We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly Recommended” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The White Swan Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Henley-in-Arden
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The White Swan Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Henley-in-Arden
Certificate of Excellence
Dagenham
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Highly Recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2013

Stayed here for one night in the haunted room no.17 (alas no sightings of the wondering lady ghost). The White Swan is a lovely old hotel on the main road through Henley-in-Arden we called ahead to see if they had two rooms available for the night, they had one standard room (£95) and the Johnson Suite (£125) our friends stayed in the suite whilst we stayed in the standard room. Both rooms were spotless, our standard room had a walk in shower with one of those large overhead shower heads. A large double bed which was comfortable, tea and coffee making facilities plus TV.
We had a sunday lunch in the restaurant which was cooked and prepared by the chef and was very nice, thick slices of roast beef in a lovely gravy with yorkshire pudding plus seperate bowls of roast potatoes and steamed vegetables.
In the evening we sat in the pub and took part in the weekly quiz night (we finished last), and the cooked breakfast the following morning was probably one of the best we have had (2 real sausages, bacon, fried egg, mushrooms, beans, tomatoes (tinned), and toast.) all cooked while you wait, all piping hot.

All of the staff were very attentive and polite and the owners were very friendly.

I would definately recommend this place, we had a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mw63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    34
    9
    13
    7
See reviews for
26
47
4
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
237 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2013

What a lovely establishment. We stayed here one night, in the Diamond Suite. This is a two room suite, one of the rooms being a large bathroom with claw foot bath. OK there is a bit of traffic noise as the suite is at the front of the pub on a busy-ish road, but the bed is so comfortable we were out like a light. You can't do much about traffic noise in a listed building - and what a beautiful building! The owners have made a great job of tastefully renovating this place. A good range of ales is complemented by the most wonderful tapas we have ever eaten. We arrived just as the chef was leaving but he nevertheless made us knocked us up some tapas. Our check-in was a little confusing due to some computer glitch - but it was soon sorted out. The breakfast the next morning was really delicious. This is where we met one of the owners who was very friendly and told us some of the interesting history of the pub/hotel. We loved the taps from the night before so much that we had booked lunch the following day - but we sadly had to cancel the lunch booking as we were still full from breakfast! All in all a really nice stay, highly recommended!

Room Tip: If you are a very light sleeper perhaps request a room off the main road. Or drink a few of the exce...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank swedensm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcs
Level Contributor
107 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2013

Turned up here at midday hoping for a sandwich. Looked averagely busy and walked past the chef looking pretty relaxed having a smoke by the back door. Got to the bar, tried to order a sandwich and a pint, only to be told "no food unless you have booked a table". Can't believe they couldn't have managed it, we were in the beer garden with the dog so weren't taking up any room in the half filled pub....poor customer service.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sonia1309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York
Level Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2012

This is a lovely old building with plenty of character. The bar area is great with comfortable chairs and a real fire. The bedroom was big enough and comfortable apart from it being far too hot ( and no radiators were on), plus the toilet seat was broken, as was the toilet seat in two other rooms that friends were staying in. In the bedroom there was a restaurant menu with 2 courses for £13.95 and 3 courses for £19.95. There was plenty of choice and we were looking forward to our meal. When we went down for our dinner we were presented with 3 flimsy sheets of paper with bar meals, light bites and tapas. On asking for the proper menu we were told that was not in use anymore and was left in the rooms by mistake. We were really disappointed as the choice we were left with was soup for starters or nothing! I didn't want bangers and mash or a snack. There was a pie of the day, which was pork and I don't eat pork, although I could have had a choice of two other pork dishes! It was such a waste to have a lovely dining room and serving the same food as in the bar. We ended up with fish and chips, which was very good, but not a gourmet meal. For pudding we had two scoops of ice cream, which were so small we thought there was some mistake. On the second night we were dining with a group ( of strangers) and were expected to sit on a communal table. We refused to do this, and when confronted with the sheets of paper again found that the soup was - surprise, surprise, the same as the night before, and the pie of the day was, yes, pork!! The food on the second night was poor, I am sure it was because we were in a group, and the service was patronising. The following morning we went in for breakfast and sat at a table, only to be shepherded to the communal one! My friend ordered scrambled eggs, which she left as they were under cooked, as did everyone else who ordered them. I asked for sliced bread for my toast, and not the doorsteps we were given the day before, and the woman serving in the restaurant came over and rather aggressively said she would have to go to the shops for sliced bread and did I really want that!! I felt I had wandered into Fawlty Towers.

Room Tip: Be aware there is no lift and many stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DaphneYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2012

We have stayed in some top class hotels all over the midlands; mainly resort and spa hotels. We decided to stay in Henley-in-Arden. That's to all fellow reviewers for leading us to the White Swan. We had a lovely room (17), nice and cosy, the bar was right up our street, plenty on conversation, friendly locals, attentive staff (never had to wait for service even though the bar was packed). The restaurant again was again spot on. Well laid out; modern, cosy, with a good atmosphere. We will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: If you have problems with stairs tell the reservations staff when you book. This hotel dates from 13...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank simonbill1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2012

Haven't stayed, but we've had a couple of really nice meals. I love the Thai curry. A big thumbs up to stocking Purity Ale as well. If you get a chance go when Shampoo are playing. They are almost a house band and always have a great gig.

Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Oj98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester
Level Contributor
116 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2012

We stayed at this hotel a few years back and enjoyed it immensely. We've just come back from a trip into the Cotswolds and decided to pop into The White Swan for a drink on the way back. Lovely pub. Cosy with a truly great selection of real ales. A pleasure to return.

Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Marchell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Henley-in-Arden
1.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Henley Hotel
BEST WESTERN PLUS Henley Hotel
#2 of 3 in Henley-in-Arden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bridge House
Bridge House
#3 of 3 in Henley-in-Arden
3.0 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
7.5 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#4 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Ardencote
Ardencote
#1 of 1 in Claverdon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,062 reviews
5.1 mi away
Old Rectory House
Old Rectory House
#5 of 8 in Redditch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
5.2 mi away
Wroxall Abbey Hotel & Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Swan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Swan Hotel

Property: The White Swan Hotel
Address: 100 High Street, Henley-in-Arden B95 5BY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Henley-in-Arden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Henley-in-Arden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 16th Century, listed coaching inn in Henley-in-Arden at the heart of Shakespeare country. Six bedrooms and two Suites all tastefully refurbished in 2012. Free WiFi and a full English Breakfast is included in the price for a bed and breakfast stay. Our bar serves local ales and finest wines. Full lunch menu 12-3pm. Tapas available in the evening Mon-Sat 6-9pm. Sunday Lunch 12-3pm. For a great dining experience book STONEAGED Restaurant at The White Swan, offering stone baked pizza, stone bowl pasta and amazing lava stone steaks, Mon-Sat 6-9pm. Group bookings and functions catered for. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The White Swan Hotel Henley-In-Arden, Warwickshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing