We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Stunning stay at the Cottage Beyond”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Cottage Beyond

The Cottage Beyond set in it's own large, private garden
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Cottage Beyond set in it's own large, private garden
Enjoy swimming and sitting in the hot tub whilst admiring your garden The fabulous pool suitable for all, with a length of 13m and a deep end for the serious swimmers
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
54 reviews
The Cottage Beyond set in it's own large, private garden
Enjoy swimming and sitting in the hot tub whilst admiring your garden
The fabulous pool suitable for all, with a length of 13m and a deep end for the serious swimmers
The front door
Enjoy swimming and sitting in the hot tub whilst admiring your garden
The light and airy lounge which has a curvaceous ramped entrance, loved by all.
The modern, curvaceous, contemporary kitchen.  Easy to use and packed with everything a cook needs.
The large solid oak dinning table capable of seating 15.
Bedroom 1 on the ground floor which is fully accessible
Bedroom 6
Entrance to the Spa Hall
Pepsi the farm dog talks to one of our cattle
Hugging goats!  Over 100 goats graze our fields, they are all friendly and like to see visitors
The magic ball which continues to amaze with it's wonderful reflections
East side of the house with the trampoline on the left and the Spa Hall on the right
One of the two circular tree seats to enjoy your morning coffee sitting under the walnut trees
Spa Hall seen from the upper lawn area
Bedroom 3 that can sleep 2 in either a super king sized bed or two singles
Bedroom 4 detail
The sauna
Swings and slide set in the garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
6 Bedrooms, 7 Bathrooms, Sleeps 16
Sampford Arundel, Wellington, Somerset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 54 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Chippenha...
Chippenham
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Stunning stay at the Cottage Beyond”
Reviewed 9 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

I helped to celebrate my friends 50th birthday with a group of 13 others. The Cottage was amazing. It had everything you could wish for and was immaculately clean and well presented. We enjoyed all the facilities especially the wonderful pool which was big enough to have a decent swim. The walks were explained perfectly and we enjoyed the company of the dog! Seeing two jays feeding from the bird table was just fantastic. If you want to come away for a relaxing break then this is the place. It is like Mary Poppins - practicly perfect in every way.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Jun 2017
Thank you very much for your lovely review, first time ever we been described like Mary Poppins - but flattered none the less. We were delighted you all had a great time and are very jealous of you spotting two Jays on the birdtable! We hope to welcome you back some day.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer...
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A haven of loveliness - PERFECT *********”
Reviewed 11 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

I cannot even begin to explain how lovely this place is. There is absolutely nothing I could find fault in. We travelled as a group of 10 ladies for a weekend away and had the most wonderful time. The owners are so welcoming, spotlessly clean house, fantastic facilities and in the most beautiful setting.
The garden is beautiful and child friendly - there's also plenty for children to do inside with the games, toys etc.
I would thoroughly recommend and would love to stay again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Apr 2017
We love it - "A haven of loveliness", what a wonderful phrase. Thank you so much for your very kind words which we hugely appreciate. You were fabulous guests and we would welcome you back any day.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
APEHOPHOP
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Mrs”
Reviewed 10 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Alan & Christine have created a truly fabulous holiday home, set in the countryside with access to local amenities by car and hilltop walks.
We were a group of 10 ladies on our Annual weekend get together.
TCB has everything covered for your stay. Spacious, well presented bedrooms with en suite to all, except 1, plus 2 bathrooms.
Constant hot water, laundry room, towels, bath robes, hair dryers, outdoor games room, snug (overlooking a very active bird table), kitchen/breakfast room (with 2 dishwashers), modern induction range cooker, complete with every cooking accessory you could need. Large dining table off the bright, spacious living area. Sun terrace overlooking very well maintained, established gardens including children's swings/slide, roundabout, and trampoline. At the foot of the gardens was a purpose built indoor heated swimming pool, jacuzzi and sauna, complete with change facilities and shower room.
There is nothing we could fault about this property.
If you're looking for a large home offering accommodation for a couple of families, including anyone in need of wheelchair access, The Cottage Beyond is certainly one to consider.
We all would highly recommend and look forward to returning.
Thank you Alan and Christine for providing us with a welcoming holiday home for our weekend break x

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Apr 2017
What a wonderful review, we ought to recruit you to our PR team! Thank you for taking the time to write such wonderful words. We are delighted you had such a great time and look forward to your return.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chrismoor...
Rainham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing place”
Reviewed 10 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017

What an amazing cottage. We had an amazing time. The whole place has been well thought out there was not one thing that was not catered for and every room was nicely decorated. The swimming pool was fantastic and great with the music system and volleyball. The games room could benefit from a pool table and the air hockey was not great as it was not powerful enough to move the pucks. But the table tennis was good. The grounds are lovely and well kept. The owners also have two amazing friendly dogs which the kids enjoyed playing ball with. All in all an amazing place and would stay again. Look out for the chocolate cake it's good.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Mar 2017
Thank you so much Chris for taking the time to leave such a lovely review. Thanks also for the heads up on the air hockey - we'll check that out and hopefully resolve any issues there. Pool table suggestion, we'll look into that as well. Thanks again and we hope we'll see you all again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
acookiedu...
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beyond all expectation”
Reviewed 18 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017

We booked this cottage as a surprise for a friend's 40th birthday. And wow -it surpassed all our expectations. The cottage is really a massive modern extension - the kind you see in home magazines. Every home comfort is supplied and the owners were only too happy to help if anything was needed. We had 15 adults in our group, and the cottage was big enough so that we weren't falling over each other. The pool, hot tub, sauna building is a stone's throw from the cottage and is wonderful and luxurious. Everything was spotlessly clean. We went on a walk, and the owners' dogs accompanied us! Which was just as well because we got a bit lost but the dogs knew the way back! I cannot recommend this place enough. We are already planning our next visit!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Jan 2017
Wow - what a wonderful review, thank you so much. You were great guests and we very much look forward to your return.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danfenn
1 review
“My 40th”
Reviewed 14 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016

What a beautiful, amazing & relaxing place to stay.. everything you need to enjoy yourself, great swimming pool, sauna and jacuzzi and the friendliest owners you'll ever meet...

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Dec 2016
Thank you for choosing to celebrate your 40th with family and friends at The Cottage Beyond. And thank you for taking time to leave such a lovely review. We hope we'll be able to welcome you back again on another occasion.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tillytots...
Bridgwater, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Perfect, just perfect!”
Reviewed 22 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

The Cottage Beyond is truly magical place to stay and our holiday was perfect from the moment we were greeted by Christine & Alan. A stunning house in the beautiful countryside. The house was immaculate and had everything we could possibly need. The spa hall with pool, jacuzzi & sauna was thoroughly enjoyed by all as were the spectacular views and walks around the farm. We wished we could have stayed longer and will be booking again for next year.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Nov 2016
So pleased you found TCB to be the magical place it is and lovely to hear you'll be back next year. Many thanks.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing