We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel, beautiful grounds, helpful staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nailcote Hall Hotel and Golf Club

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Nailcote Hall Hotel and Golf Club
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Berkswell
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
163 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, beautiful grounds, helpful staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

We stayed here on a Sunday evening and got a good deal last minute. I had a meeting in the area the next day. Nice hotel, the public rooms are not that big and there is a huge marquee which I am sure they use on a regular basis. You have to walk out the front of the hotel and round the back to sit at the tables over looking the golf course. Spa area is nice but again you have to leave the main building and go to the next building for the spa. Fine in the summer but might be a bit of a problem in the winter or if it had been raining. There was a golf lunch on in the spa building and a major competition the next day but it didn't interrupt out enjoyment of the hotel. Breakfast was delicious.

Room Tip: No air con but there are fans. Get a room at the end of the corridor and the view over the gold cou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MBA1888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

480 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    258
    114
    62
    26
    20
See reviews for
78
164
5
88
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Salcombe, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2013

very nice and quiet hotel with good facilities. The staff were all very friendly and professional. Overall an enjoyable stay. Good choice of breakfast and good evening meals. The rooms were very clean and tidy

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenfinnan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
124 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

Stayed here two nights in early August for a family wedding and it turned out to be a fabulous venue helped by the sunny weather.

Nailcote Hall is set in lovely grounds and it makes a real impression as you sweep in up the drive. , fortunately the golf course does not dominate the setting of the lovely half-timbered manor house.

There is no doubt that as a wedding venue it is one of the best we have ever been to. The facilities are extensive and the setting of the function room is very pleasant, a lovely place to get married. The catering was excellent and the master of ceremonies very efficient – if a little too much so at times!

On the evening before the wedding we had a lovely meal in the restaurant, the highlight of which was their signature dish of a flambé fillet steak Diane which was cooked in front of us by the charming head waiter Raoul. Breakfast was very good and all the staff we met throughout our stay were very helpful and friendly.

However in spite of the good time we had, we would have a gripe about the room we were given, for the price we paid of £115 B&B for the room per night we expected something much better from a four star hotel. It seems the allocation of rooms for wedding guests is a bit of a lottery as some rooms are far superior to others even though everyone pays the same rate.

Our room was dark, not helped by the heavy net curtains and small windows, with a small bathroom. The room was unbearably hot and the windows would not open more than a couple of inches. The hairdryer was useless and there were not enough trouser hangers in the wardrobe. Our room was not vacuumed when serviced which meant the grass we had trodden in from the lawn became a nuisance. The room also smelled badly of paint which made sleep difficult. By comparison an elderly member of our party had a lovely big air conditioned room with a spa bath, even though she was paying the same as us! We felt a bit ripped off by all this.

Can strongly recommend Nailcote as a wedding venue but they do need to do something about charging so much for some of the rooms they allocate.

Room Tip: If you get the chance ask for a room with air conditioning as these tend to be the better rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bobsatravellin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

Stayed at Nailcote Hall for the par 3 Golf championships,, Held here every year.. Our room was lovely staff were Great & Myself & Family Had a great time being made to feel very welcome,, The par 3 course is challenging & worth a round the leisure area is very nice the restaurant is lovely,, will be back to stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mitch337
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

I stayed here with my family for one night in June. Given that I was allocated a room in the "new" part of the hotel, I was disappointed that the bed was uncomfortable, the decor was awful (tacky orange walls and curtains which don't at all match the other furnishings), the room was cold, the single-glazed window did not close properly so the room was also noisy - all in all a disappointing night's sleep, only made worse by hearing the coital groans of the people in the room next door from 6 a.m. onwards. The wrong newspaper was delivered in the morning. The breakfast was another disappointment: you don't expect tinned fruit in a place like this, the staff were surly and rude and the eggs benedict was inedible - the eggs were over-cooked and the sauce it was drowned in was like lumpy milk and flour rather than hollandaise. I can only imagine what the food is like - we ate at a nearby gastropub. There is nothing special or commendable about this hotel and if you are looking for a special experience, go elsewhere.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Badger885
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2013

Twas the night before our first outing at Crufts with opur Hungarian wirehaired Viszla Luka and we had booked to stay at the Nailcote Hall because it was dog friendly. We arrive quite late that night and were met by very nice reception staff, who booked us in and showed us to our room. It was explained that dogs were not allowed in the restaurant (not unreasonable) but we could take him into the bar and they would organise food for us there both that night and in the morning for breakfast. The room was excllent especially for a dog room. It was clean and tidy, well proportioned and had a great bathroom and also a safe. We Went to the bar for a drink and a snack and the staff were lovely, treating Luka like a star(almost a demigod). Breakfast the next morning was laid up for us in the bar and the staff could not have been more helpful.
This is the first time we have taken one of our dogs to a hotel and the experience was excellent.
The staff were wonderful, rooms very good and We look forward to staying again before crufts next year. Thanks a million, Im sorry I havent written early cos it was such a positive experience that the hotel deserves praise.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sh6402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

Recently stayed here for the weekend to enjoy this summer we are having.
I have to say our stay was brilliant and i couldn`t really pick fault with any part of ur weekend.
Been partial to a bit of golf i have to say the course here was suprisingly good !
room was clean, bed was comfortable and was everything you would expect for this standard of hotel.
I have to say the staff were very friendly and catered to all of our needs.
The restaurant here was excellent !! The food was delicious and walked out of here with a beaming smile as i do like my food.
The manager here who unfortuantely i cannot remember his name but was a young man, really went out of his way to make our stay here one of the best trips away weve had.
I would certainly reccomend this hotel and wouldn`t hesitate to come back here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthew I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Berkswell
13.2 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
#7 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,756 reviews
4.9 mi away
Wroxall Abbey Hotel & Estate
2.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Coventry Windmill Village Hotel Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Village Hotel Coventry
Village Hotel Coventry
#7 of 39 in Coventry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,892 reviews
8.8 mi away
Coombe Abbey Hotel
Coombe Abbey Hotel
#3 of 39 in Coventry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,654 reviews
18.7 mi away
Ettington Park Hotel
Ettington Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Alderminster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nailcote Hall Hotel and Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nailcote Hall Hotel and Golf Club

Property: Nailcote Hall Hotel and Golf Club
Address: Nailcote Lane, Berkswell, Solihull CV7 7DE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Solihull > Berkswell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Berkswell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Nailcote Hall Hotel and Golf Club 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Nailcote Hall Hotel and Golf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nailcote Hall Hotel And Golf Club Berkswell, Warwickshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing