We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, friendly and welcoming”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Washington
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Washington
Sheffield
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great hotel, friendly and welcoming”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Have just returned from a couple of nights at the Holiday Inn , Washington. Cannot praise the staff enough both in reception, and in the restaurant and bar. They were so friendly and helpful. The rooms were lovely and clean and very comfortable the extra special loan of a luxury towelling robe was also very welcome. Now I want one !! If anyone from the hotel reads this where can we get the soap from that was in our room, loved it. Food was excellent especially the breakfasts. Would definitely go back again.

D & K Housley

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kath64000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

751 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    191
    262
    188
    69
    41
See reviews for
138
212
55
212
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Situated between these 2 lovely cities, it makes a good stopover hotel. We were impressed from speed check-in, lovely evening meal and great breakfast. All staff helpful and efficient, rooms fine and bed comfortable. Thanks for a pleasant experience.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 46JuR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

This hotel brands itself as a "Holiday Inn" but isn't even close to on-par with a Holiday Inn Express.

Check-in staff were very unfriendly, the corridor leading to rooms was littered with dirty room service dishes, room was well kept and the bathrooms smelt of mildew.

As a IHG Platinum Ambassador I hoped to be offered at least a bottle of water or a points voucher but was given absolutely nothing. No recognition whatsoever.

The only slightly saving grace was its location. It was close to family I was visiting else I would have immediately moved elsewhere.

Don't waste your time or money at this hotel.

Reason for Visit: Personal
Next Destination: London
Pros: Location
Cons: Room Cleanliness, Atmosphere, Amenities, Recognition for IHG® Rewards Club Members, Facilities

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christopher B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MgrWashington, General Manager at Holiday Inn Washington, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Dear Reviewer

I was extremely disappointed and surprised to receive your review here on TripAdvisor today.

As you can see from the vast majority of our reviews the experience you describe is far from typical and I am very sorry for the apparent shortfalls you experienced during your stay. I will of course address these with the departments in question in order to rectify things moving forwards.

I would very much welcome an opportunity to discuss your stay personally and can be contacted at the hotel on 0191 418 9400 or via e-mail at francis.hindle@ihg.com.

Yours sincerely

Francis Hindle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Washington hotels

Huddersfield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 April 2014

After just returning from our break I d just like to say thanks for a lovely break.All the staff were exceptionally friendly,especially staff in the restaurants, Rhys, George and the girls ..nothing too much trouble.The rooms were very comfy, beds especially, enough tea,coffee etc and very clean...would Definately recommend !! Thanks to all staff !! The food as well was of a great standard !! Hope to return one day !!

Room Tip: All rooms seem easy to get to but second floor was very nice,quiet too
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eveyanna10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england/peterlee
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Attended this hotel for a business presentation ... May I say the room and facilities were excellent .....at each break we experienced the most delicious snacks with our coffee it was 5 star treatment and the staff were very friendly and helpful. : would certainly return

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank estonia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Arrived here late evening during the bank holiday weekend for an overnights stay. We were checked in quickly and efficiently by a pleasant young woman and given our room key.

The room was comfortable, spacious and well equipped with full bathroom, hairdryer, flatscreen tv and tea and coffee making facilities. It was very clean. The hotel was very quiet during the night, did hear the occassional drunks but nothing too loud.

As our board basis included breakfast we made our way to the restaurant. (having stayed in holiday inns before we expected the usual beans, sausage and egg) but this was not the case as we were treated to a full english breakfast. The choice was plentiful and included about every breakfast item.

Apart from the hot breakfast, you could have fruit, croissants or pancakes. The waitress brought over a pot of tea to the table to have after eating. I would however agree with the other comments that the toast wasnt that good.

After breakfast it was time to check out and make our way back to the A1 and the onward journey.

We would not hesitate to stay here again when in the North East.

Room Tip: rooms away from the main A1 road have less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Haggis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oldham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Stayed two nights, comfortable bed in clean, well furnished room. Car parking free and sufficient spaces. I liked the canopy over the entrance, if the weather was bad it would protect you from getting wet. Good buffet breakfast . Helpful staff .

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MattG33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Washington
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Newcastle (Washington) Hotel
0.1 mi away
Campanile Hotel Washington
Campanile Hotel Washington
#6 of 6 in Washington
338 reviews
2.7 mi away
Mercure Newcastle George Washington Hotel Golf and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Washington A1 M Northbound
2.3 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 19 in Durham
2,031 reviews
4.6 mi away
Best Western Beamish Hall Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Washington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Washington

Property: Holiday Inn Washington
Address: Emerson Road, Washington NE37 1LB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Washington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Washington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Washington 3*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Washington is an ideally located hotel, just off the A1M junction 64. Centrally located between, Historic Durham, Sunderland and Newcastle City The hotel offers a 'Go Green' Environmental Room in association with Tree Appealplanting trees on site and across the UK. This is a well established, comfortable hotel, with free car parking, noted for its friendly staff. The Hotel has a Traders Restaurant a newly refurbished lounge and bar area.Kids Stay & Eat Free*. The hotel has 136 fully air conditioned bedrooms, including family and accessible rooms. Only a short drive from Europes largest Shopping Centre - the Metrocentre, Newcastle City Centre, the award winning Beamish Open Air Museum, Sunderland Glass Centre and Durham County Cricket Ground. The North East coastline and Angel of the North are also within close driving distance.*Terms & Conditions apply. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Washington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Washington Hotel Washington
Washington Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Washington Tyne And Wear

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing