We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food, pleasant atmosphere” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The White Swan Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Henley-in-Arden
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The White Swan Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Henley-in-Arden
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good food, pleasant atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2012

Only had experience of the restaurant as part of a large group. The smoked salmon, chicken and creme brulee were all very good. The food was hot and well cooked even though they were coping with a large number of (pre-ordered) meals.
The staff were friendly and helpful, and the surroundings had attractive character.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BorisBolero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    35
    9
    12
    7
See reviews for
27
47
4
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Worcs, UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2011

My friend and I stayed here whilst on a trip to the Gems TV studios in nearby Redditch. Parts of the hotel date back over 600 years, and whilst it has been sympathetically refurbished in some areas, it retains its atmospheric charm. Our bedroom had been improved to a high standard with a brand new bathroom, new twin beds, carpet and furniture. The food was excellent and the staff couldn't have been more helpful and pleasant. Lovely.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the refurbished rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VeniceNut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henley-in-Arden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2011

This is a lovely local pub, restaurant, and hotel. A business colleague recently stayed there and was 'over the moon' with the room and service.

I live locally and this has become my place of choice, in fact it is attracting 'faces' from a number of local pubs.

The beer is outstanding, I really appreciate a decent pint and am never disappointed when I visit the Swan. They normally have four regular real ales on draft and a guest. They have been awarded the much coveted 'Cask Condition' award for quality beers (I recommend the 'Purity' bitter, it is a regular feature).

Why not ask for a taste before you buy, the friendly staff are always pleased to help.

I have not eaten at the Swan recently, but I know people who have and they have been very happy, seeing some of the plates being served to diners in the main lounge area makes my mouth water.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zometa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2011

The restaurant at the White Swan is a little known gem of Henley. To start, the surroundings are modern, elegant and spacious, giving a wonderful atmosphere in which to enjoy your food. This restaurant has become a favorite as all of the food is freshly cooked and presented by what is clearly, a very talented chef. The choice is varied and interesting and all that I have tried so far has been excellent. This makes such a change from what I call "boil in the bag" restaurants where so many of the meals come into the restaurant pre-prepared and frozen. Here, the food is created freshly in the kitchen and served promptly and efficiently by the friendly waiting staff. To top it all the restaurant offers excellent value for money compared to most of the other "gastro pubs" in the area. Five Stars!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helimart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2011

We have been to the White Swan three times in the last month. We eat once in the restaurant, once in the bar and also had the lunch menu. We have taken various friends, including some American friends, and at all times we had excellent food, drinks and service. We have not yet stayed in the rooms, but we have booked our Christmas meal with friends already, as we know the food will be up to the usual high standard. We eat out regularly both in Birmingham and London, and for good food and service, The White Swan is up there with the best!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Raymond P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2011

Myself, my mother and my 15 month old son went to The Swan for lunch. We were greeted by an unkempt barmaid with a 'huh'. We found a table and searched for a high seat for my son. A member of staff eventually sorted one for me, cleaned it in front of me, managing to cover me and our table in cleaning products. The high chair was old, plastic was broken and my son got stuck in it. No member of staff came to help even though my son was in pain due to trapping his finger in the old plastic. At that point, after getting my son free from the deathtrap, we decided to leave without eating. Upon leaving, I went up to the bat just to let them know that they should get bigger and much safer highchairs. This was greeted with a sarcastic smile and a 'whatever'. Never, EVER going there again. Rude, horrible, disgusting attitudes and certainly not child friendly!!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank spamcritter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwickshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2011

We and a group of our friends took all of the hotel rooms on a saturday night stay, we personally were in the Johnson Suite which was just fabulous, recently refurbished to an extremely high standard and in keeping with the hotels 12th century era. Beautiful beams, decor and lighting, an extremely comfortable and well dressed 4 poster bed and a perfect clean ensuite with a very large rain shower. Lovely bay window with good blinds and stylish voile curtain for privacy from the properties opposite.

I see others have commented about road noise, I'm not sure why you would comment on that knowing you are staying in a high street hotel which is a very old building (all the more charming for it!) , this wasn't really an issue for us at all (this room looks directly over the high street) Henley High Street has a lot of nice restaurants and pubs which is perfectly obvious for a high street so I would expect there to be hustle and bustle, part of the ambience I'd say!

As for the staff, we found the Manager, Zena and her assistant manager Richard to be brilliant, really proffesional when it mattered but great fun down to earth people who made ours and our friends stay just great. Could not fault the food or service, bar staff were all extremely friendly and in absolutely no way clicquey or abrupt. Breakfast was prompt, cooked fresh and done properly (no anaemic sausage or bacon here!) Check in and out was extremlely efficient. Lovely secure car park private to the hotel.

All of our other friends found their rooms to be made up really nicely and all were clean, everyone loved the food! Ok, some rooms are refurbished, others are waiting, but it is clear time and effort is being made to ensure this process is to a really high standard and will obviously take a little time. No corners cut here.

A truly charming and intriguing old building with a lot of history as a very old coaching inn, if you are looking for modern, straight lines and no character than this may not be for you, but this hotel is well presented as what it is, a beautiful old building with true character, brought into the 21st century tastefully and stylishly with greatly decorated rooms, friendly helpful and good fun staff, fantastic food and the most comfy restaurant chairs i've ever sat in! Absolutely no complaints here. Henley is a lovely town, a great base to explore other local areas too.

Highly recommended!

Room Tip: The suite is fabulous, two other double rooms are newly refurbished too with fab ensuites, all other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rjr330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Henley-in-Arden
1.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Henley Hotel
BEST WESTERN PLUS Henley Hotel
#2 of 3 in Henley-in-Arden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bridge House
Bridge House
#3 of 3 in Henley-in-Arden
3.0 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
7.5 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#4 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Old Rectory House
Old Rectory House
#5 of 8 in Redditch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
3.0 mi away
Ardencote
Ardencote
#1 of 1 in Claverdon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,062 reviews
5.2 mi away
Wroxall Abbey Hotel & Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Swan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Swan Hotel

Property: The White Swan Hotel
Address: 100 High Street, Henley-in-Arden B95 5BY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Henley-in-Arden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Henley-in-Arden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 16th Century, listed coaching inn in Henley-in-Arden at the heart of Shakespeare country. Six bedrooms and two Suites all tastefully refurbished in 2012. Free WiFi and a full English Breakfast is included in the price for a bed and breakfast stay. Our bar serves local ales and finest wines. Full lunch menu 12-3pm. Tapas available in the evening Mon-Sat 6-9pm. Sunday Lunch 12-3pm. For a great dining experience book STONEAGED Restaurant at The White Swan, offering stone baked pizza, stone bowl pasta and amazing lava stone steaks, Mon-Sat 6-9pm. Group bookings and functions catered for. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The White Swan Hotel Henley-In-Arden, Warwickshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing