We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Made very welcome”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Washington
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Washington
Reviewed 5 September 2012

My wife stayed here for three nights with her sister last week. They both agreed it was a very enjoyable stay with the staff in particular being very friendly and helpful. A big thanks for providing a birthday cake, with no extra charge, thus making the stay even more enjoyable. Breakfast was excellent and the other food was good value for money and a nice variety of choice. No negatives at all in fact.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Goggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MgrWashington, General Manager at Holiday Inn Washington, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2012

Dear Reviewer

We were delighted to hear that your wife and her sister had such a great stay with us recently.

Thank you for your kind comments about the staff and service, and it's great to hear we could help with the special birthday celebration.

Yours sincerely

Francis Hindle
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (784)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Washington
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

641 - 647 of 784 reviews

Reviewed 2 September 2012

As a family of 6 we booked 3 rooms for our overnight stay at the hotel, it was my neices wedding reception here, the whole day and night was fantastic!! great food, great venue, which was beautifully decorated, great friendly staff, very polite and helpful, compliments to the chefs because wedding dinner was delicious and the evening buffet just as fantastic. hotel room was immaculatly clean and tidy and very homely. breakfast was amazing, full english, cereal, fresh fruit, strong coffee, just what the doctor ordered after 12 hours of drinking!! overall fantastic place to stay and will definatly be staying here again!! thanks to all staff who made my neices wedding day such an amazing day all round!!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judith L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MgrWashington, General Manager at Holiday Inn Washington, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2012

Dear Judith

I was delighted to read your review of the hotel following your recent stay for your niece's wedding.

We pride ourselves on offering great food and service, and realise how important a day this was for your niece and her family and friends, so it's really great to hear it lived up to all expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely

Francis Hindle
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2012

Have stayed here 3 or 4 times in a couple of months. Nice hotel, rooms nice and clean. Restaurant food very good. Even my boss stayed here and he was very complimentary about the food. Now if he says it's good, believe me it is!

Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
1  Thank woodhurst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MgrWashington, General Manager at Holiday Inn Washington, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2012

Dear Reviewer

Thank you very much for taking the time to review the hotel.

I was delighted to read that you enjoy your stays with us and have shared your compliments about the food with the kitchen team.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Yours sincerely

Francis Hindle
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2012

This was once the Post House Hotel back in the day, and it was probably one of the most upmarket hotels in the area. It's not like that anymore, but it's still a good place to stay.

Road connections are good, you're adjacent to the A1(M) at junction 64 for the A195 (but you're not right on top of it), then it's just the very next layby. The reception, bar/restaurant and lobby area are in a separate building to the rooms themselves, connected by a covered overhead walkway. This has the advantage of blocking out the noise from any wedding reception parties that are taking place in the function room, although I'd recommend you ask for a room higher up (there are seven floors including the ground floor, the top being the Executive Room floor) to eliminate this completely. Parking is free and plentiful - there is an overspill car park at the rear of the hotel with its own side entrance (closed overnight). If you're absolutely relying on public transport, I'd look elsewhere.

The rooms themselves are standard fayre for Holiday Inn. Double glazing cuts out most of the noise from the motorway, you ought not to be disturbed by this. The TV was nice and large, with HD channels available. There is aircon installed, as well as a choice of pillows, dressing gown, fridge with complimentary water and Mars bar, tea/coffee and so forth. The bed was reasonably comfortable. The bathroom was also good, if a little small - the shower worked well. Could do with an extractor fan to clear the condensation from the mirrors though.

The service is of good quality. Check in was done without fuss, and with a pleasant welcome. There was a point where my key card didn't work but it was fixed quickly. Room service were happy to customise dishes to requirements too.

The main consideration for anyone staying here is the location. If you're planning to go for a whole North-East tour, then this might be fine as a base hotel - but only if you have a car or you're on one of the many package tours that stop here. If you want to concentrate on somewhere in particular (e.g. Newcastle centre), then you might want to consider a hotel nearer to your destination. I had family nearby so it was ideal for me.

Room Tip: What appears to be the ground floor in the main building is actually the first floor - the walkway t...
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MSTD1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MgrWashington, General Manager at Holiday Inn Washington, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2012

Dear Reviewer

Many thanks for taking the time to share such a detailed review. I was pleased to read that you had a good stay and that the hotel works well for you visiting your family.

We hope to welcome you back fora stay in the North East again soon.

Yours sincerely

Francis Hindle
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2012

Great Hotel.

Off the beaten track so quiet and accepts dogs which is a bonus.

Cannot complain about this hotel and have stayed here a few times.

Staff are great and the food good.

Would recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a high floor as the views are great.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WozandStu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MgrWashington, General Manager at Holiday Inn Washington, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2012

Dear Reviewer

Many thanks for sharing your kind comments about your previous stays here at Holiday Inn Washington.

I have shared your feedback with the team and look forward to being able to welcome you back to the North East in the future.

Yours sincerely

Francis Hindle
General Mananger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2012

Two issues with this hotel. First, when the housemaids come to make up the rooms at 0830 they don’t wait between knocking on the door and walking right in. A 5-second wait to allow me to respond would have been courteous. Second, most serious: After leaving the hotel, both my wife and I had little bite marks in areas of our bodies that are not normally exposed to the daylight. Having stayed in some fleapits overseas, we recognised these immediately as bedbug bites.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank poplarcottage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MgrWashington, General Manager at Holiday Inn Washington, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2012

Dear Reviewer

Thank you for taking the time to share your concerns. I have spoken to the Housekeeping Team and asked them to review their room entry practices - we do provide Do Not Disturb signs in all of our rooms and these rooms are not disturbed at the guest's wish.

I was very surprised to hear that after your departure you seem to have discovered bed bug bites, particularly as this was for a three night stay - I would have expected you to have noticed symptoms earlier during your stay.

Nevertheless as a precaution we asked a pest control company to inspect the room and they have confirmed there are no signs of their presence.

If I can be of any additional assistance please feel free to contact me personally on 0191 418 9400.

Yours sincerely

Francis Hindle
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2012

Stayed at this hotel on Saturday 25th September 2012 having had a wet and dismal day around the area, (due to the none stop rain) thought we would have a quite drink in the bar. Some hope!!! the hotel was hosting a wedding reception in the adjoining room with a disco so loud that with my hearing aids out I was still being deafend.I ask the duty manager if at least the door could be closed to the reception room to lessen the noise and this she said she would arrange. 30 minutes later doors still wide open and the noise getting louder my wife I (7.30pm) decided to retire to our room for the rest of the evening.
What happend to the hotels moto ' your enjoyment and comfort is our foremost concern' none at this hotel.

Room Tip: Check if any functions are being held before you decide to stay.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oneOliver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MgrWashington, General Manager at Holiday Inn Washington, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2012

Dear Reviewer

I was disappointed to read your recent review, and your frustration over the wedding party that was held here that weekend.

Please accept my apologies that this disturbed your stay - I have discussed your comments with the management team to address the staff responsiveness element you mentioned.

I trust the fact the rooms are separate to the banquet area allowed you a restful night after your retired.

Yours sincerely

Francis Hindle
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Washington
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Newcastle (Washington) Hotel
0.1 mi away
Campanile Hotel Washington
Campanile Hotel Washington
#6 of 6 in Washington
358 reviews
2.7 mi away
Mercure Newcastle George Washington Hotel Golf and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Washington A1 M Northbound
2.3 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 18 in Durham
2,121 reviews
0.0 mi away
Travelodge Washington A1M Southbound
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Washington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Washington

Address: Emerson Road, Washington NE37 1LB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Washington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Washington
Price Range: £53 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Washington 3*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Washington is an ideally located hotel, just off the A1M junction 64. Centrally located between, Historic Durham, Sunderland and Newcastle City The hotel offers a 'Go Green' Environmental Room in association with Tree Appealplanting trees on site and across the UK. This is a well established, comfortable hotel, with free car parking, noted for its friendly staff. The Hotel has a Traders Restaurant a newly refurbished lounge and bar area.Kids Stay & Eat Free*. The hotel has 136 fully air conditioned bedrooms, including family and accessible rooms. Only a short drive from Europes largest Shopping Centre - the Metrocentre, Newcastle City Centre, the award winning Beamish Open Air Museum, Sunderland Glass Centre and Durham County Cricket Ground. The North East coastline and Angel of the North are also within close driving distance.*Terms & Conditions apply. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Washington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Washington Hotel Washington
Washington Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Washington Tyne And Wear

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing