We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent wedding venue, some rooms a bit pricey” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nailcote Hall Hotel and Golf Club

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Nailcote Hall Hotel and Golf Club
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Berkswell
Certificate of Excellence
Glenfinnan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
124 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Excellent wedding venue, some rooms a bit pricey”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

Stayed here two nights in early August for a family wedding and it turned out to be a fabulous venue helped by the sunny weather.

Nailcote Hall is set in lovely grounds and it makes a real impression as you sweep in up the drive. , fortunately the golf course does not dominate the setting of the lovely half-timbered manor house.

There is no doubt that as a wedding venue it is one of the best we have ever been to. The facilities are extensive and the setting of the function room is very pleasant, a lovely place to get married. The catering was excellent and the master of ceremonies very efficient – if a little too much so at times!

On the evening before the wedding we had a lovely meal in the restaurant, the highlight of which was their signature dish of a flambé fillet steak Diane which was cooked in front of us by the charming head waiter Raoul. Breakfast was very good and all the staff we met throughout our stay were very helpful and friendly.

However in spite of the good time we had, we would have a gripe about the room we were given, for the price we paid of £115 B&B for the room per night we expected something much better from a four star hotel. It seems the allocation of rooms for wedding guests is a bit of a lottery as some rooms are far superior to others even though everyone pays the same rate.

Our room was dark, not helped by the heavy net curtains and small windows, with a small bathroom. The room was unbearably hot and the windows would not open more than a couple of inches. The hairdryer was useless and there were not enough trouser hangers in the wardrobe. Our room was not vacuumed when serviced which meant the grass we had trodden in from the lawn became a nuisance. The room also smelled badly of paint which made sleep difficult. By comparison an elderly member of our party had a lovely big air conditioned room with a spa bath, even though she was paying the same as us! We felt a bit ripped off by all this.

Can strongly recommend Nailcote as a wedding venue but they do need to do something about charging so much for some of the rooms they allocate.

Room Tip: If you get the chance ask for a room with air conditioning as these tend to be the better rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bobsatravellin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

483 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    258
    116
    63
    26
    20
See reviews for
78
166
5
89
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ashford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

Stayed at Nailcote Hall for the par 3 Golf championships,, Held here every year.. Our room was lovely staff were Great & Myself & Family Had a great time being made to feel very welcome,, The par 3 course is challenging & worth a round the leisure area is very nice the restaurant is lovely,, will be back to stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mitch337
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

I stayed here with my family for one night in June. Given that I was allocated a room in the "new" part of the hotel, I was disappointed that the bed was uncomfortable, the decor was awful (tacky orange walls and curtains which don't at all match the other furnishings), the room was cold, the single-glazed window did not close properly so the room was also noisy - all in all a disappointing night's sleep, only made worse by hearing the coital groans of the people in the room next door from 6 a.m. onwards. The wrong newspaper was delivered in the morning. The breakfast was another disappointment: you don't expect tinned fruit in a place like this, the staff were surly and rude and the eggs benedict was inedible - the eggs were over-cooked and the sauce it was drowned in was like lumpy milk and flour rather than hollandaise. I can only imagine what the food is like - we ate at a nearby gastropub. There is nothing special or commendable about this hotel and if you are looking for a special experience, go elsewhere.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Badger885
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2013

Twas the night before our first outing at Crufts with opur Hungarian wirehaired Viszla Luka and we had booked to stay at the Nailcote Hall because it was dog friendly. We arrive quite late that night and were met by very nice reception staff, who booked us in and showed us to our room. It was explained that dogs were not allowed in the restaurant (not unreasonable) but we could take him into the bar and they would organise food for us there both that night and in the morning for breakfast. The room was excllent especially for a dog room. It was clean and tidy, well proportioned and had a great bathroom and also a safe. We Went to the bar for a drink and a snack and the staff were lovely, treating Luka like a star(almost a demigod). Breakfast the next morning was laid up for us in the bar and the staff could not have been more helpful.
This is the first time we have taken one of our dogs to a hotel and the experience was excellent.
The staff were wonderful, rooms very good and We look forward to staying again before crufts next year. Thanks a million, Im sorry I havent written early cos it was such a positive experience that the hotel deserves praise.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sh6402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

Recently stayed here for the weekend to enjoy this summer we are having.
I have to say our stay was brilliant and i couldn`t really pick fault with any part of ur weekend.
Been partial to a bit of golf i have to say the course here was suprisingly good !
room was clean, bed was comfortable and was everything you would expect for this standard of hotel.
I have to say the staff were very friendly and catered to all of our needs.
The restaurant here was excellent !! The food was delicious and walked out of here with a beaming smile as i do like my food.
The manager here who unfortuantely i cannot remember his name but was a young man, really went out of his way to make our stay here one of the best trips away weve had.
I would certainly reccomend this hotel and wouldn`t hesitate to come back here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthew I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2013

My wife and I stayed for 2 nights during July. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful and went out of their way to ensure my we had a lovely stay.

The hotel is set in beautiful grounds and the food in the restaurant was incredible. I will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kenneth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013

Oh dear. Stayed here for one night to celebrate my friend's 60th birthday and we had real room issues. We were in the new part, room 36, a suite and the toilet was blocked on our arrival. Indicating that the room hadn't been cleaned properly or the blockage hadn't been reported. Either way, not good enough. We were given a room nearby, for toilet use & a promise that the problem would be seen to. This was @ 2:30. After several enquiries someone came @ 7pm. Nightmare. We had booked tickets for an Abba tribute evening, including dinner @ 7:30. (This was brilliant, fabulous in every way) By 7:15 they decided it couldn't be fixed! The gardener with a coat hanger said it couldn't be fixed! We asked to see the General Manager after the dinner and that he come to us. I must say @ this stage that we weren't impressed with the suite full stop. Big headboard, small bed, small bedroom, furniture in lounge needed replacing, carpet was stained, marks on the duvet, very soft trampoline style mattress, gouge out of the wall etc, I could go on. On the plus side, during this difficult time, the staff could not have been nicer. Problem was, that wasn't enough to fix the problem and it wasn't very pleasant having your bathroom down the corridor away from your room. Sorry, I digress. No-one came to see us! We had to go to the GM @ the end of the evening & didn't want to discuss it @ that hour. However, that was not acceptable & after much debate, we didn't pay for the room. Now I know some of you will be thinking, fair enough, but, I didn't want a free room. I wanted to pay for a comfortable room with a working toilet and just to add insult to injury, we had the worse night's sleep ever. Now the chalk & cheese is the comparison between our room and our friends room! There room, called Magnolia, was lovely. They were very comfortable, stress free and had an excellent night's sleep. Chalk and Cheese. The moral of this lengthy tale is, if you must stay at this hotel, stay in the Magnolia room.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Annette H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Berkswell
13.2 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
#7 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,761 reviews
4.9 mi away
Wroxall Abbey Hotel & Estate
8.8 mi away
Coombe Abbey Hotel
Coombe Abbey Hotel
#3 of 39 in Coventry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Village Hotel Coventry
Village Hotel Coventry
#8 of 39 in Coventry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,906 reviews
2.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Coventry Windmill Village Hotel Golf & Spa
5.4 mi away
Chesford Grange - A QHotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nailcote Hall Hotel and Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nailcote Hall Hotel and Golf Club

Property: Nailcote Hall Hotel and Golf Club
Address: Nailcote Lane, Berkswell, Solihull CV7 7DE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Solihull > Berkswell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Berkswell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Nailcote Hall Hotel and Golf Club 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Nailcote Hall Hotel and Golf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nailcote Hall Hotel And Golf Club Berkswell, Warwickshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing