We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Too slow!!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Innkeeper's Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Innkeeper's Lodge
Ranked #1 of 2 Dunchurch B&B and Inns
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Too slow!!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

Popped into the Dun Cow for what we thought would be a quick lunch but unfortunately it was not. We appreciate it was Mother's day weekend but clearly they didn't realise and hadn't arranged the correct staffing levels or maybe they did and the incorrect staff were working. Don't think I'll be going back.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
We are sorry that you had a disappointing visit to The Dun Cow, and we do appreciate you taking the time to give us your feedback. Innkeeper's Lodge Rugby.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    51
    39
    15
    15
See reviews for
35
49
8
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014

Stayed with 6 other mums and their 6 'Rugby School Netball National Tournament girls'. 14 in the group. Booked in quickly by helpful young man who was aware of the fragmented arrival of our party. Lodge is across the cobbled courtyard from main building of The Dun Cow. Can come and go as you please. Rooms, cleanliness, bathrooms, comfort, quietness all good. Tissues, shower gel etc. nice touch.
Evening meal in restaurant- fragmented arrival of party was complicated but handled in a lovely relaxed fashion by the waitress. Food was good. Girls ate first while mums waited for the 'stragglers', this was no problem to staff. Full Breakfast for 14 at once was handled by the friendly staff admirably, especially as it was a lot to clear up (only 1 great waitress). Also fussy orders not a problem. Staff could not have been more accommodating-thanks to everyone! All mums happy with their rooms for the price paid. Good quality, value stay. (girls played Netball well!)

Room Tip: No complaints for any of the rooms (x 7) from our party. Very welcoming and felt relaxed for the dur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 41middlefield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
We are so pleased to hear that you found The Dun Cow, Innkeeper's Lodge Rugby a good place to stay, and we really appreciate you leaving positive feedback on Trip Advisor. We have replied to you personally as it is our aim to give every customer the very best experience possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorkshire england
Level Contributor
54 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

Amused at some of the negative reports. I found this place pleasant. Food was well presented and good and staff quite pleasant. Perhaps it's the old phrase if your polite to people , people will be polite to you.
Breakfast was typical inns keepers light breakfast . Excellent when you don't want a grease buster breakfast .
Room 17 and 12 was fine
(12 is a small single at the same price as a double )
Accommodation was across the yard which was a bit
Untidy .
Advice if booking a single
.book a double at same price
And get a bigger room

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank morrisonsofyork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
We are so pleased to hear that you found The Dun Cow, Innkeeper's Lodge Rugby a good place to stay, and we really appreciate you leaving positive feedback on Trip Advisor. We have replied to you personally as it is our aim to give every customer the very best experience possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macungie, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
177 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014

We spent 3 nights in Room 8, while family members were in other rooms. Our room seemed to be one of the smaller ones as there was room for a night table on only one side of the bed. The shower was a bit "snug", but everything worked, and we slept well all 3 nights we were there. The price was right, but try to get one of the larger rooms.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TR3B-1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge, responded to this review, 15 March 2014
Thank you for your review, we do appreciate that you have taken the time to share your comments following your recent visit to The Dun Cow, Innkeeper's Lodge Rugby .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stroud, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

We stayed hear on Sat 15th feb 2014. Check in was fast and effective. We where shown to our room wich was huge so we where very impressed and it ment our 1yr old could have a good crawl around.
We ate hear as you can imagen it was v busy but good service and v tasty food. Great value for money.
My hubby said the mens Loos where flooded so maybe this could have been sorted. I also had to pour water over the cigarette tray as it was on fire as it was to full! This may have just been over looked again.
Bed wasn't amazing comfy but ok. The windows at the front arnt amazing at sound proof and the traffic noise is a little annoying.
There was a long mirror on the wall that had come out on one side so was hanging on an angle but again that's just general little thing.
The bathroom was cold as there is no rad in there?! Shower hot tho so that makes up for it!
I was very angry and so was my husband that we where kept awake from 2-330am by the people coming back to their room and then kept going in and out of their room and had the tv on very loud. With a 1yr old I was not impressed. I suggests putting up some signs to make people think about this!
Breakfast was Lovley.
Fresh cooked breakfast is to order and is well worth it. Amazing bacon and sausages!! Staff very good with getting me warm milk for baby.
Check out very quick and easy.
Overall great stay but a couple of niggles that need to be addressed. Will defo go back tho.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mrsbrown1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Thank you very much for your recent review on Trip Advisor. We were very pleased to read that you had a positive time here with us at Innkeeper's Lodge Rugby. Our teams love to hear when they have done a good job and we have replied to you personally about your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport Gwent
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2014

The room was comfortable and cosy but there was a lot of noise from upstairs. The restaurant was busy, always a good sign midweek and the food was very good. Breakfast is a simple continental buffet with no hot food on offer.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TuckerDom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Thank you for your recent review, It was good of you to take the time to leave your feedback following your visit to The Dun Cow, Innkeeper's Lodge, Rugby .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rossendale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2014

I can't really fault the place. This was a Business related stay on 29th February and we had been on the road for 18 hours and just wanted to park, shower, eat and sleep...we just about managed 3 out of four! The place was so busy we had to wait on the carpark for over 40 minutes for a space (we have a van full of expensive equipment and parking out of our sight is not an option). We didn't eat here as it was just far too busy and, although the food looked really good we ate at Omar's across the road in peace and quiet. The rooms (in a separate part of the building across a courtyard away from the noise) are great though, very clean and comfortable with a hot shower that actually works!! The staff are very attentive too and make you feel at home immediately on arrival. All in all a good place to stay for the money, I just wish it wasn't so busy during my stay but it is obviously busy for a reason!?!? You will be hard pushed to find a better place anywhere for £65.00 a night..fact!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Craig W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
May we thank you for taking the time to give us some feedback, it is good to know that you found your visit to be a pleasurable experience, and we have replied to you personally.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunchurch
0.3 mi away
Dunchurch Park
Dunchurch Park
#1 of 2 in Dunchurch
3.5 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
4.1 mi away
Brownsover Hall Hotel
3.0 mi away
The Carlton Hotel
The Carlton Hotel
#8 of 13 in Rugby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Draycote Hotel
Draycote Hotel
#7 of 13 in Rugby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
4.0 mi away
Premier Inn Rugby North (Newbold) Hotel
5.3 mi away
Golden Lion Hotel & Inn
Golden Lion Hotel & Inn
#1 of 1 in Easenhall
4.5 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Innkeeper's Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Innkeeper's Lodge

Property: Innkeeper's Lodge
Address: | The Dun Cow, The Green, Dunchurch, Rugby CV22 6NJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Rugby > Dunchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Dunchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Innkeeper's Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you're looking for some country village charm, this attractive lodge has it by the bucket-load. Offering some of the most welcoming accommodation in Warwickshire, it's a beautiful place to sit back and relax. It's also an ideal base for visiting Coventry and Leamington Spa.The lodge has 16 comfy en-suite rooms and a cosy pub with a crackling log-fire. So you're in just the right spot to tuck into heart-warming, seasonal food and well-kept cask ales.With its village green, stocks and historic features, Dunchurch has a fascinating heritage - mainly due it being an important staging post for hundreds of years. Notable visitors include Guy Fawkes, Princess Victoria, the poet Longfellow, the highwayman Dick Turpin and Winston Churchill.Now a designated conservation area, it's close to several popular attractions. Lose yourself in Coombe Country Park, take a tour of the famous Rugby school - birthplace of the eponymous game - or explore the 10 managed acres of Ryton Organic Gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Innkeeper's Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Innkeeper's Lodge Dunchurch, Warwickshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing