We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Regular”

WWT Washington Wetland Centre
Ranked #1 of 11 things to do in Washington
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Whatever the season, come rain or shine, WWT Washington Wetland Centre is the perfect place to connect with nature.Open 364 days a year, our award-winning, family-friendly site offers visitors of all ages a host of unforgettable wildlife encounters and beautiful scenery all year round.Explore an exciting mix of wetland, woodland, nature reserve and meadows; home to rare wildfowl, flocks of waders, Chilean flamingos, Asian short-clawed otters, Eurasian cranes and more.Enjoy daily animal feeds; regular walks, talks and activities and other special events.Excellent access (free electric scooter hire), café with views of spectacular wildlife, gift shop and play area. WWT members go Free.
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

We live local to the wetlands and are regular yearly members
We enjoy the wetlands on a weekly basis.
They have recently added a new park splash area which my youngest son loves
There is a nice restaurant/snack bar and a well stocked shop selling wildlife based gifts
I would recommend the wetlands trust for anyone who loves the outdoors
Great family day out

Thank Tim l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leanne M, Public Relations Manager at WWT Washington Wetland Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Hello and many thanks for your great review.

It’s lovely to hear that you and your family enjoy so many different aspects of our site so regularly!

Thank you for your support as a member as well, because without it we simply couldn’t carry out our vital conservation work. Your money is literally helping us to save threatened species and habitats both here in the UK and internationally.

We look forward to sharing many more happy visits with you in the future :-) 

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (327)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"pond dipping"
in 13 reviews
"different species"
in 7 reviews
"watching the birds"
in 4 reviews
"otter feeding"
in 11 reviews
"bird watchers"
in 5 reviews
"bird hide"
in 4 reviews
"all ages"
in 17 reviews
"play park"
in 9 reviews
"wonderful place to visit"
in 4 reviews
"great family day"
in 6 reviews
"water play"
in 4 reviews
"gift shop"
in 11 reviews
"different areas"
in 5 reviews
"all age groups"
in 4 reviews
"lovely cafe"
in 5 reviews
"school holidays"
in 4 reviews
"sunny day"
in 4 reviews
Filter

234 - 238 of 327 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2014

We went on a beautiful day. It was ok to kill a couple of hours but not really a full day out. The staff looked bored. The pricing isn't extortion but it's not great value. I suppose there are a few costs involved in running it. I think this place desperately needs a lottery cash injection to really bring it up to speed and make it a fun filled day. I'd say a bird themed restaurant, woodland adventure park, reptile house and bird of prey display would give this place the 5 star treatment and make it awesome.

Thank Bada-Bing22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leanne M, Public Relations Manager at WWT Washington Wetland Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Hi there and thanks for taking the time to review your visit to WWT Washington.

I’m sorry to hear that you weren’t pleased with some aspects of your time spent here.

Our customer service is something we typically excel at and we genuinely enjoy engaging with visitors (as mentioned in many previous good reviews), so I’m sorry that you felt let down on this occasion.

As you mention, there certainly are costs involved in running our centre and, as a charity, we rely on a variety of income streams to help fund improvements to our facilities and carry out our conservation work.

Our founder Sir Peter Scott’s vision was to bring wildlife and people together for the benefit of both and we still hold that close to our hearts. As such, much of our financial investment is ploughed into the wetland wildlife and habitats that we care for; including projects to improve water quality, the creation of rare habitats such as our saline lagoon and supporting our conservation breeding programmes, benefitting threatened species like our Chilean flamingos (which recently produced their first eggs in seven breeding seasons, no less!).

Alongside our core wildfowl and wetland conservation work we have our visitor centre and grounds to act as a showcase for our expertise, as well as providing what we hope is a quality day out, and of course we invest in this area too whenever possible. For example, our Playscape play area was recently revamped, we run a year-long programme of special events which brings in experts that we don’t have here - such as our recent birds of prey day and woodcraft workshops - and fundraising is currently underway for a family-friendly hide at the lagoon.

Many thanks again for your thoughts and feedback and if you do visit us again in future, I hope that you are able to see improvements from your last visit :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

the wetlands center it is a good day out. seeing all of the animals is fun for the kids. If you are into the wildlife and outdoors you will have a great time. It is a very big place and it has something for everyone.

Thank 374catherine1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leanne M, Public Relations Manager at WWT Washington Wetland Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Hello and thank you for your review – it’s great to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and we hope to see you again soon! :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

This is a lovely spot but I am marking it as average due to it not being very young child friendly. It was very quiet when we arrived and several volunteers were unoccupied but none attempted to engage our young grandchildren at any time. We enjoyed the picnic facility then went to try pond dipping (having seen others doing it) only to be informed rather curtly that it wasn't available to the general public, only pre-booked scouts. Our little ones were very disappointed, especially as the playground was also closed. I think the Centre could do a lot more to encourage younger visitors with some hands on activities.

Thank katherine153
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leanne M, Public Relations Manager at WWT Washington Wetland Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Hello there and thank you for taking the time to review your visit.

I’m sorry to hear that you didn’t find your experience to be child-friendly. Engaging young ones with our wetlands and their incredible wildlife is something that I know we usually do consistently well and is in fact one of our strengths (as shown by many previous positive reviews).

On this occasion we don’t seem to have met those high standards for you however, and for that I apologise.

The new play area is now open and we have a calendar of hands-on activities running across the year, which hopefully you may get a chance to try should you visit us again.

Thanks again for your valuable feedback :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We decided to go back to Washington as we enjoyed it last holiday. We were not disappointed. Very helpful staff and friendly. Lots of birds to see, lovely to see the avocets and herons (we counted 10 in one sitting!) Lots oystercatchers on the Wader Lake. Bird hide was very busy,so many bullfinches, goldfinches, and other garden birds. Lovely walks, you can feed the ducks in the Close Encounters, see the ducklings that are being reared, see the otters being fed. Good restaurant, plenty of choice, We would recommed a visit lasting about 4 hours to see everything. Good walking and wheelchair accessible in most places.

Thank Cathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leanne M, Public Relations Manager at WWT Washington Wetland Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Hello there and many thanks for taking the time to post your fantastic feedback.

Thanks also for choosing to visit us for a second time, which is a great testament to our staff and volunteers, who work hard to make our visitor experience the best it can be.

We hope to see you again on another holiday in the future! :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed WWT Washington Wetland Centre also viewed

Sunderland, Tyne and Wear
Washington, Tyne and Wear
 
Gateshead, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to WWT Washington Wetland Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing