We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable budget hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Campanile Hotel Washington
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Washington
Oldham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Comfortable budget hotel”
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Stayed 2 nights August 2013 for a visit to The ashes at Chester Le Street. A spacious and comfortable room. A little dated but perfectly clean and comfortable. Staff were polite and helpful and our evening meal was okay. Did not have breakfast so cannot comment. Overall an above average budget hotel due to price, staff and comfort.

Room Tip: Room 229 top floor and furthest from the entrance and nice and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank grahamharrop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    96
    101
    58
    35
See reviews for
45
122
28
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

I stayed for one night. I was going to a sports event at international stadium which is approx. 15 mins drive, room was very clean, a little dated with uncomfortable beds. Fine for the price for one nights stay. Close to metro centre, approx. 15 mins,

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ukbreakscouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heanor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
147 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

I stayed here for four nights while working at nearby nissan. Room prices were good. Prices for breakfast typical of this type of hotel 6.95 for a continental and 8.95 for a cooked breakfast. Location is good but the evening menu is not so good if you stay for more than a couple of nights. Free wifi is a bonus also.

Room Tip: Ask for a carrack side room it's a little quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castleford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2013

Room was small but only needed the bed anyways. No lift and had to climb 3 flights of stairs with my luggage to/from the room. Restaurant was open for dinner and the meal was fantastic!! Nice quiet area to stay for the night and close to the freeway A1. Will stay here again in the future but will make sure my room in not on the 3rd floor.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Scarlettered
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
176 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

I stayed here for a single night while on business in the area.

The price was fantastic, £42.00 room only with breakfast being £6 ish for a continental and £8 ish for a full cooked breakfast.

Finding this hotel is simplicity itself, just off the A1M and in a very quiet location.

Checking in is easy, you check in to the hotel in the bar/restaurant area.

Parking spaces in abundance, so no problem there.

The rooms are quite well worn but clean so it is fine; remember this is a budget hotel. This also means there is no lift to upper floors and no air conditioning in the room - none of which caused me a problem but it may for those less mobile.

If you are a light sleeper the walls seem quite thin because the TV next door was quite loud - thankfully they turned it off at a reasonable hour.

The hotel was fully booked while I stayed but there was only 5 persons in to eat at dinner and the same at breakfast; perhaps I ate very early.

A lot of the clientele seem to be trades people taking advantage of the twin bedded rooms at £42 per night so there is some noise from the car park of vans/cars starting and leaving early.

My only gripe, and this is not entirely the hotel's fault, is the area by the entrance to the bedrooms.
The smokers congregate here and it is pretty foul having to go through clouds of smoke. I took a picture so you can get an idea of what I mean.
Would the hotel consider moving the smoking area to the car park and put no smoking notices on the external parts of the hotel. Please though, do not put the smoking area near the bedrooms along the front of the car park.

The food was honest and plentiful, cooked really well.

The biggest praise is for the hotel and restaurant staff - a really friendly, efficient and welcoming group of people; they make the hotel worth visiting.

There are not many power points in the room - I found one on the table area by the window - upside down.

The bathroom is OK but the shower is fantastic - massive pressure if you want it.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ConvertedPoms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
198 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2013

We stayed here overnight on a trip from Kent up to Edinburgh and it was fantastic. Located really close to the a1 (m) and very easy to find as it is signposted almost as soon as you leave the motorway. The staff were friendly and the rooms were large, comfortable and had all the facilities we needed (hairdryers etc). The price was brilliant and I was really glad we stayed here. We didn't get a chance to try the food here! I would definitely stay here again, it was a good night's sleep in the middle of a long drive!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TessicaW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Washington
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Washington
Holiday Inn Washington
#4 of 6 in Washington
747 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Newcastle (Washington) Hotel
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Washington A1 M Northbound
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Best Western Beamish Hall Country House Hotel
2.3 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 19 in Durham
2,030 reviews
1.1 mi away
Travelodge Chester-Le-Street
Travelodge Chester-Le-Street
#1 of 3 in Chester-le-Street
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Campanile Hotel Washington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Campanile Hotel Washington

Property: Campanile Hotel Washington
Address: District 5 Emerson Road, Washington NE37 1LB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Washington
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Washington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Campanile Hotel Washington 2*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
To sleep, relax or even do some work, enjoy the peace and quiet of our bedrooms. comfortable beds for a good night sleep, bathroom with shower bath and hair dryer, on site bistro restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HRS, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Cancelon so you can book your Campanile Hotel Washington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Campanile Hotel Washington Tyne And Wear

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing