We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Meal”
Review of Dun Cow

Dun Cow
Ranked #4 of 9 Restaurants in Dunchurch
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Dun Cow in Dunchurch is a country pub & restaurant oozing rural charm and rustic character. Our picturesque surroundings provide the perfect backdrop for savouring the hearty, seasonal pub-food on our menu, and the carefully nurtured cask ales and fine wines gracing our bar.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent Meal”
Reviewed 18 May 2014

The first time my wife and I ate here we were looking for somewhere for a group of us to have a meal before our wedding. We were sat down promptly service was attentive and the food was on point. We both had steak which was cooked to perfection.

Our latest trip was for a booking for 30 people. We were all sat down promptly and looked after for all the time we were there. Drinks were kept topped up, orders taken promptly and the room was nice with a good traditional feel to it. On this occasion i opted for the Pork Belly. And as before this was cooked to perfection and the portion size more than adequate! I finished my meal off with an Ice Cream Sundae which again was more than enough in size.

Overall the two meals I've had here have been excellent and I'd recommend this place to anyone.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Masiye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

838 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    197
    216
    189
    139
    97
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Wellesbourne Hastings, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Past glory ? Not a great customer experience.”
Reviewed 17 May 2014

A lunch nostalgic stop at he Dun Cow wasn't up to its old and reliable standard.

Empty bar, but had to call over to barmen to serve me, chatting to each other without much interest in serving.
Bar was wet with beer, tables not cleared.

Sat outside in courtyard, but surroundings were tired, not maintained, felt a bit industrial..

Doom bar beer ok.

Sandwich came as a roll, sloppily arranged and just about ok.

Management here need to pay more attention - staff should be fussed on customers, clean and tidy outside space and attention to looks for food.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Rob V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
47 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“What a cracking pub”
Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

What a fantastic Saturday lunchtime treat to eat and drink at this pub. The staff were very welcoming and friendly as well as professional. They clearly enjoyed their jobs. The choice of beer (real ale) as well as lager was impressive I would recommend "Proper Beer" from St Austell brewery - magnificent. The food was well priced, not cheap but good value and very tasty. Try the treacle cured salmon for something a little different.

We'll be back!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kev L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Only the management has changed.”
Reviewed 7 May 2014

The place has had a revamp but there is still insufficient staff on bar duty, plus visitors beware the rude locals who insist they are first to be served.
The food is a vast improvement from the last time I tried to eat there, this time they got it right, again thought insufficient staff 'waiting' especially for a Bank Holiday weekend, having been advised that a group of 30 was due to arrive. One waiter very efficient but hard pressed.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sdcv3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rugeley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Top class !!”
Reviewed 2 May 2014 via mobile

Everything about this pub is great ! Service top class, food beautiful the burger was perfectly cooked and presented perfectly, sausage and mash on the lunch menu was perfect ! The Pimms Eaton mess & toffee sundae were delicious ! Could have stayed all day !

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Karina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dun Cow also viewed

 
Rugby, Warwickshire
Rugby, Warwickshire
 

Been to Dun Cow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing