We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fine if you need to stay in the area”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Innkeeper's Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Innkeeper's Lodge
Ranked #1 of 2 Dunchurch B&B and Inns
London
Level Contributor
95 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Fine if you need to stay in the area”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

I found this B&B to be absolutely fine, but not quite good enough for the price. We stayed in room 4, which unfortunately got all the passing guest traffic in the corridor. The room was clean but very old-fashioned (not in a quaint way), and the bed was so soft that I just ended up rolling into the middle all night! The floorboards couldn't be walked on without creaking heavily and waking us up in the middle of the night. English breakfast costs extra and I feel quite strongly that you should either offer a full breakfast or not, rather than charging extra to ensure the bill creeps up. The pub downstairs was nice with good food and a very lively atmosphere. Having said that, I would try to find somewhere else to stay if I came to this part of the world again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RLM1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
We were sorry to hear that you didn’t enjoy your stay with us, and we really appreciate the feedback you have given us. Innkeeper's Lodge Rugby, Dunchurch.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    51
    39
    15
    15
See reviews for
35
49
8
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Newport Gwent
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

My husband and I have just come back from staying for one night at the Dun Cow, I wish that we were able to of stayed longer. We booked the room last minute and cannot fault the service we received from the phone call I made to make the booking to when we left the next morning. We had the family room (Room 6) as that was the only room left and it was fab. It was lovely to be able to sit on the sofa and watch tv. The bed, although it was firm was very comfortable and the bathroom was very clean and well stocked - soap, tissues etc. There was also a menu in the room so we could decide what we wanted to eat before we went down. Very creaky floorboards but then it is an old building. We had a meal in the evening which was delicious and the breakfast was very nice too. Every member of staff that we came into contact with was very polite and friendly and the lady on duty at breakfast, I think her name was Diane, was very helpful when I asked for places to see in the area, especially as I didn't have a car. The Dun Cow is just opposite Guy Fawkes cottage and also Dunchurch Church - the whole village is beautiful.
The only point that I think that I must say is that we were in a room that was next to a very busy road. It didn't really bother us but it may to some people.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cob200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Thank you for your review, it is great to read that you enjoyed your visit to The Dun Cow, Innkeeper's Lodge Rugby, Dunchurch and I have shared your comments with all the team. We have replied to you personally and look forward to taking care of you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Machynlleth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

can't compliment the staff,cleanliness,food at the dun cow enough.as a party of 10 fishermen we were looked after from 1st to last night.table was reserved every night and the food was served promptly and hot.the waiting staff were very efficient,at the bar you were never had to wait long to be served considering how busy it was most nights.cleaniness of our rooms was very good also.all in all we were ten very happy fishermen going home after 5 nights of being looked after to a high standard.will be back in 2015.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hefin e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your visit to The Dun Cow, Innkeepers Lodge Rugby and we were delighted to read that you enjoyed your time with us. On behalf of all the team we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future and we have replied to you personally asking for a little more information.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

We stayed for two non-consecutive nights in May 2014. The staff were all really helpful and pleasant throughout. On arriving back for the second night, we didn't want to stay in room 16 again - it's quite small - and without fuss we were put into room 5, a lovely large space. On both days we ate lunch and thought the food was very good. Previous reviews report slow service, but despite both lunch times being very busy, our food arrived in good time and all other tables were being served with no problem. The bar and restaurant were well patronised throughout the day and when we returned in the evenings which made for a good atmosphere and pleasant place to stay. The rooms were clean and warm, although in one there was a slow draining shower - poor house keeping; who wants to stand in an ever rising swell of dirty water? However, the 'but' in the headline refers to the 'free' breakfast. The only thing free is a rather indifferent array of cereals, uninspiring sliced bread next to a rickety toaster, yogurts and a small bowl of sad looking fruit. If you want hot, cooked food, you have to pay extra for it. So, by the letter of the law, the breakfast if free, but I felt cheated. I think it's a con to advertise 'free' breakfast when it's only a small selection of bits. In the absence of ham, cheese and croissant etc, it's not even 'continental'. I can't be the first to feel real disappointment when the server at broke the news that the money paid in good faith didn't buy us a hot cooked breakfast. Despite this, we will return to stay here, it's a great place in many ways, I just want other travelers to be aware of the meaning of 'free'.

Room Tip: Ask for room 5!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank penny v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Thank you for your positive review following your recent visit. We are passionate about getting it right and your feedback will help us to achieve this aim. We really hope you will visit us again and we have sent you a personal reply. Innkeepers Lodge Rugby.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 245 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

mothers day in tatters, food returned three times as was cold went to bed with nothing but a wonder why Alex is an assistant manager, as cared more about setting up breakfast buffet than looking after the guest in the restaurant. If he had maybe the evening would have been a better result.
Steve the manager was called from his flat after Alex insulted us and had a slanging match in front of guests and raising his voice. Steve said would come to see us at breakfast to sort things but did not.
DAVE DAVE DAVE was great and looked after us trying to put thing right against the tide if wrongs could not fix the stay. He is a manager in his own right and maybe the place could be turned round under his control.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank CelticPeople1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
We are very sorry to hear that the visit you made to The Dun Cow, Innkeeper's Lodge Rugby was not as perfect as you would have liked. We want all our guests to be satisfied so we always welcome your feedback and we have replied to you personally about your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Dunchurch hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

Popped into the Dun Cow for what we thought would be a quick lunch but unfortunately it was not. We appreciate it was Mother's day weekend but clearly they didn't realise and hadn't arranged the correct staffing levels or maybe they did and the incorrect staff were working. Don't think I'll be going back.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
We are sorry that you had a disappointing visit to The Dun Cow, and we do appreciate you taking the time to give us your feedback. Innkeeper's Lodge Rugby.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014

Stayed with 6 other mums and their 6 'Rugby School Netball National Tournament girls'. 14 in the group. Booked in quickly by helpful young man who was aware of the fragmented arrival of our party. Lodge is across the cobbled courtyard from main building of The Dun Cow. Can come and go as you please. Rooms, cleanliness, bathrooms, comfort, quietness all good. Tissues, shower gel etc. nice touch.
Evening meal in restaurant- fragmented arrival of party was complicated but handled in a lovely relaxed fashion by the waitress. Food was good. Girls ate first while mums waited for the 'stragglers', this was no problem to staff. Full Breakfast for 14 at once was handled by the friendly staff admirably, especially as it was a lot to clear up (only 1 great waitress). Also fussy orders not a problem. Staff could not have been more accommodating-thanks to everyone! All mums happy with their rooms for the price paid. Good quality, value stay. (girls played Netball well!)

Room Tip: No complaints for any of the rooms (x 7) from our party. Very welcoming and felt relaxed for the dur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 41middlefield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
We are so pleased to hear that you found The Dun Cow, Innkeeper's Lodge Rugby a good place to stay, and we really appreciate you leaving positive feedback on Trip Advisor. We have replied to you personally as it is our aim to give every customer the very best experience possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunchurch
0.3 mi away
Dunchurch Park
Dunchurch Park
#1 of 2 in Dunchurch
3.5 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
1.7 mi away
Draycote Hotel
Draycote Hotel
#7 of 13 in Rugby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
4.1 mi away
Brownsover Hall Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Premier Inn Rugby North (Newbold) Hotel
3.0 mi away
The Carlton Hotel
The Carlton Hotel
#8 of 13 in Rugby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Rugby Hotel
The Rugby Hotel
#12 of 13 in Rugby
3.5 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Innkeeper's Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Innkeeper's Lodge

Property: Innkeeper's Lodge
Address: | The Dun Cow, The Green, Dunchurch, Rugby CV22 6NJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Rugby > Dunchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Dunchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Innkeeper's Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you're looking for some country village charm, this attractive lodge has it by the bucket-load. Offering some of the most welcoming accommodation in Warwickshire, it's a beautiful place to sit back and relax. It's also an ideal base for visiting Coventry and Leamington Spa.The lodge has 16 comfy en-suite rooms and a cosy pub with a crackling log-fire. So you're in just the right spot to tuck into heart-warming, seasonal food and well-kept cask ales.With its village green, stocks and historic features, Dunchurch has a fascinating heritage - mainly due it being an important staging post for hundreds of years. Notable visitors include Guy Fawkes, Princess Victoria, the poet Longfellow, the highwayman Dick Turpin and Winston Churchill.Now a designated conservation area, it's close to several popular attractions. Lose yourself in Coombe Country Park, take a tour of the famous Rugby school - birthplace of the eponymous game - or explore the 10 managed acres of Ryton Organic Gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Innkeeper's Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Innkeeper's Lodge Dunchurch, Warwickshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing