We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business hotel or road side motel???”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Western Plus Henley Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Henley-in-Arden
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Business hotel or road side motel???”
Reviewed 19 March 2013

I stay in Best western hotels all over the country and as a diamond elite card holder I think I know a good hotel to an average one. I chose this hotel due to the location I needed for work and that it was listed as a plus. It says newly refurbished rooms, well according to the staff it was last year, they also look very dated. The rooms are also very small, and cold. The bathroom is especially cold with a tile floor and almost no heat from the radiator. If you need a shaving point forget it here. The bathroom had dirt / gunge under the shower screen seal which needed cleaning, also if you are 6ft you will need to duck to get under the fixed shower head. The hotel staff are friendly and try their best. I planned to stay four nights bust cancelled after 2 as its far from the best western plus standard. I'm still looking for the reason why it has been awarded that grade. It has no redeeming factors, it looks like a typical motel that has had some building work done to place a covered walkway in front of the old room doors. Yes the reception and bar has had some work done, but covering a burnt cake in icing doesn't make it a show winner.
Would I stay again, would I recommend it, well if you like travel lodge the answer is yes, otherwise forget it. Its well overpriced for the standard expected for the price paid.

Room Tip: Don't bother unless you get a free upgrade to one of the suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Markb747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
henleyhotel, General Manager at Best Western Plus Henley Hotel, responded to this review, 20 March 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our Hotel, we appreciate everything you say. Our hotel was fully refurbished in April 2012, less than a year ago, still with on-going changes, improving the hotel all the time. Furthermore It is very disappointing to receive such a review as we work extremely hard to satisfy our customer's expectations but it is also more disappointing that none of your experiences were discussed with any member of staff at the time of your visit, if they were we would have obviously tried to rectify them at the time, rather than retrospectively discussing them without any verification; Every hotel across the country is unique from the next and we are aware that they don’t suit everyone individual taste’s. Once again thank you for taking the time to review our hotel we take seriously your comments and will act that they are not repeated.

Sincerely,

Graham Waller
General Manager
BEST WESTERN PLUS Henley Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    124
    100
    43
    30
    11
See reviews for
47
136
8
73
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2013

Each year I stay at the Henley and each year I have been happy and will return. Yes, the rooms are of miniscule size but I have found this with most rooms in UK hotels. They are fine for single occupancy but last year when there was two of us we were VERY cramped and I would not do that again. All the receptionists are wonderful and cannot do enough for you. Food is good (both morning and night) Wonderful shower with plenty of hot water and lovely giant size towels.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lesley255118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
henleyhotel, General Manager at Best Western Plus Henley Hotel, responded to this review, 19 March 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our Hotel, we appreciate everything you say. We more than appreciate your loyalty to hotel and nothing makes us happier than hearing your positive feedback regarding our Food and Staff, and I will be sure to pass on your comments to the team. Nothing is more important to us than our guest’s satisfaction. All our rooms do vary in size and we do offer larger rooms, and in future if you were looking to share again then booking one of our suites (which are larger) may be something to look into. We thank you for your comments and appreciate everything you have said. We do hope to see you back again next year.
Sincerely
Graham Waller
General Manager of Henley Golf & Country Club and Henley Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2013

I stayed here for just one night and found it the place small and awkward. The room (number 2, ground floor) was small and filled mainly with the bed. I stayed for business and was not long in the room which I am quite grateful for. I noticed stratight away that it was not very warm but had to go straight out and did nothing about it. But later on I tried to get it warmer (This was mid February and snow was on the ground) but found that the valves to both the radiators were blocked at setting 3 (max. 5). The radiators were just warm. They had no chance of heating the room or the bathroom. (My colleague who had the room next door had the same experience and said he would not come again). Call me soft but the bathroom should be warm - coming out of a shower (very good, by the way) was a chilling experience.
I mentioned this to the receptionist on leaving the next day and she confirmed that this blocking of the radiators to max. setting 3 is company policy. The company should let the customers set their own temperature!! Otherwise the hotel was OK for 88 pounds. Breakfast was adequate but yet again no Marmite!

Room Tip: Not in rooms 2 or 3.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
henleyhotel, General Manager at Best Western Plus Henley Hotel, responded to this review, 17 February 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our Hotel, we appreciate everything you say. As a Hotel we found the rooms were becoming too hot for guests to stay in, so to make them more comfortable we lowered the temperature of the radiators to a maximum setting of 3 and we felt this was more than warm enough for our guests and their rooms, we haven’t been aware of any such problem since this has been done. However we have took your comments on board and the room you stated in especially will be looked at. With Regards to Marmite, we have found it’s a required taste and is a very unpopular choice; we do however offer other spreads, such as marmalade, honey, strawberry and raspberry jam. Once again we thank you for your comments and appreciate everything you have said.
Sincerely
Graham Waller
General Manager of Henley Golf & Country Club and Henley Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2013 via mobile

Happy to book again and this time I found the twin on ground floor bigger and better for working. Phone reception is bad on three but you get free wifi. Rooms are bit expensive I feel but the meals at nite a good value and nice. Breaky is excellent and service good. Would call again

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
henleyhotel, General Manager at Best Western Plus Henley Hotel, responded to this review, 27 January 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our Hotel, we appreciate everything you say. I’m happy to hear your positive feedback about your stay with us. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. Once again we thank you for your comments and appreciate everything you have said. We do hope you’ll come back and stay with us again in the future.
Sincerely
Graham Waller
General Manager of Henley Golf & Country Club and Henley Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stratford-upon-avon
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2013

My husband and I stayed for one night on 19th Jan 2013 following a wedding. We stayed in the Shakespeare Suite which was very nice and soft furnishings lovely, however it was the next morning when we faced a couple of problems. My husband who is a plumber and fits luxury bathrooms for a living discovered that there was no shaver socket in the bathroom ok if staying one night but not good if staying longer and the shower valve had been fitted upside down which affected the hot and cold flow. He said he wouldn,t employ who did it. Breakfast was ok but the fruit selection was a slice of melon when it quoted grapefruit and prunes on the menu and it lacked a bit of attention to detail. However the staff were brilliant especially Monika receptionist and Albert who provided the transport to and from wedding venue was lovley..

Room Tip: Our room was lovely but saver scoket needs sorting and shower valve corrected
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank loubie28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
henleyhotel, General Manager at Best Western Plus Henley Hotel, responded to this review, 27 January 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our Hotel, we appreciate everything you say. I’m happy to hear your positive feedback regarding your room, we try to offer our guests a warm welcoming and comfortable stay. Nothing is more important to us than our guest’s satisfaction. We are aware of the problems men face with shavers and we will be investing in a portable shaving adapter, furthermore I will look into your comments regarding the bathroom as I was not aware there was any such problem, as this is the first I’ve heard of such problem. Regarding our breakfast menu this is something we are reviewing at this present time and we will be looking to improve this in the future. I thank you for your kind words regarding our staff and your compliments shall be passed on. Once again we thank you for your comments and appreciate everything you have said. We do hope you’ll come back and stay with us again in the future.
Sincerely
Graham Waller
General Manager of Henley Golf & Country Club and Henley Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2013

We stayed here for two nights for a family wedding. Its a great little hotel. We had the Warwick suite I think and it was just amazing, great size, plushly decorated with floor to ceiling ( nearly) headboard, lovely bathroom. My sisters suite was even more beautiful, turquoise and cream, great size, just gorgeous. I'll say my negatives, the bar was dear, I suppose as they have a captive audience. Some of the other rooms were quite small that other family members had. But prices were reasonable, breakfast was self serve but very delicious, hot and a good choice. Would happily stay again. A little unassuming gem on the outskirts of a lovely little village.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mrs-Lennox-Dale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
henleyhotel, General Manager at Best Western Plus Henley Hotel, responded to this review, 15 January 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our Hotel, we appreciate everything you say. I’m delighted to hear your positive feedback regarding your stay. As you found out on the day, all our rooms do vary in size and Executive suites are bigger than our double rooms. I’m really thrilled to learn that you enjoyed your stay nothing is more important to us than our guest’s satisfaction. We thank you for your comments and appreciate everything you have said. We do hope you’ll come back and stay with us again in the future.
Sincerely
Graham Waller
General Manager of Henley Golf & Country Club and Henley Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Billingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2012

I booked this hotel the night before a meeting in warwick and what a little cracker it is.
the lounge area is a little dated in design but when I got to the bedroom, It was a good size and modern. Dinner and breakfast could not be bettered and I especially loved the real loaf of bread for my toast. Thank you and I will be staying again.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank badgerman1309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
henleyhotel, General Manager at Best Western Plus Henley Hotel, responded to this review, 17 December 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our Hotel, we appreciate everything you say. It’s wonderful to hear your positive feedback regarding our hotel and we’re pleased that you enjoyed your experience with us as nothing is more important to us than our guest’s satisfaction. We’re delighted to hear you’ll come back and stay with us again in the future. Once again we thank you for your comments and appreciate everything you have said.
Sincerely
Graham Waller
General Manager of Henley Golf & Country Club and Henley Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Henley-in-Arden
2.1 mi away
The Oak Hotel
The Oak Hotel
#2 of 2 in Hockley Heath
336 reviews
3.0 mi away
Bell at Tanworth in Arden
Bell at Tanworth in Arden
#1 of 2 in Tanworth-in-Arden
91 reviews
7.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Warwick - Stratford Upon Avon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Hilton Warwick / Stratford-upon-Avon
4.9 mi away
Hogarths Hotel
Hogarths Hotel
#1 of 2 in Dorridge
842 reviews
8.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
#9 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Henley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Henley Hotel

Property: Best Western Plus Henley Hotel
Address: Tanworth Lane, Henley-in-Arden B95 5RA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Henley-in-Arden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Henley-in-Arden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Best Western Plus Henley Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sometimes you just want a little extra; and for when you do there's BEST WESTERN PLUS Henley Hotel. It's a hotel with personality, plus extra service, style and comfort. Completely re-furbished, all our rooms are designed with your comfort in mind for a more memorable stay. BEST WESTERN PLUS Henley Hotel boasts 27 rooms, including 5 boutique style suites, well proportioned executive and family rooms as well as standard double and twin rooms. For disabled people there is a selection of ground floor rooms including a specially designed room which includes a full wet room with seated showering, grab rails and an emergency cord, simply let us know what your specific needs are. There is a lounge/bar with plenty of seating for you to enjoy a quite G&T, 3 course meal or a lite-bite from our tasty menu. Speciality teas and coffees are available along with a full selection of both soft and alcoholic beverages. Within easy access to major road networks such as M40, M42, M6, M69, M1 there is so much a business or leisure guest can reach in just 20 minutes from our hotel. For business guests who prefer a more personal approach to the larger hotel chains, we are only a 20 minute drive from Birmingham airport, NEC, NIA, Birmingham city centre and Coventry city centre. Wi-Fi is available in all areas of the hotel including bedrooms. We have on-site conference facilities for up to 20 delegates and for larger groups, we can offer a variety of Conference rooms at our sister venue Henley Golf and Country Club. Our shuttle bus can be booked to and from day time or evening venues; meaning you don't have to worry about driving and parking at your venue or having that glass of celebration bubbly. For those on a leisure break, we are situated in the picturesque village of Henley-in-Arden which is just 15 minutes drive to Stratford-upon-Avon and no more than 30 minutes drive to Drayton Manor Theme Park, Cadbury World and the Cotswolds to name a few leisure destinations. Because we are within easy access of major road networks it makes a perfect location to base yourself whilst exploring some of the fantastic things the area has to offer. Also available are special packages for golf in the area and discounted tickets for Shakespeare's 5 houses. We will help you plan your stay to maximise the time you spend in our fantastic county. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Henley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Henley Hotel Henley-In-Arden, Warwickshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing