We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4 Day Break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Charlecote Pheasant Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Charlecote
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“4 Day Break”
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Excellent value for money, plenty of choice of food, served by very friendly courteous staff. Rooms very clean. Bus stop outside hotel, for a trip to Stratford or Leamington Spa. National trust property opposite the hotel, well worth a look.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chocoholic49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheagm, General Manager at The Charlecote Pheasant Hotel, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Many thanks for great review of your recent stay, I shall pass on all your wonderful comments to the rest of the Team, We hope it weont be too long till you return Kind regards John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

806 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    325
    280
    117
    48
    36
See reviews for
110
478
29
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (245)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2014

We stayed here for a friends wedding, also held at the hotel. The wedding was amazing by the way but this review is solely for the room and restaurant and not the wedding service they supply. After shelling out more than we usually pay for a hotel we were expecting something a little special. What we found was a rather average experience, The walls were too thin, and could hear the conversations of the room next door.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gongoozled W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheagm, General Manager at The Charlecote Pheasant Hotel, responded to this review, 26 January 2014
Thank you for the review of your Stay last August ! We are glad that you enjoyed the wedding and the service, and food which we supplied. We are dissapointed that you didn't enjoy your stay in your bedroom or The Restaurant Service. With regards to your comment regarding the price we have a special rate of £120 per room Bed and Breakfast for Wedding Guests, that £60 per person in Summer Season which is very competitively priced , and an excellent deal for our guest's
Regards John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbury, Berkshire
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

I always associated any Shearings' hotel with the older generation, small portions and cheaper fare but having just spent a weekend with my extended family for my Fathers eightieth birthday celebrations at this hotel I can't praise it enough. From the minute you check in to the time you leave you are made to feel welcome. I expected to be ordering from the a la carte menu but the half board dishes were wonderful. The food was plentiful and tasty with each dish being carefully presented by the obviously expert chef. Breakfast was also very tasty with a great choice of both cooked and cold food. The room was modern, very clean and comfortable, ideal for a weekend in the country. The staff were so friendly and professional and I must thank the restaurant manager for his efforts in making this a memorable time for my father. This a hotel I will certainly return to in the summer when my wife and I go back to Stratford to use our Shakespeare vouchers. Once again, thank you Pheasant for a lovely stay!

Room Tip: We stayed in the 'Farmhouse' Rooms very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheagm, General Manager at The Charlecote Pheasant Hotel, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Many thanks for your kind review, I shall pass on all your wonderful commentrs to the team. We are so happy that you and your family had a great weekend to celebrate your Grand Fathers Special Birthday, and we hope to welcome you back in the Summer. Kind regards John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

We stayed at the Charlecote Pheasant for New Years eve and attended the New Years eve party. All the staff were very welcoming and the accommodation was first class. The breakfast and evening meal were of a high standard. The hotel is ideally situated near to Stratford on Avon and close to the M40 motorway but also in the heart of the Warwickshire countryside.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Keith N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheagm, General Manager at The Charlecote Pheasant Hotel, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Thank you for the review of your Stay with us, We are all so pleased that you enjoyed celebrating New Year at the Charlecote Pheasant ,and hope to see you again soon. Kind regards John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2013

We stayed here for one night booked at short notice. Given the mixed reviews I wasn't sure what to expect: however we were very happy with out stay. Friendly staff, good size comfortable room, comfortable beds, decent size, soft towels, easy parking. Breakfast service was very quick, friendly and efficient and the food was good. Check out time not till 11.00am on Sat am. Excellent value for money.

There is a bus to Stratford or Warwick/Coventry from just outside the hotel if you have had enough of driving/are going out for the evening (last bus back leaves Stratford 23.27 so a good service). It would be great if the hotel kept copies of the bus timetable for visitors and maybe familiarised themselves with the times. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PanBei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheagm, General Manager at The Charlecote Pheasant Hotel, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Thank you for your review, we are so pleased that you enjoyed your holiday with us and I shall certainly make sure that all the team are aware of your great comments
regards John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2013

We have just spent 4 nights at the hotel. We had read the reviews on trip advisor and were concerned as to what we would be offered having booked two single rooms. We were delighted with our room. Two 3'6" beds, not in the main house. The room was delightful, comfortable and welcoming. The staff were attentive and the food - compliments to the chef! Delicious, beautifully presented. Most welcoming and relaxing. We will recommend and return.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheagm, General Manager at The Charlecote Pheasant Hotel, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Thank you for the review of you holiday at The Charlecote, We are so pleased that you enjoyed your time with us and I shall pass on all your nice comments to the team. regards John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
south yorkshire
Level Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2013

We visited the hotel last week with Shearings and had an excellent stay. It exceeded our expectations. Room was very large, bright and comfortable with nice bathroom. The food choice was good and the food was well presented. The staff at the hotel are all so friendly and efficient. The hotel is in a lovely little village very near Stratford upon Avon and also close to Warwick, Evesham, and Royal Leamington Spa. There is a bus service outside. My wife and I will be happy to return and we recommend the hotel to others.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank davidSouthYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheagm, General Manager at The Charlecote Pheasant Hotel, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Thank you for your review, it's nice to read that you enjoyed not only all the services of the Hotel but also all the local Attractions, we are very fortunate to be situated in such a great location
I shall make sure that all the team are aware of your kind comments. Regards John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlecote
2.9 mi away
Mercure Warwickshire Walton Hall Hotel & Spa
Mercure Warwickshire Walton Hall...
#1 of 1 in Wellesbourne Hastings
2,676 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
#7 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,847 reviews
2.5 mi away
Stratford Limes Hotel
Stratford Limes Hotel
#1 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Ettington Chase Hotel
Ettington Chase Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ettington
1,425 reviews
2.4 mi away
Stratford Manor Hotel
Stratford Manor Hotel
#11 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,380 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#5 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,034 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Charlecote Pheasant Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Charlecote Pheasant Hotel

Property: The Charlecote Pheasant Hotel
Address: Nr Stratford-Upon-Avon, Charlecote CV35 9EW, England (Formerly Coast & Country Charlecote Pheasant Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Charlecote
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Charlecote
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Charlecote Pheasant Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful country house hotel set in the delightful village of Charlecote, opposite the village church, historic Charlecote House and Deer Park. Those wishing to adventure a little further, The Charlecote Pheasant is just minutes from the historic towns of Stratford upon Avon, Warwick and Leamington Spa. The hotel offers charm and character combined with fantastic new facilities. The Charlecote Pheasant has 69 bedrooms with some beautifully appointed superior and premier rooms.The Charlecote Restaurant with its original solid beams and other features adds to the overall character to offer an informal dining experience. The hotel Bar and Lounge offers a relaxing retreat to read or enjoy an afternoon tea. The Hotel has 4 acres of landscaped grounds to provide a lovely rural feel, sit out in and enjoy a refreshing drink. For the more active there is a tennis court. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your The Charlecote Pheasant Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Charlecote Pheasant
Charlecote Pheasant Hotel
The Charlecote Pheasant Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing