and tea supplies. The bed was very large and extremely comfortable. Spare pillows, blankets etc, all there if we needed them, we didn't have to go asking.
The bathroom was spotless and designed in such a way that the main entrance door to it also doubled as a door inside the bathroom to section off the wc, thus one of us could use the loo whilst the other used the basin/shower in complete privacy. Clever little idea!
There were proper sized mugs for the tea and coffee, real glasses for water (not crappy little plastic cups), a hairdryer, bottle opener, side-lit vanity mirror and even the bedside lamps were designed with little flexible reading lamps below them.
Premier Inn seem to have surveyed customers to find out what they want, and then actually delivered it.
On the downside? No bath in our room, just a shower, but to be honest I'm having to struggle to pick fault if that's the best that I can come up with.
We didn't have the breakfast in the morning (at £8 a head I thought it was a bit steep) but after sampling the rubbish at the Toby Carvery next door I wished we had forked out for it. The Toby advertised cereal, fruit, yoghurt etc but there was none of it out for the choosing, and I ended up eating overcooked sausage, undercooked bacon, tepid tomatoes and gristly black pudding. Next time I will have the Premier breakfast.
We can highly recommend this hotel, I've paid a lot more for a lot less. Just avoid the Toby next door, the food is dire.

Room Tip: Don't know if they have baths in any of the rooms so I'd suggest checking first if you prefe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dangerousbryman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
118 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2012

As always, you get what you expet from this P.Inn. Clean and tidy, friendly staff and a good location for many things. Never heard any noise from motorway.
But the best bit is .......this is the first one we have stayed in that has a walk in shower room for the disabled, I almost feel like P.I have been listening to the comments I have made in the past!!
Let's see more.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jakeal82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk GB
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 August 2012

Stayed for 2 nights this week complained both mornings at reception about bad nights sleep, bed hard, no offer of any help or alternative. On arriving home complained by e-mail, twice now, not even a reply.

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank NorfolkGBChippy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Washington
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Washington
Holiday Inn Washington
#5 of 6 in Washington
749 reviews
0.3 mi away
Campanile Hotel Washington
Campanile Hotel Washington
#6 of 6 in Washington
336 reviews
2.3 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 19 in Durham
2,031 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Best Western Beamish Hall Country House Hotel
5.1 mi away
Beamish Park Hotel
Beamish Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Marley Hill
378 reviews
2.7 mi away
Mercure Newcastle George Washington Hotel Golf and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Newcastle (Washington) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Newcastle (Washington) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Newcastle (Washington) Hotel
Address: Emerson Road, Washington NE37 1LE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Washington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Washington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Newcastle (Washington) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Positioned between Newcastle, Sunderland and Durham City. For shopping, the MetroCentre is only a short drive. Other attractions include Durham County Cricket ground, the Angel of the North and Beamish Open Air museum. Our Washington Premier Inn has everything you'd expect, incredibly comfy beds in every room, power showers, Freeview TV and an onsite restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Premier Inn Newcastle (Washington) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Newcastle (Washington) Hotel Washington
Washington Premier Inn
Holiday Inn Washington
Premier Inn Newcastle (Washington) Hotel Tyne And Wear

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing