We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noise unfortunately an issue”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Charlecote Pheasant Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Charlecote
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 2 December 2013

We have stayed here on two separate occasions now, once in the Executive building in a suite and more recently a double room, each accommodation shared a comman fault......... noise, which for a fairly recent built hotel room we found surprising.We had noise from above as people moved out early in the morning in the suite, from the floor above. Then noise from an ajacent room from the tv late at night in the double, so sound insulation is not up to the standard you would expect. The staff clearly work very hard but clearly they are understaffed. The hotel particularly at it`s price level is in need of some serious TLC. On the plus side the standard rooms err on the side of being quite spacious.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dorris3333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheagm, General Manager at The Charlecote Pheasant Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2013

Thank you for the review of your stay, Im sorry that you felt that the noise level was too loud in your bedroom , I shall certainly investigate this, we would gladly have changed you rooms had we been made aware of the Problem.I am bewildered regarding your comment of the Hotel Needing TLC we have invested heavily in the structure and fabric of the Hotel , and Myself and Team work hard delivering good customer service, and maintaing the Hotel, as you can read from previous guests. Regards John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (870)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

550 - 556 of 870 reviews

Reviewed 2 December 2013

This was a 5 day (4 nights DB&B) booked through Shearings although via the more upmarket Coast & Country hotel section. This included coach from York - Charlecote, 3 additional trips to Stratford, Evesham and Warwick Castle and, believe it or not, £25 per person credit at the hotel as well. For what we paid per person it was ridiculously cheap. In fact I doubt whether the hotel made a profit at all !
The rooms were excellent, the food was wonderful as were all the staff and, although we had stayed previously (under our own steam) we would go there again and use it as a halfway stop on the way down to the South West. Wonderful altogether and an absolute MUST if you are in the general area !

Room Tip: All rooms are good but if you are a little immobilised there are some close to Reception within abou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FCA141937
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheagm, General Manager at The Charlecote Pheasant Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2013

Many thanks for such a glowing review of your recent Stay, |I shall pass on all your comments to the team. Our midweek breaks with the added £25 in house credit are great value holidays and it was nice to read that you enjoyed it and felt it great value. Hopefully wont be long till your back on another break. Kind regards John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Having just returned from a 3 night stay at the 'Charlecote Pheasant,' we felt somewhat underwhelmed by several aspects of this hotel. Firstly, on checking in we requested a change from a double to a twin, which, to be fair, the reception team were more than helpful & willing to accommodate, however having been shown 3 separate rooms, all of the rooms only had 2' 6" single beds rather than the national standard of 3' singles, this size of bed is usually provided for children rather than adults, however the main issue was the fact that as soon as you touched the beds they moved several inches, (due to the 'free rolling' castors,) not ideal when getting out of bed for loo visits in the early hours of the morning & disturbing your other half when the beds are pushed together! Eventually we asked for the castors to be removed which a member of staff duly obliged - problem solved.

The rooms that we managed to view & our eventual room, were showing signs of wear, & lacked attention to detail, (our family had 3 rooms in all) our room had numerous stains to the carpet, holes in the plastered walls & ceilings, to both the bedroom & bathroom, where mirrors, smoke detectors & such like had used to be positioned, (old rawl plugs were left showing,) the maintenance team obviously couldn't be bothered to make good & redecorate the holes, or clean the carpets or clean / repair dirty & cracked skirting boards, or renew moldy & dirty grouting to the tiling to the baths / showers - so also lacking in some basic good housekeeping standards I'm afraid & certainly not what you would expect from a 3 star hotel!

Breakfast on the first morning was awful (not much of an improvement on days 2 or 3 either) - it was apparent that both the kitchen & restaurant teams were under pressure, (more than likely under staffed) since service on all three visits to the dining room was slow. The food quality was also poor, we'd previously read the 'Daily Telegraph' reviews prior to our visit, which stated that 'the breakfast is best avoided!' We reserved judgement until we'd sampled this for ourselves. Our party requested typical items such as 'over easy fried eggs' - these arrived cold & rock hard, we gave up having returned the eggs 3 times to the kitchen & still they couldn't get them right!, the bacon too was inedible, with 'white salt scum' covering practically every inch of the bacon rashers, sausages served so pale & anemic that they couldn't have been shown the pan for more than 10 seconds - great if you like raw meat products! Toast arrived burnt, the croissants too were also unappetizing - my daughter & several others ordered these, but no word of a lie, they arrived over baked & almost black, completely inedible! The buffet consisted of a choice of cereals, grapefruit segments, prunes & juices & that was it. Even the cutlery laid to our tables was dirty, tea spoons with jam residue, egg encrusted knives, chipped & stained crockery! We're quite sure that a truckers 'greasy spoon diner' would have provided a far superior offering & probably would have had better hygiene standards too, so we agree with the Telegraph - breakfast is most definitely 'Best avoided!'

In conclusion, whilst their tariff is slightly lower than other equivalent Stratford-upon-Avon hotels, the hotel is owned by the holiday coach company - 'Shearings' under their 'Coast & Country' brand, so they predominately attract a more mature clientele, more than likely on coach tour holidays, but their apparent cost cutting & below par standards are unlikely to attract repeat business, I would suggest that this hotel is chosen as a last resort only.

Room Tip: Our room number 22 was part of an annex, there are numerous annex buildings, all of which were remot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Be_Steve09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheagm, General Manager at The Charlecote Pheasant Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

Thank you fior your very Comprehensive review of your weekend Stay, As you you have said once reported to the Team we immediately resolved your problem/complaint,however it is a pity that you never discussed your other issues with myself or any of my team, we would have been more than happy to discuss/ rectify had we been given the chance. Regards John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

We have recently returned from a two night stay at this hotel and initially choose it as we wanted to visit the area and have a half board basis where we stayed. I have to say, for the price we paid, it does offer value for money but a couple of things on the negative side, shouldn't really happen no matter how budget the hotel is.
The first niggle was when we walked into our room, the bulb in the main lamp had blown and because it was dark outside, the room was so badly lit so I picked up the telephone in the room to ring down to Reception. There was no dial tone and on closer inspection, the phone lead and socket weren't even attached to the wall! I went back to Reception to report the bulb and the phone and to be fair, the guy came to replace the bulb immediately but muttered something about the phone not working and adding it was a 'BT job' waiting to be done and that it was the housekeeping fault for not reporting it. The other few niggles were the state of the towels in our bathroom. One had brown stains on it and the other had a hole right through it - got them changed up. As other reports mention, the food here is not fantastic. We found the quantities to be adequate but the garden peas were rock hard (we left them all) and on one night I had the pasta which was stuck together in a big lump.
However, the staff here are so polite you can almost forgive them for the things that let this place down as it's not their fault! I also work in a customer service 'front line' environment so I can appreciate the backlash that the general public are capable of giving. So I thought the staff were professional, friendly and polite especially as some of them seemed to be rushed off their feet (in the restaurant). By the way, the breakfast service was so slow on the first morning that we decided to skip it on our second day and head straight out and ate later on elsewhere!
So all in all, a great location to stay if you are visiting the area but don't book this hotel for a weekend of fine dining!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sarah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheagm, General Manager at The Charlecote Pheasant Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

Thank you for your review of your stay, ishall passon your kind comments to Team and Shall investigate into your dissapointment with the food and Service Regards John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed here 1 evening in August celebrating 6 years of marriage... 6 years before had got married at the same hotel in the Hampton suite. Standards still impeccable and has had several upgrades since improving the hotel. Stayed in one of the farm house rooms on the ground floor, very nice. (One grumble would be the height of the bushes, made it difficult to open the windows and as it was August temps were nice. Once opened found bugs we're coming in so promptly shut). Didn't have evening meal here as went out into stratford but we did indulge in the lovely buffet breakfast - (even though where we were seated we had to order what we wanted from the buffet and it was delivered by waiter-bit bizarre but equally saved our legs I suppose). Would recommend staying here and we are hoping to return next year.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank egdec82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheagm, General Manager at The Charlecote Pheasant Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

Many thanks for the review of your stay to celebrate your Anniversary, We are so glad that you enjoyed yourselves, and hopefully it wont be too long till you return. Kind regards John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Have just spent a week-end at this hotel and I must say we were disappointed with the food.
The food served was edible (just) if a tad bland. when asked for custard or cream with our puddings we were told its not available. (although one evening the waitress did find us a small jug of cream). We did mix and match off the a la carte menu to get a better choice. but the menu for the Cheap weekend was poor. One evening the Chefs signatory meal was "Sausage and Mash" !!! Vegtables were always overcooked and generally the portions were small
Bar service was good and the room was good. Hotel is in a good position but please have a more varied menu and freshly cooked vegtables and a bit more on the plate. Breakfast was probably the best meal of the day

Room Tip: Main building by all accounts is the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pete29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheagm, General Manager at The Charlecote Pheasant Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2013

Thank you for the review of your stay at the Charlecote Hotel,Whilst you were satisfies with the Hotel and Staff I was dissapointed to read that you did not enjoy the evening meals, I shall look into your comments regarding the "overcooked" vegetalbes regards John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

We stayed here in October for four days on a Shearing's Self Drive Break. Having been on many of their breaks in different parts of the country, I would judge the Pheasant Hotel as one of their better hotels .Reception staff upon arrival were polite and efficient, as a person suffering from limited mobility we were allocated a room across the courtyard from the main facilities. Our room was of good size with very comfortable beds, excellent and modern on -suite facilities and very clean throughout, our room was very quiet and we slept well, the room was cleaned daily and supplied with clean towels. All the staff we came in contact with were helpful and polite. The food at the hotel varied from day to day The fixed menu at dinner was limited the 'Chefs Specials' were for the most part uninspiring, the portions at dinner were small, but mostly well cooked. We have noticed a substantial decline in the evening meal value provided over the last few years, during our visits to this chain of hotels? Breakfasts were however very good, with an excellent choice available, served promptly by very polite and friendly dinning room staff. Evening entertainment would have added value to our stay, a quiz being presented on one night only, a limiting factor may be that there is insufficient lounge accommodation should everyone decide to attend, many people attending the quiz having to sit outside the lounge area at dining room tables?
We would have no hesitation in staying at this hotel in the future and would recommend it to anyone seeking to take a very reasonably priced break in the beautiful countryside around Stratford upon Avon.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RayAd1405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheagm, General Manager at The Charlecote Pheasant Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2013

Thank you for the review of your recent stay, and we are pleased that you enjoyed the Hotel and services that we provide and also the local area. hope it wont be too long till you return Regards John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlecote
2.9 mi away
Mercure Warwickshire Walton Hall Hotel & Spa
Mercure Warwickshire Walton Hall...
#1 of 1 in Wellesbourne Hastings
2,811 reviews
2.5 mi away
Stratford Limes Hotel
Stratford Limes Hotel
#1 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
912 reviews
4.0 mi away
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shak...
#13 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Ettington Chase Hotel
Ettington Chase Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ettington
1,567 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hilton Warwick / Stratford-upon-Avon
2.4 mi away
Stratford Manor Hotel
Stratford Manor Hotel
#11 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Charlecote Pheasant Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Charlecote Pheasant Hotel

Address: Nr Stratford-Upon-Avon, Charlecote CV35 9EW, England (Formerly Coast & Country Charlecote Pheasant Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Charlecote
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Charlecote
Price Range: £46 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Charlecote Pheasant Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful country house hotel set in the delightful village of Charlecote, opposite the village church, historic Charlecote House and Deer Park. Those wishing to adventure a little further, The Charlecote Pheasant is just minutes from the historic towns of Stratford upon Avon, Warwick and Leamington Spa. The hotel offers charm and character combined with fantastic new facilities. The Charlecote Pheasant has 69 bedrooms with some beautifully appointed superior and premier rooms.The Charlecote Restaurant with its original solid beams and other features adds to the overall character to offer an informal dining experience. The hotel Bar and Lounge offers a relaxing retreat to read or enjoy an afternoon tea. The Hotel has 4 acres of landscaped grounds to provide a lovely rural feel, sit out in and enjoy a refreshing drink. For the more active there is a tennis court. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, HotelsClick, LateRooms and Cancelon so you can book your The Charlecote Pheasant Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Charlecote Pheasant
Charlecote Pheasant Hotel
The Charlecote Pheasant Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing