We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Toughest Lamb/gristle I have ever tried to eat”
Review of Dunchurch Park

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Dunchurch Park
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Dunchurch
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Toughest Lamb/gristle I have ever tried to eat”
Reviewed 9 February 2014

My wife and I attended a presentation at this hotel on 6th February 2014. Everything about the food was good EXCEPT THE LAMB, which was awful. It was the toughest lamb I have ever tried to eat. My wife, who doesn't like leaving anything, gave up halfway through hers because only gristle remained - about half the joint - and it looked awful ‘ – crinkly, just like tripe.
Everyone on our table complained about this meat. I didn't cause a scene because it would have disrupted the presentation, but if I had paid for the meal, I would have created merry hell!
Still trying to contact the hotel but it seems no one will answer, and I’ve tried 3 times on different days and different times.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tony J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

525 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    155
    99
    128
    81
    62
See reviews for
107
108
14
173
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2014

Reception did not divulge clear information about bars, Restaurants or times to eat. Didn't even mention breakfast! Directions to the room were terrible! The room was not clean. The cushions stank. The bathroom was discusting with badly stained toilet and awful mould around the bath. My son and daughter enjoyed an evening meal but breakfast was over priced and lacking in choice especially the continental. The plumbing made an awful noise throughout the night and meant we got no sleep! We shall not be returning.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cathy_Cooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Dunchurch hotels

Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2014

Went to a party on Saturday night at the Dunchurch Park Hotel and stayed over night in the hotel. Our room was excellent, very clean, warm and comfortable. I will definitely be happy to stay here again. Thanks

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HELEN l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colwyn Bay, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2014 via mobile

Room was a great disappointment, very little room. No wardrobe, no mirror in bedroom to do hair, makeup etc..... One tiny one in the bathroom. Marquee for the party was great, and the evening was fantastic. Lovely bar area, and old part of hotel has plenty of character. Rooms defo need a makeover.

Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank 612AmyD612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Great venueit was excellent in the great hall and was worth the extra £10 The food was good very hot and good portion sizes, wine was not bad.,Great disco, great Firework display in the wonderful grounds.The table layout was also good not too cramped.The staff were very friendly and helpful The overnight stay was ok rooms alittle small and very warm. The Breakfast was good lots of choice and cooked just how we liked it. We will come again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

The party we went to was in a marquee, which was a bit cold and draughty. But it was well set out and was aesthetically pleasing. The main meal was barely warm.
We were asked what bottle of wine we wanted-red, white or rose? I don't drink, and there was no option for soft drinks, which i found a bit inconsiderate. The rooms are very basic, not clean, very small and too hot and also very noisy due to other residents. The breakfast room was extremely hot, no windows open. The food was mediocre which wasn't being replaced efficiently. The tables were not set with used plates on the tables.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spanmarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014 via mobile

We went here with a group of friends for our yearly Christmas meal - the events team were really helpful and nice to deal with. The venue was a marquee which was decorated tastefully and the whole package, including dj entertainment, was overall good value. The food was a little manufactured. Unfortunately the thing that ruins this place is the staff. Long story short we were spoken to with extraordinary rudeness by the general manager George, his abrupt manner only exceeded by his lack of customer service skills. Have we had a reply to the complaint we sent in the next day? Of course not. This says a lot - shame when one man let's the whole place down!

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank karensa k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Officereplies, General Manager at Dunchurch Park, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
To Say I am appalled with this review is an understatement.

I remember your letter very well and decided not to reply purely because what you stated is so incorrect and did not want to enter into a war of words

You stated that my rudeness related to me preventing you from staying in the bar to buy another round of drinks prior to food being served – absolute fabrication! Who in my position (40 years) would prevent guests from spending money in the bar?

Could you possibly be one of the parties who our security personnel confiscated alcohol from on entrance following my strict instructions?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunchurch
4.0 mi away
Brownsover Hall Hotel
7.5 mi away
Coombe Abbey Hotel
Coombe Abbey Hotel
#3 of 39 in Coventry
2,872 reviews
1.6 mi away
Travelodge Rugby Dunchurch
Travelodge Rugby Dunchurch
#1 of 1 in Thurlaston
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Draycote Hotel
Draycote Hotel
#6 of 13 in Rugby
436 reviews
6.1 mi away
Mercure Brandon Hall Hotel and Spa Warwickshire
6.6 mi away
Mercure Daventry Court Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunchurch Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunchurch Park

Property: Dunchurch Park
Address: Rugby Road, Dunchurch, Rugby CV22 6QW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Rugby > Dunchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Dunchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dunchurch Park 3.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dunchurch Park Hotel is a 19th-century Grade ll listed manor house, set in 72 acres of beautiful grounds and landscaped gardens. We are the ideal venue for conferences, meetings, weddings and special events. The hotel comprises 89 en-suite bedrooms in a custom-built wing and boasts 32 conference rooms. Situated in the heart of Warwickshire, the hotel is conveniently situated close to the M1, M6 and M45 motorways. Bar 1823 is our contemporary bar with plasma screen . Housed in the main manor house it serves an excellent selection of hot and cold drinks plus a wide range of beers and wines. Also in Bar 1823 you will find a range of meals with a variety of specials and great deals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Dunchurch Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunchurch Park Hotel Dunchurch
Park Hotel Dunchurch
Dunchurch Park Warwickshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing