We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Evening Meal”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Charlecote Pheasant Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Charlecote
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Having driven past during the day we decided to try the food that evening,on arrival and seeing the dining room full we thought this must be good,only to be told that it was a coaching hotel!,but when we were shown the menu thought O.K as we had driven quite a long way,give it a try.
Let's say the food was average nothing really to complain about.I will mention how very well a member of staff handled a VERY difficult guest who could not find anything on the menu to please her,even when the waiter said he would arrange to have anything she wanted served for her,she decided on a sandwich,then complained that the bread, which we could see was "normal" bread was to thick!! even then he continued to please her. WELL DONE.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank Orbslos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheagm, General Manager at The Charlecote Pheasant Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

thank you for your review of your evening Meal her e at the CHarlecote and your very kind comments regarding Matthew dealing with a resident , Customer Care is paramount to the success of our Business, and it is nice to read that You thought Matthew dealt with this very well
Kind regards John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (873)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

468 - 474 of 873 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2014

we came for a four day break hotel in a lovely area hotel very nice staff very pleasant food not very good especial if you order a special diet as my wife had to have nothing was done as ordered rooms nice and comfortable overall a nice break and a nice place to travel around if you have a car
o

Room Tip: corner room on ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank trevor b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheagm, General Manager at The Charlecote Pheasant Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Many thanks for your review Im glad that you enjoyed your stay, And I shall look into the comments regarding your wifes special Dietary needs, we always do our utmost to help and accomodate any of our guests on a special diet, and I apologise if this was not the case on your Visit. Regards John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We booked a 4 night half-board break here with Shearing's self-drive holidays. On arrival we were told we had been upgraded to a superior room. This was a good size with a large, extremely comfortable bed, and a good size bathroom. The restaurant was attractive and well laid out. The food was excellent, with plenty of choice on the Table d'Hote menu. The service too was excellent and staff were friendly and courteous.
Breakfast was from 8-10am. I felt this was under-staffed and once or twice we had to wait too long for service. There was plenty of choice however and the food was cooked well - not greasy!
This hotel is in the countryside, with a lovely park opposite. On our first evening we took a 5 mile walk in the surrounding area.
I would say you need a car to make the most of a holiday here. There was no entertainment in the hotel although they did put on a quiz one evening - a bottle of champagne for the winning team.
Two things stop me giving it an excellent rating - service at breakfast and the bathroom floor could have been cleaner.
I would thoroughly recommend this hotel - excellent value for money!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Audrey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheagm, General Manager at The Charlecote Pheasant Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Many thanks for your Great review of your recent Stay, it is very nicve to read that you enjoyed all the services of the Hotel, and I shall pass on all your kind comments to the team, hope it wont be too long till you return. Kind regards John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

We came to this hotel on a five day break on a coach. The coach trips were good but no evening entertainment at the hotel and no swimming pool or health club therefore if you weren't in a car to travel around the area there wasn't much to do at night only drink and watch TV (only basic freeview channels though). The hotel room was clean and tidy and the dining area was very nice. We thought there might of been leaflets advertising local attractions in the reception area so we could plan our day but there wasn't but as I say we were on a coach trip so found out info from the coach driver and off the net This hotel was in a good spot for days out to Stratford and the Cotswolds area and there was a very nice place opposite the hotel like an old manor house with beautiful gardens and deer which was worth a visit.. We paid extra for the executive room but don't really know if it was any better than the basic standard rooms.

Room Tip: Executive room was really nice, good bathroom with step in shower. Bed was comfortable and room well...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Shaza391
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheagm, General Manager at The Charlecote Pheasant Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Thank you for your review of your recent Stay at Charlecote, Im glad that you enjoyed your time withus and your Premier room, we are indeed in a great location for visiting the local area and the Cotswold, we hope it wont be too long till you return. Kind regards John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Set in the countryside, the staff were very helpful, and the room was a good size with old beams, very comfortable bed and a good size bathroom.too. The restaurant service was very good and so was the food, and very good value.

My only 2 issues would be, there was no pen in the room, and that breakfast did not start until 8am,

There is a lovely old church across the road, and Charlecote Park is a short walk away.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank We_Love_Sun_Days
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheagm, General Manager at The Charlecote Pheasant Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Many thanks for the review of your recent stay, I am glad that you enjoyed your visit here at Charlecote, I apologise that thre as no pen in your room this has been an oversight by our Housekeeping staff ,and should have been in your room on your Arrival. We do offer a continental breakfast for our guest if 8am is to late for them. Regards John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

I was in a quandary before booking this hotel, some reviews were great others completely the opposite, how can the same hotel draw such contrasting comments! So we approached with a view to the amount we had paid for our 4 night break, half board for less than B & B prices, but we do still have standards we expect to be fulfilled, we took the basic package deciding not to upgrade. We had room 5 in the farmhouse and it was a lovely room, I had requested a room with lift access due to mobility problems so this ground floor room was great in that respect. It was overlooking the garden area at the back and even though there was a road nearby we didn't hear any road noise, and we had the window open all the time even at night as we had brilliant weather. Bathroom was nice although as someone else has said the glass screen does make it hard to get in and out when you are less able, but at least you don't get grabbed by a soggy shower curtain all the time, and the grab handle is just at a position where you want to stand while showering, but at least it had one. Some have been critical of the meals but we found them to be great, table d'hôte had good choice, portion sizes were reasonable and although the a la carte was expensive you got a reduction on each course if substituting for a table d'hôte course. Breakfast was a reasonable affair and substitution and making your own combination was allowed so you could have exactly what you wanted, whilst the cereal selection included porridge and as much toast and coffee/tea as needed what I would say is "don't be shy at coming forward" and asking for more, the requests were always met with a smile. (And we were told to use the back entrance into the restaurant making the journey from room to restaurant so much easier for me). Staff couldn't have done more, from the "good mornings" from the room servicing staff when you met in corridors, to the restaurant staff who were smiling and helpful, and the front desk staff who were lovely, and don't forget to ask Daniel the restaurant manager for day out ideas if you are self drive, he's a good source! We found the hotel using the directions in our booking email and it couldn't have been easier, well signposted and easy to find. The hotel is well placed for days out in both directions, Banbury, Leamington Spa (which both have good shop mobility schemes if needed), Chipping Norton has a market and just driving through the Cotswolds was a real pleasure. All in all I would definitely recommend to anyone and hopefully will return one day.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank SuzyJ1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheagm, General Manager at The Charlecote Pheasant Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Wow what a great review of your recent stay, It great to read that you enjoyed all the that the hotel has to offer and got to visit all the local attractions, I shall pass on all your kind comments to the team, and hope that it wont be too long till you return. Kind regards John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We had our wedding reception here earlier this year. The service was outstanding. The staff were friendly and helpful but not in your face. Even planning the wedding the staff listened to what we wanted and seemed to go the extra mile. They even gave us our own private area for breakfast the next morning just for the wedding guests. The hotel rooms were big and comfortable and very clean. 10 out of 10. Will be going back to celebrate our anniversary/

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Heidi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheagm, General Manager at The Charlecote Pheasant Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Hi Heidi, Many thanks for your great review of you Wedding at The Charlecote, Debbie Mathias and Mathew are all delighted that you were both pleased with the Service you received. We wish you both well for the future and look forward to welcoming you back on your Anniversary. Kind regards John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlecote
3.1 mi away
Mercure Warwickshire Walton Hall Hotel & Spa
Mercure Warwickshire Walton Hall...
#1 of 1 in Wellesbourne Hastings
2,822 reviews
2.5 mi away
Stratford Limes Hotel
Stratford Limes Hotel
#1 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
917 reviews
4 mi away
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shak...
#13 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Ettington Chase Hotel
Ettington Chase Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ettington
1,576 reviews
5.8 mi away
Ettington Park Hotel
Ettington Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Alderminster
1,551 reviews
3.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
#9 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Charlecote Pheasant Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Charlecote Pheasant Hotel

Address: Nr Stratford-Upon-Avon, Charlecote CV35 9EW, England (Formerly Coast & Country Charlecote Pheasant Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Charlecote
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Charlecote
Price Range: £45 - £101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Charlecote Pheasant Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful country house hotel set in the delightful village of Charlecote, opposite the village church, historic Charlecote House and Deer Park. Those wishing to adventure a little further, The Charlecote Pheasant is just minutes from the historic towns of Stratford upon Avon, Warwick and Leamington Spa. The hotel offers charm and character combined with fantastic new facilities. The Charlecote Pheasant has 69 bedrooms with some beautifully appointed superior and premier rooms.The Charlecote Restaurant with its original solid beams and other features adds to the overall character to offer an informal dining experience. The hotel Bar and Lounge offers a relaxing retreat to read or enjoy an afternoon tea. The Hotel has 4 acres of landscaped grounds to provide a lovely rural feel, sit out in and enjoy a refreshing drink. For the more active there is a tennis court. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, LateRooms and Ebookers so you can book your The Charlecote Pheasant Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Charlecote Pheasant
Charlecote Pheasant Hotel
The Charlecote Pheasant Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing