We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value all round!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Campanile Hotel Washington
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Washington
Reviewed 20 April 2013

First time we decided to use this group of hotels. We were very impressed at the price per room per night. When we arrived, the receptionist couldn't have been more friendly. Nothing was to much trouble. We had booked a disabled double room and found the room very spacious for my electric wheelchair. The room was clean as was both the décor and the bed clothes. No pictures on the wall, if there had of been, the room we had, I would have been making a direct comparison with the Premier Lodge, but there wasn't, yet the rooms were half the price of that charged by Premier Lodge.
We had a preview of the menu in the bedroom and thought that the prices charged were extreme, NO NEED TO WORRY, when we went to the restaurant, there were quite a number of contractors there that were using the hotel. Each meal was served up as man sized portions and easily were worth the asking price. One suggestion I would make to Campanile is on the menu, list all what is given on the plate, not just the main ingredients. Not doing so, could put a lot of people off from visiting the restaurant.
Overall verdict, clean, helpful and enjoyable. What more do you want for a couple of nights stay. Highly recommended and great value for money.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank contactbreaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (373)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

303 - 309 of 374 reviews

Reviewed 16 April 2013 via mobile

Could expect a lot more from a budget hotel, rooms ok although rather small and not the cleanest. Went for something to eat in the restaurant and were told we couldn't eat until later as a party of 20 people were due in 45 minutes!! It was quite a drive to somewhere else if you didn't fancy a carvery at the pub down the road. A sign in the bathroom made me laugh 'Bath mat available at reception' I really cant get my head around that one! A towel did the job. Wish I'd taken some pictures as the ones on here are obviously out of date. Stayed in better places for a lot less money!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marc C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

great value, good breakfasts, perfect location for easy access to Beamish, Durham, Sunderland and Newcastle and we took the dogs with us - brilliant

Ideal for touring the north east - or for staying over if going to a football match - will definitely go back

Room Tip: Basic and not big rooms but clean and very functional
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CityFan40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2013

On my arrival at washington i was greeted by someone pretending being manager but didnt at all look like a manager he was quite abrupt at check in. I was expecting my experience to be as dull as my first impression however when i arrived in my bedroom although the room needed updating i cudnt find anything bad to say about the cleanliness and the tea and coffee facility provided me with a warm cuppa had dinner in the restaurant on the night time wich was lovely and the staff made me feel like i was at home. would i stay here again.... yes but management need training on good manners as they seem to have changed since last time lacking the french touch it used to have

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carl6586
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2013

Stayed here as the other hotels I usually stay at in the northeast were full, I didn't expect the hotel to be a high standard when I was quoted such a low rate! On arrival the welcome was exceptional and informative, the room had everything albeit the decor needs a makeover but at the bargain rate don't expect perfection. The restaurant staff and food was again very good and great value,I will stay here again when in the area.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nigel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2013

We stayed in hotel room only for 5 nights.
We found hotel clean and tidy and all staff very helpful.
Rooms were extremely comfortable and quiet!!
Showers fantastic.
Pound for pound beats Hilton any time

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2013

Me and a few mates stayed here last weekend. The hotel is basic and has all the essentials. it is also clean and tidy and the bar food is limited but very tasty :) The staff are very busy, but are extremely friendly and hospitable ! especially kirsty, who works the bar and food and also the reception. She was very cheerful, outgoing and had a smile that could light up a room. I forgot my phone charger , and kirsty was good enough to let me borrow her own charger overnight. Thats what I call exceptional customer service. I would definately return to the campanile !

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank matt w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Washington
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Washington
Holiday Inn Washington
#3 of 6 in Washington
816 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Newcastle (Washington) Hotel
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Washington A1 M Northbound
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Travelodge Washington A1M Southbound
2.3 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 18 in Durham
2,195 reviews
2.7 mi away
Mercure Newcastle George Washington Hotel Golf and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Campanile Hotel Washington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Campanile Hotel Washington

Address: District 5 Emerson Road, Washington NE37 1LB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Washington
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Washington
Price Range: £27 - £55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Campanile Hotel Washington 2*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
To sleep, relax or even do some work, enjoy the peace and quiet of our bedrooms. comfortable beds for a good night sleep, bathroom with shower bath and hair dryer, on site bistro restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Campanile Hotel Washington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Campanile Hotel Washington Tyne And Wear

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing