We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“christmas party night” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Washington

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Holiday Inn Washington
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Washington
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“christmas party night”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2013

I stayed in the hotel at christmas after a staff party night we had which i must say we all enjoyed. The meal was lovely and great value. Drinks were a bit pricey but it was a special occasion. I found the staff very helpful and friendly. The rooms very very clean and spacious and the breakfast was very nice .

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank carol9598
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MgrWashington, General Manager at Holiday Inn Washington, responded to this review, 21 January 2013
Dear Reviewer

I was delighted to read what a great time you had at your Christmas Party Night and that you took the opportunity to stay over a make a break of it.

It's great to hear that the team were helpful and friendly and that you enjoyed your stay so much.

Yours sincerely

Francis Hindle
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

706 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    178
    250
    177
    65
    36
See reviews for
125
197
50
207
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2013

We stayed here before a visit to the Stadium of Light which is about a 15 minute drive away. This hotel is very comfortable and met our needs in every way. Staff were pleasant and friendly. We had breakfast which in my opinion was below the usual holiday inn standard. We would defiantly stay here again however there is a Toby carvery next door and we would breakfast there rather than this hotel.

Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank jimmyb01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MgrWashington, General Manager at Holiday Inn Washington, responded to this review, 21 January 2013
Dear Reviewer

Many thanks for taking the time to share your review here on TripAdvisor.

I was glad to see that the hotel was a good choice for your visit to the Stadium of Light and that it was comfortable and met your needs. It's always great to hear that the staff have been welcoming and friendly.

I was however susprised and disappointed to hear that the breakfast didn't fully live up to your expectations as this is an area which normally socres highly for our guests.

I'd be happy to discuss your comments in more detail personally if you would like to on 0191 418 9400.

We look forward to welcoming you back next time you visit the North East.

Yours sincerely

Francis Hindle
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2013

A convenient location just off the A1 for Durham, Chester-Le-Street, Washington, Newcastle.

Approx 5 mins from The Angel of the North and about 10 mins from The Metro Centre

The hotel although a bit dated on the exterior has loads of parking but inside the hotel is very comfortable
The staff make this hotel and are always welcoming, friendly and helpful as you only would expect in the NE
Food is very tasty especially the new British Menu currently being offered

The bedrooms are well presented and the beds are superbly comfortable giving one of the best nights sleep I've had in a long time

Looking forward to my next stay

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GarethTP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MgrWashington, General Manager at Holiday Inn Washington, responded to this review, 7 January 2013
Dear Reviewer

I was delighted to read the review of your recent stay and would like to thank you for sharing your experiences here on TripAdvisor.

It's great to hear your kind comments about the team and I will ensure these are shared with them. I was also pleased to hear that you'd enjoyed the 'Best of British' Menu and will feed your comments on this back to the Food & Beverage team.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely

Francis Hindle
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2013

I had some visitors over from Malaysia, and decided to show them around the country after New Year's Eve. I booked the Holiday Inn at Washington and while the location is great for Newcastle The Metro Center & beautiful Durham, I feel the hotel is pretty poor to say the least!! I've been a high tier member of priority club in the past; but for all the reasons I found while staying at the H I Washington UK I've looked elsewhere for accommodation during the past 18 months!! I travel often so I'm used to hotels I don't expect the earth.. but I found the H Inn very poor.. old rooms and furniture tiny bathrooms with hardly and power in the shower.. I like the Holiday Inn brand but it can be so so inconsistent..

Room Tip: End of block rooms seem bigger..
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 051195
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MgrWashington, General Manager at Holiday Inn Washington, responded to this review, 7 January 2013
Dear Reviewer

I was disappointed to read that your stay didn't live up to your expectations and would very much like to discuss your concerns with you in more detail. I was particularly surprised to read about your shower water pressure issues as this is certainly not the norm.

Please feel free to call me at the hotel on 0191 418 9400 if you would like to do so.

Yours sincerely

Francis Hindle
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Washington hotels

Chelmsford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2013

Stayed here to visit the University of Sunderland in October - Location is good, just off the A1(M) and is easy to find as it's signposted off the road. It does look a bit shady on the outside because it's so old - my grandfather worked there as a security guard when it was a Forte back in the 70s!

Beds comfortable, shower warm, rooms quiet. Even though both nights there were wedding receptions, there was no noise to be heard from my room on the top floor.

Didn't bother with the breakfast in the hotel as it was mind-bogglingly expensive. I recommend going to the ASDA in the Galleries Shopping Centre in Washington town centre - a few miles away - a good cooked breakfast for about £5.

My only issue was with the lifts in the hotel. I have a mild lift phobia, but I didn't want to walk up 6-or-so flights of stairs. They are tiny, vibrate a fair bit and make funny noises as you go up - not particularly pleasing to someone with a lift phobia!

I'm used to staying in HotelF1s, which is the epitome of basic, so a Holiday Inn was like staying in a 5-star hotel!

Room Tip: Go for higher floors - less noise Buy breakfast at ASDA in the town centre - fresher and better val...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jmdruff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MgrWashington, General Manager at Holiday Inn Washington, responded to this review, 7 January 2013
Dear Reviewer

I was delighted to read your review and see how many boxes the hotel ticks for you when visiting the North East

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and I hope that we are able to welcome you back to Washington in the not too distant future.

Yours sincerely

Francis Hindle
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2012

We stayed here for 1 night over Christmas and had a great stay! The hotel was what I would have expected from a Holiday Inn, but as we had a couple of problems, it was the staff that really made the stay, they were extremely helpful and allowed us to check in early and stay later which was a great relief!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelFan2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MgrWashington, General Manager at Holiday Inn Washington, responded to this review, 2 January 2013
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent experience with us,

I was delighted to read that you found the team to be so accommodating and helpful - it is what we always strive for but it's great to receive your feedback which I will ensure is shared with them all.

We hope to welcome you back if you visit the area again.

Yours sincerely

Francis Hindle
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2012 via mobile

stayed 2 night's over Christmas to be close to family, great value for money and couldn't fault the staff. check in was nice and easy, and staff very helpful. stayed in room 104 on the ground floor, room was large and had everything you need. Room was clean and no issues, good choice on the TV with choice of in room movies. didn't eat in hotel so can't comment on that, used the bar which wasn't cheap but yet again service was excellent.

On Christmas morning, had stocking hanging on bedroom door with a card and cookies, nuts and fruit which was a lovely surprise.

If your looking for a place to stay in Washington, i would highly recommend this hotel. Stayed at the others in area and this wins hands down.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Garrye81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MgrWashington, General Manager at Holiday Inn Washington, responded to this review, 2 January 2013
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us, I am delighted you had such an enjoyable stay, and appreciated Santa's little gift!

It's great to hear that we are your hotel of choice in the area and that you find the staff so helpful.

We look forward to welcoming you back when you next visit the area.

Yours sincerely

Francis Hindle
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Washington
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Newcastle (Washington) Hotel
0.1 mi away
Campanile Hotel Washington
Campanile Hotel Washington
#6 of 6 in Washington
3.0 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
2.6 mi away
Mercure Newcastle George Washington Hotel Golf and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 19 in Durham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,958 reviews
5.3 mi away
Quality Hotel Boldon
Quality Hotel Boldon
#1 of 1 in West Boldon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
2.8 mi away
Ravensworth Arms
Ravensworth Arms
#12 of 20 in Gateshead
4.0 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Washington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Washington

Property: Holiday Inn Washington
Address: Emerson Road, Washington NE37 1LB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Washington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Washington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Washington 3*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Washington is an ideally located hotel, just off the A1M junction 64. Centrally located between, Historic Durham, Sunderland and Newcastle City The hotel offers a 'Go Green' Environmental Room in association with Tree Appealplanting trees on site and across the UK. This is a well established, comfortable hotel, with free car parking, noted for its friendly staff. The Hotel has a Traders Restaurant a newly refurbished lounge and bar area.Kids Stay & Eat Free*. The hotel has 136 fully air conditioned bedrooms, including family and accessible rooms. Only a short drive from Europes largest Shopping Centre - the Metrocentre, Newcastle City Centre, the award winning Beamish Open Air Museum, Sunderland Glass Centre and Durham County Cricket Ground. The North East coastline and Angel of the North are also within close driving distance.*Terms & Conditions apply. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Odigeo, Booking.com, Priceline and IHG so you can book your Holiday Inn Washington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Washington Hotel Washington
Washington Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Washington Tyne And Wear

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing