We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Old Country pub at its very best”

The Fox and Hounds Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, Pub, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: The Fox and Hounds pub is listed as a hotel but not as a restaurant. As it only has three rooms and the food is wonderful.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Old Country pub at its very best”
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Last night we had a delicious evening meal in this delightful old pub, the atmosphere is perfect, busy and bubbling with friendly people - it doesnt get any better. Excellent menu with choices for everyone. Lamb tangine was better than in Morocco, lemon sole was to die for - an enormous fish cooked in lemon butter and the menfolk had partridge which was the best they had ever had - can thoroughly recommend the puds too - service was first class attentive and thoughtful - we will definately be back here again, just sad we hadnt been before !!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tavistock1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    14
    0
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cirencester
1 review
“Fantastic country pub with superb food”
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Went there yesterday as halfway between us and parents-in law. Charming village pub. Landlady was so welcoming (tapas on bar to greet everyone). Her partner is the chef. Had the best roast pork I have ever tasted and that is saying something! Divine puddings. Bar full of local characters to liven up the atmosphere. Landlady said if we wanted a particular roast to call a few days before next visit and they would arrange it. All meat sourced locally and fresh homegrown vegetables. We will be back!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andrew J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lima, Peru
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great food, classic English village pub”
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Had Sunday lunch at the Fox and Hounds and enjoyed it more than the Tripadvisor reviews had prepared us for! The eclectic menu allowed our group to choose from chilli with homemade tortilla chips, sea trout, peppered venison and rare roast sirloin of beef: no one was complaining! My venison medallions were in an aubergine, pine nuts and honey reduction, and the two were delicious together. Desserts featured a wicked chocolate pudding with marmalade ice cream, Eton Mess and a great homemade Bakewell Tart. Service was good, friendly but unhurried. Overall, the meal set a standard for other pubs to try to reach.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MarkExton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwickshire
Level Contributor
49 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great chef”
Reviewed 1 August 2013

This was our fourth visit today and it lived up to our expectations as usual.
First time here some months ago had the mutton curry, best curry I have ever had bar none.
This time I had the Thai green curry with jasmine rice, again superb. My wife's grilled sardines were so good too.
Enjoyed a perfect pint of Hook Norton bitter.
We will be back very soon.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WarwickshireWoody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
horsham
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent food particularly the treacle tart”
Reviewed 18 July 2013 via mobile

Had a brilliant meal. All three courses were excellent. Friendly staff. Pretty pub with hanging baskets. Definitely recommend.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RedheadHorsham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Fox and Hounds Inn also viewed

Todenham, Cotswolds
Alveston, Stratford-upon-Avon
 
Alveston, Stratford-upon-Avon
Loxley, Warwickshire
 
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
Bourton-on-the-Water, Cotswolds
 

Been to The Fox and Hounds Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing