We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice weekend break made easy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Premier Inn Newcastle (Washington) Hotel
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Washington
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Myself and my wife stayed here for a weekend break over 2 nights between 11th October and the 13th October 2013. Check in was easy and pain free as you'd expect from Premier Inn. The room was as expected from a Premier Inn, only complaint with it was the fact the bed squeaked everytime I rolled over. Breakfast was really nice and a special mention has to go to LES who was extremely friendly and we enjoyed chatting with him after our meal. The staff were also spot on with their advise about the Metro Centre in Newcastle, "It's a great place for women with money to spend" it's a still a good day out for all. First night we ate at the Toby Carvery across the Car Park, the food was nice, service was good and atmosphere was good as well. Some reviews about food I think are referring to "Chavvys" which is a sports bar across the road and is nothing to do with Premier Inn. ONCE AGAIN IF ANYONE FROM PREMIER INN WASHINGTON IS LOOKING AT THIS REVIEW PLEASE GIVE A BIG THANK YOU TO LES

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andy3665
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (751)
There are newer reviews for Premier Inn Newcastle (Washington) Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

583 - 589 of 751 reviews

Reviewed 13 October 2013

We booked this accomodation for 2 night's (Sat & Sun) because of it's proximity to the Beamish open air museum and we found it ideally located for visiting the museum on the Sunday. I booked the room in advance online so was able to get one of the night's for £29 & the other for £47 under the Premier Saver. Travelling on Saturday I didn't take the SatNav instructions to turn to the letter and we found ourselves in a 30 minute + post football match traffic tailback to correct ourselves at the next roundabout. When the SatNav tells you to turn, do turn, they are not always wrong!! On our arrival we found the car park busy especially with the Toby Carvery next door sharing the same car park but spaces were available near the Premier Inn. On going to reception we were very warmly greeted & made to feel welcomed & the lady on reception very quickly brought calm to our travel calamity frazzled states of mind & gently booked us in explaining the great night's sleep guarantee etc. The staff were extremely pleasant throughout our stay & helped us in every way they could including giving us discount vouchers for Beamish (very much appreciated & also applied to the concessionary rate as well) & directions for getting there & directions for getting back into the road network on our departure. The room we found was very acceptable for our stay & our initial concerns, going by other reviewers, of our room facing the Toby pub were quickly dismissed as the windows were extremely sound proofed & we didn't hear one bit of disturbance from there & with the very comfortable bed & pillows we definitely did have 2 great night's sleep. Cleanliness throughout & the en-suite facilities (shower only) were excellent. The only let down & why I didn't give an excellent marking was with the meals not being more affordable & we would have preferred to have stayed in-house rather than going across to the Toby pub. The breakfast for an example was twice the price (though includes cereals & a drink) than across at the Toby and even with the Premier Inn meal deal of £22.99 per person for a meal & breakfast we still saved £40 in total by going across to the Toby. All in all though a very good stay & we will certainly use Premier Inn again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Which in most cases people wont get what they pay for.
I got this a 'secret' hotel deal on lastminute for £20 less than their advertised rate.
This made it worthwhile but had I paid what they wanted then it would have been a rip off.

Check in was standard, not what they big it up to be.
Internet is available but is extortionately priced, thankfully I can tether from my phone.
The menu at the restaurant is limited and expensive - the chips were hard and tasteless.

The room was tiny, bathroom even smaller - could have showered, pee'd and brushed my teeth all standing in the same spot.

The Tv is freeview but half the channels don't work and there is no shortage of notices telling you that they have adult films available on pay per view - wouldnt be great for a family.

Not the hotels fault but a drunk old scottish man was flirting with me at the bar. I'm a 25 year old lad and he was in his 60's

If anyone in a room 5 rooms either side flushes their toilet or has a shower you're gonna hear about it.

wouldnt stay again

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rowly999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
opsmgrwashington, Manager at Premier Inn Newcastle (Washington) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2013

Thank you kindly for your recent feedback, this is very much appreciated.

I was disapointed to hear that you did not enjoy your stay and would like to take this opportunity to apologise for the shortfalls that you experienced on this occassion.

We take great pride in what we do here at Premier Inn and I will ensure that all your feedback is actioned where possible at the nearest opportunity.

I will pass your comments on to the Toby Carvery next door relating to your restaurant experience also on your behalf.

Thank you once again for taking the time to let us know about your experience and I look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Best Regards,
Aaron Beswick.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

I enjoyed staying. Betty's kindness is impressive in the breakfast.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nunokawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

If you've stayed in a Premier Inn before, then you're pretty clued up already as to what to expect. A couple of things about this one:

- The matresses on the beds seemed a little thinner than what I remember from last time. Not uncomfortable, but not brilliant either.

- They had tea / coffee facilities for one person, in spite of having two people in the room. Not enough towels either.

- Our room faced a nightclub over the road which was initially worrying, however nothing was heard at all. Perhaps the nightclub has been closed down?!

- You can reach pretty much anywhere in the North East with ease with being near the A1(M), but I didn't experience an abundance of traffic noise.

Breakfast was great, the staff were friendly and helpful, the Toby Carvery opposite does good meals and there's no shortage of free parking. Like I said, much of it is par for the course, but if there's more than one of you and you book soon enough then it can be a real bargain.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MSTD1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

On our way north this was the perfect overnight stop. Plenty of free parking, friendly reception and check-in (from Sam and Lyn) clean comfortable rooms. There's a pub on the site that does a very nice all you can eat breakfast at a reasonable price. Newcastle is just nine miles away and Stowell St is worth a visit if you like Chinese food.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NowlookatmeBanburys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Stayed here for 1 night on 24th August 2013, hotel was in a great location close to the main A1, rooms nice and clean, a Toby Carvery next door, ideal for visiting Newcastle just a few miles up the road

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A_Cole_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Washington
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Washington
Holiday Inn Washington
#4 of 6 in Washington
784 reviews
0.2 mi away
Campanile Hotel Washington
Campanile Hotel Washington
#6 of 6 in Washington
358 reviews
2.3 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 18 in Durham
2,119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Beamish Park Hotel
Beamish Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Marley Hill
413 reviews
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Washington A1 M Northbound
2.7 mi away
Mercure Newcastle George Washington Hotel Golf and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Newcastle (Washington) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Newcastle (Washington) Hotel

Address: Emerson Road, Washington NE37 1LE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Washington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Washington
Price Range: £37 - £72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Newcastle (Washington) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Positioned between Newcastle, Sunderland and Durham City. For shopping, the MetroCentre is only a short drive. Other attractions include Durham County Cricket ground, the Angel of the North and Beamish Open Air museum. Our Washington Premier Inn has everything you'd expect, incredibly comfy beds in every room, power showers, Freeview TV and an onsite restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Premier Inn Newcastle (Washington) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Newcastle (Washington) Hotel Washington
Washington Premier Inn
Holiday Inn Washington
Premier Inn Newcastle (Washington) Hotel Tyne And Wear

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing