We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Charlecote Pheasant Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Charlecote
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good value for money”
Reviewed 27 June 2014

This hotel offered excellent value for money on the day we were there, however, have tried booking since and the price is more than double!
Room was excellent, spacious, bright and very clean. Good TV with very clear reception. Comfortable bed, slept really well.
The only thing that let this hotel down was the breakfast, very disappointing.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank charles s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheagm, General Manager at The Charlecote Pheasant Hotel, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Thanks for leaving a review of your recent stay, and we are glad that you enjoyed your room, with regards the price of the room this does change, depending on season etc, it is always worth giving the team a phone to check for the latest offers. I am sorry that you found th e Breakfast dissapointing. Regards John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

806 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    325
    280
    117
    48
    36
See reviews for
110
478
29
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (245)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
wigan
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

We have just stayed at the hotel for one night and were very impressed, we stayed with our 2 small children and the hotel staff were fantastic with them, we had a lovely room and dinner and breakfast were very good. We will be back for longer than a night next time, the town is so quaint and we are gutted we didn't get to see more of it. Thanks to john and all the staff for looking after us, see you again soon.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank spongebob87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheagm, General Manager at The Charlecote Pheasant Hotel, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Many thanks for your Kind review of your 1 night stay , and we are glad that you and the children enjoyed your selves ,and hope that you get to stasy longer the night time as there is so much to see and do in th surrounding areas. Kind regards John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
88 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

Check-in was very efficient and we were in out room within minutes. The great quality wifi throughout the hotel is a winner. The rooms are spacious and very comfortable. Great shower too. We were breakfast and evening meal board and were pleased every meal. There are plenty of staff to make sure that we weren't waiting long before courses. Anna in the restaurant is a superstar, she is Always looking out for the customers needs and smiling all the time. The hotel is next door to a National Trust country park and we took advantage of the lovely weather to go for riverside walks. Beautiful. Thanks for looking after us.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mac070668
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheagm, General Manager at The Charlecote Pheasant Hotel, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Many thanks for writing such a glowing review of your recent stay here at The Charlecote Pheasant, I Shall make sure that all the team are aware of your great comments, and Anna has asked me to pass on her thanks. Im glad you took full advantage of our excellent setting and enjoyed the Walks and NT Charlecote Park. We hope it wont be too long till you return

Kind regards John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

We have just returned from a 1 night stay at The Charlecote and are still stunned by what we had to endure during our stay;
1) ordering a Pimms in the bar and the waiter who was not English not knowing how to make one, so he asked another man who was cleaning the tables who instructed the waiter to go to the kitchen for strawberries, orange and cucumber and then moaned at me that he's useless and they need English speaking people to work there cos he was fed up with it (very professional)
2) Our room looked as if it had not been thoroughly cleaned in months (photos attached to prove my point)
3) By far the biggest gripe of all.......BREAKFAST.....disgusting! Unfortunately we had the same waiter who served us in the bar the previous day and he still acted as if he didn't even understand what he should be doing.After 15mins he came and asked for our drinks preference and gave us the choice of White or brown or mixed toast and then bought us the complete opposite to what we ordered, we then waited 20mins for someone to take our main order, the couple next door were also still waiting, in the meantime the people on the table opposite walked out in disgust. I approached the man in charge that morning and just asked politely if we could have some service and he was extremely rude, telling me I would have to wait, the manner in which he spoke to me made the couple on the next table say how disgusted they were with his attitude. If you like watered down orange juice, pale sausages and extremely poor quality produce then by all means go
4) Even the outdoor swimming pool has been left to run itself down, it is now a cornered off over grown mess.
Please don't be fooled by cheap prices, in the end you do actually get what you pay for and I'm afraid this place is as cheap as chips!!!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank shazzylee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheagm, General Manager at The Charlecote Pheasant Hotel, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Thank you for your review of your recent stay at the Charlecote, firstly may I apologise that there was mould in the silicon of the shower and dust in your bedroom this is not the standard that we have at The Charlecote and I have spoken to the Head housekeeper on why this was overlooked and it has been rectified immediately, again our apologies. However I am most shocked and alarmed at your other comments regarding Staff and Service at Breakfast time, and at the Bar as we had no other comments or complaints from that weekend and certainly no contact from yourself? I shall be more than happy to discuss your stay should you wish to contact me direct at the Hotel.
Regards John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We went away for two nights and found this hotel on laterooms.com, The room we got for the price we paid was brilliant. A four poster bed in a beautifully decorated room and a bathroom with two baths next to each other was a taste of luxury I thoroughly enjoyed. The staff were friendly and welcoming. There are only a few things I would pick up on, the carpet in our room was a little bit worse for wear and the curtains showed their age. Some of the lights in our room didn't work either and we found the restaurant to be a little bit overpriced for what we received and the general appearance of the room. Overall the hotel impressed us and we enjoyed our stay and I would recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: The exec room was amazing. The bathroom in particular impressed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shaeuk3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheagm, General Manager at The Charlecote Pheasant Hotel, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Many thanks for the review of your recent 2 night stay, I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your Premier room, these are very popular rooms. I shall look into your comments regarding the bedroom carpet, we offer a Table D Hote Menu as well as an A la Carte selection and these are both very competitively priced I some sorry that you did not feel that they were value for money. It was nice to read that you shall return and I look forward to welcoming you back
Kind regards John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Longfield
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

This was a family weekend break involving cousins from the Barnaby 'crew'. We had a great weekend break at The Charlecote Pheasant Hotel, with rooms which were close to each other and accommodated a single traveller for a very small supplement - hard to come by. All the staff were very pleasant and helpful but special mention should be made of Daniel, the restaurant manager who went out of his wat to make sure we got the most from our stay.

Room Tip: If you don't do 'stairs', let the management know as some rooms are upstairs and there i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheagm, General Manager at The Charlecote Pheasant Hotel, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Thank you for the review of your recent weekend stay with us, it is great to read that you, and all your family had a great time ,and I shall certainly pass on your kind comments to all the Team and especially Daniel , hope it wont be too long till you return. Kind regards John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Stayed overnight when in the area and glad we did. Booked an executive room in a separate building that was very quiet. The room was very large but the carpet was in poor condition with stains and signs of poor quality cleaning. The duvet cover had a hole and 6" long tear in it which should have been noticed.
Despite that, the room was airy and open. We did not dine there but the breakfast was excellent - the full English was well presented and the ingredients first class.
We would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Go for an executive room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GraemeWright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheagm, General Manager at The Charlecote Pheasant Hotel, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Many thanks for the review of your stay with us, on a whole I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay, and the upgraded room. I shall look into your comments regarding the Duvet Cover and also the Carpet Stains, thanks again and I look forward to welcoming you back
Kind regards John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlecote
2.9 mi away
Mercure Warwickshire Walton Hall Hotel & Spa
Mercure Warwickshire Walton Hall...
#1 of 1 in Wellesbourne Hastings
2,676 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
#7 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,847 reviews
2.5 mi away
Stratford Limes Hotel
Stratford Limes Hotel
#1 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Ettington Chase Hotel
Ettington Chase Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ettington
1,425 reviews
2.4 mi away
Stratford Manor Hotel
Stratford Manor Hotel
#11 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,380 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#5 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,035 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Charlecote Pheasant Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Charlecote Pheasant Hotel

Property: The Charlecote Pheasant Hotel
Address: Nr Stratford-Upon-Avon, Charlecote CV35 9EW, England (Formerly Coast & Country Charlecote Pheasant Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Charlecote
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Charlecote
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Charlecote Pheasant Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful country house hotel set in the delightful village of Charlecote, opposite the village church, historic Charlecote House and Deer Park. Those wishing to adventure a little further, The Charlecote Pheasant is just minutes from the historic towns of Stratford upon Avon, Warwick and Leamington Spa. The hotel offers charm and character combined with fantastic new facilities. The Charlecote Pheasant has 69 bedrooms with some beautifully appointed superior and premier rooms.The Charlecote Restaurant with its original solid beams and other features adds to the overall character to offer an informal dining experience. The hotel Bar and Lounge offers a relaxing retreat to read or enjoy an afternoon tea. The Hotel has 4 acres of landscaped grounds to provide a lovely rural feel, sit out in and enjoy a refreshing drink. For the more active there is a tennis court. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Odigeo and Cancelon so you can book your The Charlecote Pheasant Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Charlecote Pheasant
Charlecote Pheasant Hotel
The Charlecote Pheasant Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing