We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Service”
Review of Dunchurch Park

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dunchurch Park
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Dunchurch
Reviewed 31 January 2012

I've stayed here for business several times and every time the service has been excellent. A lot of the rooms are.separated from the main building which means a cold walk across the yard for breakfast, however this never deters me from returning.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fitzimus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (558)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

458 - 464 of 558 reviews

Reviewed 17 January 2012

The Hotel is old and lovely but we stayed in the old coach house were I think the Victorian staff would of been. The room was long in shape but warm and clean with a double bed at one end. The TV was at the other end of the room so this made it diifucult to read the TV guide on the screen. There was not a lot of space for clothes in drawers and only a small hanging area for items. We had a peaceful nights rest in a nice warm room and a nice shower the next morning. At breakfast on the first day the breakfast room was lovely with a wonderful sunny view. An old fire place and a full English served to us after cereals. The next morning we had breakfast in the Great Hall which was also lovely this was a buffet we plenty of food available after cereals. For the cost of £49 a night it was well worth the price and we really enjoyed ourselves.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mandyhall1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2012

Booked the hotel on Late Rooms with an exceptional offer of £40 B&B for 2 persons - better value than nearby Travelodges and Premier Inns, and much more character!

Very difficult to find the hotel on a dark, wet and windy night, and in such weather conditions, the fact that all the room blocks are away from the main house isn't so convenient. Our room was in a block with internal courtyard, and was a good size - slightly in need of updating, but essentially warm and comfortable with all the facilities needed. Outside lighting could be better, and there was a large puddle across the path where the flagstones had broken and subsided.

Being in its own grounds , well away from public roads, you can be assured a good night's sleep. Evening meals are available in the bar, and the quality of food was good. The bar had no cask ales, but otherwise well stocked.Staff were pleasant and helpful. Breakfast was served in the main house, in the former lounge, overlooking the extensive and attractive gardens, with a log fire burning in the fireplace. Very good hot & cold buffet available.

This is not a luxury hotel, but does offer exceptional value, a great location, and friendly service. We were keen to learn more of the history of the house, but nothing was available - perhaps management could look into this, as I'm sure many guests would want to know more about this imposing property.. We would readily stay again, hopefully in less blustery weather!.

Room Tip: The courtyard block has a little more character than the other one
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sunman239
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2011

Booked for one night B&B as have family in Rugby to visit. Room was clean and very comfortable, staff polite, friendly and helpful and breakfast very good. Would definitely recommend and hope to return in the spring/summer and take full advantage of the magnificent grounds surrounding this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2011

Fantastic service and incredibly beautiful grounds. Staff cant do enough for you, very friendly.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pickle-popsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2011

Stayed here last weekend and attended a dinner and dance. Lovely grounds. Had a great evening then retired to the room which was clean and had everything i need from a hotel room, The gym was handy the following morning to clear my head and the breakfast was fit for a king.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank russ275
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 7 December 2011

Good Afternoon

Thank you for taking the time to write your review following your recent stay here at Dunchurch Park. I was delighted to hear that you had a thoroughly enjoyable evening and that the gym proved useful in aiding your recovery prior to breakfast !

Kind regards

Ron Terry
Group Operations Director
Signature Hotel group

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2011

We have just spent two nights at the hotel, when in the area for a family funeral.

Our first impression as we turned into the drive was 'it's lovely', although better indications at the top of the drive showing the way to Reception would have been useful. Reception itself was fine, no waiting and a pleasant receptionist. I noticed the thoughtfulness of providing small bowls of sweets and apples in this area, also large umbrellas in the foyer provided for guests when needed to walk to the Courtyard Suite on rainy days. I like these touches. The room itself was just as described and we were quite happy with it - until early the following morning! At 2.30am, I woke up and got out of bed needing to go to the bathroom. I did not put on the light, opened the bathroom door and stepped straight into a pool of very cold water! I thought at first it must be a lot of condensation. Seated on the loo, however, I felt a cold drop of water fall onto my head, followed within a few seconds by a drop falling on my arm. I switched on the light, looked upwards and could see an almost constant drip of water falling from around the light bulb fitment above the loo. The next morning, on examing the ceiling we could see a ring of discolourisation around the fitment and the metal ring was dirty and corroded. After breakfast we reported it and the Receptionist was both polite and apologetic and promised to get it looked at. We enquired if the problem had been reported in the past and were ensured that it had not, which surprised us as it was obviously not a new problem. The man arrived to look at it just as we were going out. When we returned at teatime the fire exit almost immediately opposite Room 8 had been left proped open with a fire extinguisher, presumably to help to dry our bathroom floor. There was still a very small pool of water on the floor. No note had been left for us so we were not sure if the problem had been fixed or not. We just left the fire exit door open for about a further half an hour and then wiped away the small amount of water remaining. Our room had become so cold with the draught into the room from underneath the door as it was a very cold windy day, but we had no note to say whether the work had been finished or not.

We ate in Bar 1823 and found the waiter was friendly, polite and helpful on both evenings. Regarding breakfasts, we had to ask where breakfast was being served on the first morning and were directed to the Drayton Suite. We were quite happy with the breakfast and the room itself. The next morning we went straight to the Drayton Suite but found it was obviously not being used that day, but there was no note on the door telling us where we should go. (Presumably this room was not used due to wedding reception arrangements). Another guest, then came wandering along, also unsure where to go for breakfast. We stopped a guest walking past who had just finished breakfast and he directed us to the Billiard Room. Once again we were quite satisfied with the new room and the breakfast itself, but it would have been more helpful if a notice had been placed in reception or on the door of the Drayton Suite, directing people to the new venue rather than put what seemed to be the only notice right by the Billard Room itself. It would make more sense to have a prominently displayed notice close to the entrance of the building,

We checked out on our second day and then explored a bit more of the house and grounds. We felt that the rates charged for the room and breakfast were really good, despite the few difficulties we encountered. The house and grounds were beautiful. I would have liked to know a bit more about the history of the building, maybe a small display could be put up in the reception area or maybe the Board Room or Lounge.

On returning to the house after our walk in the grounds we went to the 1823 bar to have a cup of coffee before starting our long journey home. It was just gone 11.30am and the room was empty. I looked at the Bar Menu and saw that it seemed to be closed until 12 noon. Just at that moment a well-dressed man walked past, maybe the manager or wedding organiser and asked if he could help us. We explained that we had just stopped for a coffee but it seemed we were too early. Immediately he offered to show us where we could have a complimentary cup of coffee, by helping ourselves in the Mawson's Bar. I really appreciated this. Instead of saying we would have to wait for the 1823 bar to open, he showed us the self service alternative. We both had lattee's and they were possibly the nicest lattees I have ever tasted, especially with the option of various flavoured syrups to add to them.

One last point that I'd like to make that would be helpful - my husband suffers badly with Restless Leg Syndrome. This has reached the stage where I insist on having a room with two singles or a King sized bed (5 ft wide) in it. So many hoidays have been ruined for me by trying to manage in a standard sized double bed (4ft 6in) or even smaller, in one case it was a (4 ft bed described as a double). Before booking my husband rang your hotel to ask the width of the double beds! No one seemed to be able to tell us so we booked a room with two singles in to be sure. We both slept well in the two single beds, but instead of just quoting 'double bed' in your room description would it be possible to give the width of the bed as well. We can't be the only ones who do not find a standard double width bed satisfactory.

If we travel in your direction again, we will certainly stay with you again and hope that if I decide to give any future review I can give an excellent rating, without hesitation.

Bernice Maynard

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joyce937
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 7 December 2011

Good afternoon Mrs Maynard

I would like to pass on my sincere thanks for taking the time to write such a constructive review following your recent stay her at Dunchurch Park.

Should you find yourself needing accommodation in the Rugby area at any point in the future, please contact me direct at the hotel and I will be only too happy to offer you an extremely competative rate.

Warmest regards

Ron Terry
Group Operations Director
Signature Hotel group

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunchurch
4.0 mi away
Brownsover Hall Hotel
2.0 mi away
Draycote Hotel
Draycote Hotel
#7 of 13 in Rugby
458 reviews
2.4 mi away
Travelodge Rugby Dunchurch
Travelodge Rugby Dunchurch
#1 of 1 in Thurlaston
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Travelodge Rugby Central
2.5 mi away
The Rugby Hotel
The Rugby Hotel
#11 of 13 in Rugby
165 reviews
7.5 mi away
Coombe Abbey Hotel
Coombe Abbey Hotel
#3 of 39 in Coventry
3,044 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunchurch Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunchurch Park

Address: Rugby Road, Dunchurch, Rugby CV22 6QW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Rugby > Dunchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Dunchurch
Price Range: £62 - £104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dunchurch Park 3.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dunchurch Park Hotel is a 19th-century Grade ll listed manor house, set in 72 acres of beautiful grounds and landscaped gardens. We are the ideal venue for conferences, meetings, weddings and special events. The hotel comprises 89 en-suite bedrooms in a custom-built wing and boasts 32 conference rooms. Situated in the heart of Warwickshire, the hotel is conveniently situated close to the M1, M6 and M45 motorways. Bar 1823 is our contemporary bar with plasma screen . Housed in the main manor house it serves an excellent selection of hot and cold drinks plus a wide range of beers and wines. Also in Bar 1823 you will find a range of meals with a variety of specials and great deals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and LateRooms so you can book your Dunchurch Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunchurch Park Hotel Dunchurch
Park Hotel Dunchurch
Dunchurch Park Warwickshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing