We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value and convenient location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Campanile Hotel Washington
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Washington
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good value and convenient location”
Reviewed 26 August 2013

I have stayed here twice, on the way to the North East of England. It is right by the A1,so very convenient for a stop over.
I found it clean and comfortable, and the staff friendly and helpful.
I had the continental breakfast which was adequate.
There are two other big chain hotels within walking distance, and I have also stayed at the Premier Inn there. However , on this occasion the Campanile was offering a cheaper price, so I stayed there.
It is a budget hotel, and I was quite satisfied with it as a stop over hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank heathermac29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    96
    101
    58
    35
See reviews for
45
122
28
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Stayed here with some friends after visiting Beamish. Thought it was well located, easy enough to find. There's a couple of hotels on the same bit of road, this is the furthest one along. The check in desk doubles or triples up as the bar and restaurant which i thought was a bit odd. The check in process was quick and easy, though i was a little surprised to find out that the bedrooms were in a separate building. The bedrooms block was accessed by a keypad on the door, not sure how often they change the code but i would wonder about the security. We had rooms on the first floor, both of a decent size with pretty much what you would expect in the rooms - double bed, tea/coffee making facilities, TV, Phone etc. There wasn't a fan or any form of air con and the window only opened a little. We'd read the reviews on here prior to going so took a fan with us, good choice, it was needed. The room was basic, but decent. The bathroom was a good size, nice powerful shower. The corridors smelled a little of stale old cigarette smoke, although the hotel is completely non smoking, i think it was left over from way back when. This brings us to the decor, old and dated and in desperate need of a facelift. The corridors desperately need smartening up. The restaurant was ok, large portions for evening meal. breakfast was £8 per person for full english. Don't have it, go down the road to the pub (walking distance) and it's £3.99 for all you can eat.
At the end of the day, this is a budget hotel, take it as such and you wont be disappointed. If you come expecting the ritz, then you'll not like it.

Room Tip: Take a fan!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ram1us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013 via mobile

Very disappointing stay. It's modern facade hides a number of discrepancies. This hotel is very much for the budget conscious traveller which is reflected in the meagre daily menu, it's prices and a 'no frills attached' approach.
The hotel is on three floors. If you've got heavy luggage and have been given a room on either the first or second floors, don't expect to find a lift. There isn't one, and there's no offer from hotel reception to have your bags carried up for you. You have to struggle on your own - 18 steps to the first floor. The room we had was small and cramped. There were only 2 single plug points - one at floor level by the bathroom and one (logically upside down) under the window at the desk. Everything else- TV, hair dryer, bedside lamps, desk lamp are permanently wired in so if you're taking mobile devices such as phone, laptop, camera that need charging, then pack a four/six way extension block.
Breakfasts start as early as 6am until 9am and you have the option to upgrade your continental breakfast to a 'full English'. The food was 'mixed' ie. VERY limited menu but what there is is good in quality. However, whilst our first morning breakfast was brilliant, the next morning's wasn't. The sausages in our 'full English' had obviously been over heated up. We struggled to cut them and they were very 'chewy'. Evening meals lacked in quantity and can be likened to that served up as a lunchtime snack in a street cafe. No vegetables on the menu either.
This hotel is ideal for travelling sales people. There were quite a few during our stay. There's a fitted out meeting room but that is the limit of the hotel's facilities. Oh, and if you're looking for a comfy lounge to have a drink or three after your meal. Forget it! There isn't one. There's a couple of tatty armchairs in one corner of the bar area/restaurant, but that's about it.
On the whole, we were glad to get away. If you're looking for a cheap overnight stay with no frills attached then this is okay. If you want more of a relaxing stay then drive on by. There are better hotels in the vicinity.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Glenn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redditch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights whilst watching the cricket at Chester le Street. Pretty good location for the cricket ground, about 3 or 4 miles away. We wanted somewhere close-by at reasonable rates.

On the positive side, the room was ok, though maybe a little cramped - everything worked including the w-ifi. Plenty of room to park.

On the downside, probably the worst welcome I have received at any hotel anywhere in the world. Service generally in the restaurant and reception area was mixed - I noticed that at breakfast, a guy was alternating between cooking and taking payment at reception.

On another issue, I was intrigued to see a sign on the fire extinguisher 'Misuse of fire fighting Equipment Will result in prosecution And Penalty fine of £150'. Not sure what to make of this - I was slightly offended at a) being threatened and b) the implication that I might set off fire extinguishers for no reason. It also made me wonder what type of people they had at staying at this hotel. It is also inaccurate - although a criminal offence, there is no fixed penalty fine for the offence - so it was also implying that all guests are stupid. Whoever wrote the notice was also partly illiterate, having no idea how to use capital letters. Either way, it sort of summed up the attitude of the hotel and the general level of service.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrTR4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Washington hotels

Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

I wish I could give a good rating, as my view is this was better than average but not quite good enough for very good. The hotel is well located, clean and the beds were comfy. The shower was good and it had all the normal basics and tea and coffee making facilities. Staff were fine and check in was pretty easy. 2 things took the edge off slightly. Firstly the bar closed at 11pm with no warning despite residents being in the bar. This was poor communication and could easily wind residents up, particularly if they had had a day at the cricket (as we had) and fancied a few hotel beers rather than going out. The other thing was it advertises 'all you can eat breakfast' but you get a plated affair with one sausage, one egg and either beans or tomato (plus other bits). That is NOT all you can eat. You may have been able to get seconds but most wont ask and we didn't. That said it was pretty well cooked. It was a 3 and a half star effort that with a bit more attention to detail could have been a bit better. The all you can eat seemed like a con and that is the reason I have gone for 3 not 4 stars.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilwinning, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

This hotel is well situated just off the M1/A1. My double room was very large. Was basic but enough. Bed was a bit hard to sleep in as it was 2 mattresses joined in the middle and you could feel the join.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bigyinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oldham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Stayed 2 nights August 2013 for a visit to The ashes at Chester Le Street. A spacious and comfortable room. A little dated but perfectly clean and comfortable. Staff were polite and helpful and our evening meal was okay. Did not have breakfast so cannot comment. Overall an above average budget hotel due to price, staff and comfort.

Room Tip: Room 229 top floor and furthest from the entrance and nice and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank grahamharrop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Washington
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Washington
Holiday Inn Washington
#5 of 6 in Washington
748 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Newcastle (Washington) Hotel
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Washington A1 M Northbound
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Best Western Beamish Hall Country House Hotel
2.3 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 19 in Durham
2,030 reviews
1.1 mi away
Travelodge Chester-Le-Street
Travelodge Chester-Le-Street
#1 of 3 in Chester-le-Street
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Campanile Hotel Washington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Campanile Hotel Washington

Property: Campanile Hotel Washington
Address: District 5 Emerson Road, Washington NE37 1LB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Washington
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Washington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Campanile Hotel Washington 2*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
To sleep, relax or even do some work, enjoy the peace and quiet of our bedrooms. comfortable beds for a good night sleep, bathroom with shower bath and hair dryer, on site bistro restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Campanile Hotel Washington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Campanile Hotel Washington Tyne And Wear

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing