We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Washington
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Washington
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“perfect location”
Reviewed 28 March 2014 via mobile

My husband and I were visiting family in the area and this hotel was in an ideal location. The hotel is a bit dated, but was clean and the staff were friendly & very helpful. We would stay here again but only if we got the reduced rate that we got with this booking.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank liz04Beds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MgrWashington, General Manager at Holiday Inn Washington, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience here on TripAdvisor.

I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and would return, we look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Yours sincerely

Francis Hindle
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

748 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    191
    262
    187
    69
    39
See reviews for
136
211
55
212
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 27 March 2014 via mobile

There is one great thing about this hotel, and that is leaving it.

The standard is ok and the rooms are clean enough. That, however could never make up for the unbelievable rudeness of the reception staff. A request for a cup of coffee was met with "make it yourself in your room" and an angry frown.

I hate the fact that a hotel is only as good as the attitude and disposition of the staff, but this experience shows that people really does matter.

Will obviously never come back, as I prefer not to pay for rudeness. I get that for free elsewhere.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MgrWashington, General Manager at Holiday Inn Washington, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Dear Reviewer

I am extremely sorry and very surprised to hear about the shortfall in our normally high service standards. I generally receive great feedback about the Front Desk team and can assure you that this will be fully investigated and reviewed internally.

If you are able to contact me to share any more details about your stay to assist in this matter I would be very grateful to hear from you directly at the hotel on 0191 418 9400.

Thank you for your feedback.

Yours sincerely

Francis Hindle
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Washington hotels

Bull Shoals, Arkansas
Level Contributor
90 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Overall, this was a pleasant stay. Rooms were getting a little worn, but no real problems to report.
The bar and resturant were fine, but thought breakfast cost was over the top. For the full english breakfast (Self-sevice) it was around 16 UK pounds. I must be getting used to American breakast prices, which are normally around $11.00 or free. That UK breakfast was around $26 !!! which mounts up if you are staying a few nights.They plan to make internet free in a few months time, however current charge is around 10 UK pounds or around $16.50 per day Yikes!!!
The place was clean, staff were good and bed was comfortable. Apart from my 2 little gripes I would recomend and will return.
Final tip: If you like indian, they serve a very nice Tika Chicken Masala.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MgrWashington, General Manager at Holiday Inn Washington, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your recent review here on TripAdvisor.

I was pleased to read that you would hope to return in the future and we look forward to welcoming you back for another stay.

Yours sincerely

Francis Hindle
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GLASGOW
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Service and staff good at the hotel and meals are OK. There is a different buffet each evening including a drink for £15.95 which is ok for value but food is nothing startling. Breakfast was good though black pudding a bit dry. Rooms dated and need re done but all and all and average place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GORDON340
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MgrWashington, General Manager at Holiday Inn Washington, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your recent TripAdvisor review, I was pleased to note that you found the service and staff good and the food to your liking (I have noted your feedback about the black pudding).

We hope to be able to welcome you back again soon.

Yours sincerely

Francis Hindle
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clitheroe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

An older-style Holiday Inn, in need of general updating and refurbishment (as echoed in a few other reviews on here). Room fairly small (double bed style) with minuscule bathroom but view from 4th floor is pretty good!
Food was quite good really, however the restaurant has NO atmosphere at all and feels like a school canteen with soft-furnishings. Breakfast in the morning is buffet-style and quite acceptable.

The room didn't seem to have any way of adjusting the temperature (apart from opening the window). I may have missed it if it did however!

The hotel requires more than 1 terminal at reception as when leaving there was a 5-deep queue for the 1 receptionist. It would have helped if she had apologised (which she didn't) for the waiting time - possibly because she is so used to customers waiting!

Got a free Crunchie on departure which I thought was a nice/slightly weird touch

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MonkeyPebs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MgrWashington, General Manager at Holiday Inn Washington, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for sharing your recent experience of the hotel here on TripAdvisor.

I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your dining experience at the hotel. I was sorry to hear that you were unable to regulate the temperature, all of the radiators are fitted with Thermostatic Control Valves so I apologise if this wasn't clear.

I was also sorry to hear that you queued to check-out, the receptionist should have acknowledged and apologised for your wait and I will certainly follow this up with the Reception Manager to both review staffing levels and also ensure a higher recognition level.

We give out Crunchies on Friday morning check-outs as a little extra to celebrate 'That Friday feeling'.

Yours sincerely

Francis Hindle
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
340 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Stayed here for a saturday evening when at a function locally. Excellent. Good location and easy to find. Helpful and friendly staff with quick check in. Good clean room. Bar is nice and bar staff helpful. Breakfast was good. Overall good place to stay - very economical too.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drpeterr23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MgrWashington, General Manager at Holiday Inn Washington, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience of the hotel here on TripAdvisor.

It was great to read that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Yours sincerely

Francis Hindle
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

My husband & I have stayed here as a stop over before & have never been disappointed Staff at the reception desk are all friendly & informative. The rooms are clean & comfortable - and housekeeping staff are efficient & helpful (Didn't dine here on this occasion) It's good that this hotel & the service here can be relied upon

Room Tip: Executive rooms are very comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank looby1England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MgrWashington, General Manager at Holiday Inn Washington, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Dear Reviewer

It's great to read that you find the hotel to a be a welcome stopover for your journeys and that you can always rely on the team.

We hope to be of service to you again in the near future. Thank you for your generous feedback.

Yours sincerely

Francis Hindle
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Washington
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Newcastle (Washington) Hotel
0.1 mi away
Campanile Hotel Washington
Campanile Hotel Washington
#6 of 6 in Washington
336 reviews
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Washington A1 M Northbound
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Mercure Newcastle George Washington Hotel Golf and Spa
2.3 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 19 in Durham
2,031 reviews
4.6 mi away
Best Western Beamish Hall Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Washington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Washington

Property: Holiday Inn Washington
Address: Emerson Road, Washington NE37 1LB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Washington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Washington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Washington 3*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Washington is an ideally located hotel, just off the A1M junction 64. Centrally located between, Historic Durham, Sunderland and Newcastle City The hotel offers a 'Go Green' Environmental Room in association with Tree Appealplanting trees on site and across the UK. This is a well established, comfortable hotel, with free car parking, noted for its friendly staff. The Hotel has a Traders Restaurant a newly refurbished lounge and bar area.Kids Stay & Eat Free*. The hotel has 136 fully air conditioned bedrooms, including family and accessible rooms. Only a short drive from Europes largest Shopping Centre - the Metrocentre, Newcastle City Centre, the award winning Beamish Open Air Museum, Sunderland Glass Centre and Durham County Cricket Ground. The North East coastline and Angel of the North are also within close driving distance.*Terms & Conditions apply. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Washington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Washington Hotel Washington
Washington Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Washington Tyne And Wear

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing