We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Washington
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Washington
Reviewed 1 January 2014

New Years day lunch for the family. Well I wish we had gone to McDonalds. Turned up for a booking at 12.30 and told by reception that the restaurant wasn't open yet. Were let in a little after 12.35 to be seated in an empty restaurant on one of two tables that were set for the New Year Feast two tables had been pushed together and two of our guests had a place setting over the two tables; a problem was pointed out to the waitress that it was difficult to balance a plate over the two table heights and a shrug was the response. Starters were ordered and we were told to go to the bar for drinks. There were shutters up at the bar and Reception was unmanned. After a walk round the reception area I was advised that the bar did not open until 1 pm. The restaurant was untidy and the carpet was a mess, glasses were piled high at the counter where drinks were being served and the carpet had cereal etc still left over from breakfast and there were cereal boxes and juice plates and labels still on the buffet area.

The main course was a bit of a disaster also. One carving knife for pork and beef, not a problem if you don't mind but as the beef was overcooked, the chicken swimming in gravy the only option left was a rather dry pork along with overcooked vegetables that were luke warm. A jug of water was left on the table as we still could not get a drink at the bar. We stayed for just over half an hour as the desert also left a lot to be desired. Fruit Salad and coffee both left over from breakfast, very dry chocolate cake or a cheesecake that looked as though it had seen better days.

A formal complaint will be going into the Restaurant manager tomorrow as there was no one in Reception to complain to when we left to go and get the kids who only picked something to eat..

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank yippee_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MgrWashington, General Manager at Holiday Inn Washington, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Dear Reviewer

I was very disappointed to read your review here on TripAdvisor and can assure you that your experience of the restaurant on this occasion was far from normal.

I would very much appreciate the opportunity of discussing your concerns personally and would ask you to contact either myself or the Food and Beverage Manager - Richard Coates directly at the hotel on 0191 418 9400.

Yours sincerely

Francis Hindle
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (808)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

516 - 522 of 808 reviews

Reviewed 27 December 2013

Booked room only stay ... for £36 midweek it was cheap!!! But wehn I arrived they were offering dinner for under £20 with a drink - it was excellent!

Have stayed in many places in the North East but this is GOOD... just a pity there is no pool :(

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paul m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MgrWashington, General Manager at Holiday Inn Washington, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Dear Reviewer

I was delighted to read your recent review here on TripAdvisor and so pleased to hear that you had such a great stay and found it to be really good value.

We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Yours sincerely

Francis Hindle
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2013

Stayed here for one night, very clean hotel, staff pleasant. Bedrooms good too. Stayed here to go to a concert at the Metro Arena, not too far away in a Taxi, would do the same again. Good value for money

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank lessa88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MgrWashington, General Manager at Holiday Inn Washington, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Dear Reviewer

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us, I was pleased to hear that it worked so well for you as a base for attending the concert at the Metro Arena.

I hope we can welcome you back again to explore more of the North East.

Yours sincerely

Francis Hindle
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013

Convenient location for work, enjoyable stay (as ever), clean, staff always polite and attentive - special mention must go to the lads who cover the nightshift, Martin & Dave, who always go the extra mile to ensure our stay is a comfortable one :-)

4th or 5th year in a row now that my colleagues & myself have stayed at this establishment.

Must be a good reason for us coming back each year!

Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MgrWashington, General Manager at Holiday Inn Washington, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Dear Reviewer

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us here on TripAdvisor and also for the personal e-mail received recognising the Night Staff for their guest service.

Your feedback is much appreciate and the staff have been recognised internally for their efforts.

We hope to welcome you back again in 2014!

Yours sincerely

Francis Hindle
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Just an overnight stay but staff well drilled hotel clean and a generally very good experience - and a pleasant geordie welcome ! .................... and they got my newspapers right !!!!!! hoorahhhhhhhh

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cjad30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MgrWashington, General Manager at Holiday Inn Washington, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Dear Reviewer

Thank you for sharing your review here on TripAdvisor, it's good to know that even though it was just for an overnight stay the team delivered a great experience.

We hope to welcome you back again in the not too distant future.

Yours sincerely

Francis Hindle
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2013

The bar team Andy, Sam and Cally always make staying over a pleasure. Ps nice cheese cake! Check in is always efficient and being a platinum member I always get upgraded plus 500 voucher points. I enjoy the buffet style eat all you can breakfast and complementary news paper.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karl B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MgrWashington, General Manager at Holiday Inn Washington, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Dear Reviewer

Thank you for taking the time to review your experiences of the hotel here on TripAdvisor.

It is always great to hear from our valued regular Platinum members and to hear what it is that keeps you returning to the hotel.

Rest assured the bar team members your highlighted have all been recognised internally for their efforts, your feedback is much appreciated.

Yours sincerely

Francis Hindle
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2013

We didn't pay the rack rate advertised at reception and my assessment of value would be rather different if he had!

However, the location is convenient just off the A1 close to Durham and Newcastle. The slight downside is that one can hear the drone of traffic from the bedrooms albeit it was not intrusive and din't affect our night's sleep. The room was well fitted and the bed comfortable (my partner thought it a little on the hard side but that's down personal preference). A kettle with tea and coffee were welcome. The bath filled rapidly and bath foam and shampoo were provided.The bathroom showed a little sign of wear and tear - the bottom of the door was rotten probably as a result of some previous water leakage but everything was clean. Really nothing to object to here.

We ate both dinner and breakfast in the Traders restaurant. The restaurant hasn't much atmosphere but is clean and comfortable.

For dinner, apart from the a la carte menu which is adequate but not extensive they also offer a fixed price 2 course carvery. We rejected that as the meat looked rather dried up. We stuck with a la carte choices. The food was all very tasty, well presented and quantities sufficient but not large. Our expectations were exceeded. We were served by a number of waitresses although it was Mandy who attended to us most of the time. All were attentive and helpful and Mandy particularly so.

Breakfast is a usual buffet affair with a wide choice of juices, fruit, cereals and hot food, some excellent croissants as well French bread and brown bread. Mandy was serving again and again the service was excellent.

So the key test - would we stay there again? At the price we paid, absolutely. At the advertised rack rate...we'd look elsewhere!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacqal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MgrWashington, General Manager at Holiday Inn Washington, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Dear Reviewer

Thank you for taking the time to share such a comprehensive review here on TripAdvisor.

I was pleased to read what an enjoyable stay you had and would also like to thank you for taking the time to recognise Mandy for her service - this has also been recognised internally.

We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Yours sincerely

Francis Hindle
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Washington
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Newcastle (Washington) Hotel
0.1 mi away
Campanile Hotel Washington
Campanile Hotel Washington
#6 of 6 in Washington
369 reviews
2.7 mi away
Mercure Newcastle George Washington Hotel Golf and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Travelodge Washington A1M Southbound
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Washington A1 M Northbound
2.3 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 18 in Durham
2,177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Washington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Washington

Address: Emerson Road, Washington NE37 1LB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Washington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Washington
Price Range: £49 - £70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Washington 3*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Washington is an ideally located hotel, just off the A1M junction 64. Centrally located between, Historic Durham, Sunderland and Newcastle City The hotel offers a 'Go Green' Environmental Room in association with Tree Appealplanting trees on site and across the UK. This is a well established, comfortable hotel, with free car parking, noted for its friendly staff. The Hotel has a Traders Restaurant a newly refurbished lounge and bar area.Kids Stay & Eat Free*. The hotel has 136 fully air conditioned bedrooms, including family and accessible rooms. Only a short drive from Europes largest Shopping Centre - the Metrocentre, Newcastle City Centre, the award winning Beamish Open Air Museum, Sunderland Glass Centre and Durham County Cricket Ground. The North East coastline and Angel of the North are also within close driving distance.*Terms & Conditions apply. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Washington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Washington Hotel Washington
Washington Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Washington Tyne And Wear

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing