We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fab carvery!”
Review of The Huntsman

The Huntsman
Ranked #1 of 9 Restaurants in Dunchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$36 - US$40
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Kids, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Avon Dassett, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fab carvery!”
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We had a lovely carvery this lunchtime. The starters were lovely. Followed by an unlimited carvery and a chance to engage with the chef. Then a great sweet and coffee. Highly recommended!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sarah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    314
    74
    25
    7
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best Carvery I've ever had”
Reviewed 2 May 2014

We are regular visitors to The Huntsman and it is hands-down the best Carvery I've ever had. Your plate is piled high and the meat is the best I've tasted, every single thing is really well cooked and is just incredibly tasty. All staff are lovely but especially the head chef! Love this place :)

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gerrard80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Best Carvery Ever”
Reviewed 5 April 2014

We have been to this restaurant a couple of times now, the food is gorgeous, the chef is very passionate about his food and wants you to really enjoy it. This is no ordinary carvery, it is one price and you have three courses.
You can go up as any times as you like, if you can't manage the sweet they will gladly box it up for you to take home.
Very tasty food,the meat s cooked to perfection, fantastic gravy, but the highlight is the cackling, it's fantastic and basically melts in your mouth.
The staff are very attentive, nothing is to much trouble.
All in all a fantastic experience...

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank euncstwrt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Best carvery around”
Reviewed 2 April 2014

I am not a carvery lover but the huntsman takes "carverys" to a different level!! the food here is excellent , everything is so fresh and tasty the meat is top quality and the chef who serves it wants
you to try everything! he fills your plate with meat and says if you want to come back for more you can! not as you could! with the great choice of fresh veg, roast potatoes mash potatoes i can assure you it is enough even for the biggest appetite! you really do have to go here with an empty stomach! and the puddings are great if you can fit one in! yes the Huntsman is a lovely restaurant
with great food and great service.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank pearlhuxley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Slough
Level Contributor
48 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We ate here yesterday and really enjoyed the whole experience, we chose to eat late lunch or early dinner (6pm) as it was Mothering Sunday and we didn't want to feel rushed and/or packed in, we arrived and were shown to our table, handed the menu and waited to be told what had been sold out, what a pleasant surprise that everything was still available so we opted for 2 courses, my partner had the goat cheese starter and I had wam duck salad which were both beautifully presented, main course of pan fried chicken was beautifully moist and tasty, I had topside of beef with a Yorkshire pudding my grandma would have been proud to serve, it was how they are supposed to look and taste. The waiting team of young ladies are a credit to this restaurant, they bring a calm atmosphere of nothing is too much trouble and very attentive whilst serving you after what must have been a very long day, we were very impressed and will make a return visit when next in shropshire

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Baljordan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Huntsman also viewed

Rugby, Warwickshire
Rugby, Warwickshire
 
Rugby, Warwickshire
Rugby, Warwickshire
 

Been to The Huntsman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing