We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good meal and room in an excellent location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Charlecote Pheasant Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Charlecote
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Galston
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A good meal and room in an excellent location”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Thank you Charlecote Pheasant for a pleasant stay and an excellent meal, and at a price that compares well with the ubiquitous travel hotels. The hotel is opposite Charlecote Park, the alleged spot where Shakespeare was caught poaching and the reason he went to London. A nice church opposite with some interesting tombs of the local knights. Best of all though a comfy room and an excellent a la carte meal. Good customer service as well. A few niggles, broken light fitting in the room, and, bizarrely, to get drinks with the meal, meant a trip to the bar each time. That is a first for me. Recommended for a quiet stay, and, if a la carte, at least, a good meal.

Room Tip: If disabled, there appear to be rooms where parking is literally at the door. No lift in main reside...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gordonxwalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheagm, General Manager at The Charlecote Pheasant Hotel, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Many thanks for your kind comments regarding your recent stay, we are so pleased that you enjoyed your time with us and visiting all the local attractions, we hope it wont be too long till you return. Kind regards John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

815 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    329
    282
    119
    49
    36
See reviews for
111
485
29
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (251)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

About 4 miles away from Stratford Upon Avon, this hotel located in a quiet village. When I booked the rooms (I booked the superior rooms); based on the price I wasn't expecting anything more than an average hotel. This was anything but ordinary! The quiet village is idyllic for a morning/evening stroll with the family. The hotel has an excellent restaurant and the breakfast is 'very' good. I would highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JuryDuty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheagm, General Manager at The Charlecote Pheasant Hotel, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Thank you for the review of your weekend stay with us, I shall pass on all your kind comments tothe team and hope that it wont be too long till you return. Kind regards John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Having booked rooms for 20 adults and three children at the hotel for the May Day weekend to celebrate my wife's 65th birthday with family and friends, I'm pleased to say the weekend turned out perfect and the sun shone throughout!
I had no reports of any problems with rooms allocated and the guests who upgraded seemed more than happy with their accommodation.
Staff couldn't have been more helpful in helping with the dining arrangements for our guests and facilitating our birthday dinner.
Many thanks to you all and hope to see you in the future.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PGK2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheagm, General Manager at The Charlecote Pheasant Hotel, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Thank you for the review of your recent stay to celebrate your Wife's birthday we are so pleased that you and your family and friends all had a great time, and I shall pass on your kind comments to all the team. Kind regards John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keswick, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

This is a lovely hotel. Unfortunately I only stayed on a short stop-over but I found everything to be as it should be. A friendly team, clean and comfortable room, good selection of bar drinks and meals then the enxt day I had a wonderful breakfast.

Keep up the good work.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DerwentwaterGM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheagm, General Manager at The Charlecote Pheasant Hotel, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Many thanks for your very kind comments, which I shall ensure that all the team are aware hopefully you will stay longer on your next visit Regards John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellesbourne Hastings, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

me and my dad and brother in-law went for a quite drink down the charlecote pheasant from the
village wellesbourne about 2 miles from the hotel as it was hot weather we sat out side with are first drink on the decking there was a wedding on in the room opposite from were we were sat and we got tolled to drink up and leave for no reason what so ever the staff that asked us to leave were very Rudd. we will not be visiting the charlecote pheasant again I DO NOT recommend this hotel.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank ANDY W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheagm, General Manager at The Charlecote Pheasant Hotel, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
With regards to your comments , firstly our Bar Manager asked you politely to finsh your drink as one of your party was barred from the Hotel, If you ask your Brother the reasons he was barred I think you will agree with our decsion !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 6 Contributor
213 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Hotel has a number of buildings and is located about five miles from Stratford Upon Avon. It has a garden centre next door and there are some nice gardens and a country house to look around, if that is your thing

The hotel is mostly occupied by the elderly. The room are OK

Only one person serving at the bar, and with a wedding going on, so over 30 mins to wait for a drink

Wifi, a bit hit and miss

Food Ok for a 3 star hotel

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ian t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheagm, General Manager at The Charlecote Pheasant Hotel, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Many thanks for your review off your weekend stay, on a whole it is pleasing to read that you enjoyed your stay and especially the location. I am sorry that the Bar service was slow on the Saturday, I shall look into this , and again my apologies. Kind regards John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We stayed at the Charlecote Pheasant in April, we upgraded and had a lovely room in The Farmhouse. It was spotlessly clean, we had a king sized bed which was extremely comfortable, and a beautiful view looking over the deer park. We had lunch there on two days and the menu was extensive, and the food beautifully presented. The evening meals were also very good, and we had no complaints at all. We found the staff were very friendly and helpful. We would definitely be returning!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patriciar186346
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheagm, General Manager at The Charlecote Pheasant Hotel, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Thank you for the review of your stay in April, We are glad you enjoyed your stay and especially the Upgraded room in the Farmhouse, these are very popular. Hope it wont be too long till you return. Regards John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlecote
2.9 mi away
Mercure Warwickshire Walton Hall Hotel & Spa
Mercure Warwickshire Walton Hall...
#1 of 1 in Wellesbourne Hastings
2,702 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
#7 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,867 reviews
5.8 mi away
Ettington Park Hotel
Ettington Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Alderminster
1,457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Ettington Chase Hotel
Ettington Chase Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ettington
1,448 reviews
2.5 mi away
Stratford Limes Hotel
Stratford Limes Hotel
#1 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
861 reviews
5.1 mi away
Mallory Court Hotel
Mallory Court Hotel
#2 of 16 in Leamington Spa
709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Charlecote Pheasant Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Charlecote Pheasant Hotel

Property: The Charlecote Pheasant Hotel
Address: Nr Stratford-Upon-Avon, Charlecote CV35 9EW, England (Formerly Coast & Country Charlecote Pheasant Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Charlecote
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Charlecote
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Charlecote Pheasant Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful country house hotel set in the delightful village of Charlecote, opposite the village church, historic Charlecote House and Deer Park. Those wishing to adventure a little further, The Charlecote Pheasant is just minutes from the historic towns of Stratford upon Avon, Warwick and Leamington Spa. The hotel offers charm and character combined with fantastic new facilities. The Charlecote Pheasant has 69 bedrooms with some beautifully appointed superior and premier rooms.The Charlecote Restaurant with its original solid beams and other features adds to the overall character to offer an informal dining experience. The hotel Bar and Lounge offers a relaxing retreat to read or enjoy an afternoon tea. The Hotel has 4 acres of landscaped grounds to provide a lovely rural feel, sit out in and enjoy a refreshing drink. For the more active there is a tennis court. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your The Charlecote Pheasant Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Charlecote Pheasant
Charlecote Pheasant Hotel
The Charlecote Pheasant Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing