We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The perfect place!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Cottage Beyond

The Cottage Beyond set in it's own large, private garden
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Cottage Beyond set in it's own large, private garden
Enjoy swimming and sitting in the hot tub whilst admiring your garden The fabulous pool suitable for all, with a length of 13m and a deep end for the serious swimmers
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
54 reviews
The Cottage Beyond set in it's own large, private garden
Enjoy swimming and sitting in the hot tub whilst admiring your garden
The fabulous pool suitable for all, with a length of 13m and a deep end for the serious swimmers
The front door
Enjoy swimming and sitting in the hot tub whilst admiring your garden
The light and airy lounge which has a curvaceous ramped entrance, loved by all.
The modern, curvaceous, contemporary kitchen.  Easy to use and packed with everything a cook needs.
The large solid oak dinning table capable of seating 15.
Bedroom 1 on the ground floor which is fully accessible
Bedroom 6
Entrance to the Spa Hall
Pepsi the farm dog talks to one of our cattle
Hugging goats!  Over 100 goats graze our fields, they are all friendly and like to see visitors
The magic ball which continues to amaze with it's wonderful reflections
East side of the house with the trampoline on the left and the Spa Hall on the right
One of the two circular tree seats to enjoy your morning coffee sitting under the walnut trees
Spa Hall seen from the upper lawn area
Bedroom 3 that can sleep 2 in either a super king sized bed or two singles
Bedroom 4 detail
The sauna
Swings and slide set in the garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
6 Bedrooms, 7 Bathrooms, Sleeps 16
Sampford Arundel, Wellington, Somerset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 54 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
cvhornsha...
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The perfect place!”
Reviewed 27 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

This was our second family get-together at The Cottage Beyond. We have celebrated both my parents' 70th birthdays there. We are a mixed group - ages 3 to 75 and everyone has a brilliant time. The house is spacious, immaculate and fantastically well equipped, and really well located for lovely walks. The owners are warm, welcoming and thoughtful. They even provided activities for the kids! I genuinely couldn't fault The Cottage and we are already planning when we can go back. One bit of advice - book early, its very popular! Claire

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Jul 2017
Thank you so much Claire. We're so pleased you and your family have been able to celebrate your parents milestone birthdays at TCB and very much look forward to the next big occasion.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jogittens
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Absolutely delightful!”
Reviewed 17 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Exceptionally high quality accommodation in beautiful, tranquil setting. Well equipped and spotless! Lovely garden and pool for the ultimate relaxation. Highly recommended!

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Jul 2017
Thank you Jo, we loved having you to stay and much appreciate your kind words.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
klb201760...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“A haven of happiness”
Reviewed 16 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Beyond Expectations and beyond the hurly-burly world of hustle and bustle. The narrow, high-hedged lanes bring you to a sanctuary of calm and beauty beyond the rush and noise of motorways and highways. A cordial welcome from Alan and Christine introduces you to a world of friendly farm dogs, tame pigs and squawking chickens. Put at ease, you immediately feel at home. Within hours, you feel that this has been your domain forever. A comfortable, homely house and a beguiling garden, always alive to the throng of birds at the feeder. And how relaxing to laze in the pool or the hot-tub. Beyond the world of news and nonsense. Let’s stay here forever. And certainly for a walk, we need not have ventured far, searching the fields for stamp boxes, walking the farmer's fields. Perhaps venturing down to Cothay Manor. The nearest village for shops, Wiveliscombe – what a wonderful name – supplies most of what you need (Try the brilliant butcher brothers – Thornes). Of course, you can venture out – the Quantocks, Exmoor, Haddon Hill by Wimbleball Lake for panoramic views - the coast at Watchet, Blue Anchor Bay or Minehead. And while we are living in this separate world, why not take the steam train to the coast and imagine an older, simpler world, where friendly guards guide you to your carriage and the ticket inspector tells you what you might see from your window. All aboard for Minehead, the Bristol Channel and hazy views of distant Wales! Or you can stay here: a swim, some games, a barbecue, a swim – watching the shadows lengthen. Time is precious. Time spent well together is priceless. Of such are our annual family holidays made. So thank you to Christine and Alan for creating such a haven of happiness!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Jul 2017
Wow, what a fabulous review. What a picture you have painted. Thank you so much for taking the time to carefully reflect upon your holiday here and to capture it in such wonderful prose. We loved having you and hope to welcome you and your lovely family back again in 2019.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jamcahill
Falkirk, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect Peace”
Reviewed 15 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

A brilliant relaxing place, where everything was first class. Beautiful gardens with excellent facilities. We had a wonderful stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Jul 2017
Thank you for taking the time to leave such a lovely review - we and potential guests much appreciate it.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chippenha...
Chippenham
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Stunning stay at the Cottage Beyond”
Reviewed 9 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

I helped to celebrate my friends 50th birthday with a group of 13 others. The Cottage was amazing. It had everything you could wish for and was immaculately clean and well presented. We enjoyed all the facilities especially the wonderful pool which was big enough to have a decent swim. The walks were explained perfectly and we enjoyed the company of the dog! Seeing two jays feeding from the bird table was just fantastic. If you want to come away for a relaxing break then this is the place. It is like Mary Poppins - practicly perfect in every way.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Jun 2017
Thank you very much for your lovely review, first time ever we been described like Mary Poppins - but flattered none the less. We were delighted you all had a great time and are very jealous of you spotting two Jays on the birdtable! We hope to welcome you back some day.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer...
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A haven of loveliness - PERFECT *********”
Reviewed 11 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

I cannot even begin to explain how lovely this place is. There is absolutely nothing I could find fault in. We travelled as a group of 10 ladies for a weekend away and had the most wonderful time. The owners are so welcoming, spotlessly clean house, fantastic facilities and in the most beautiful setting.
The garden is beautiful and child friendly - there's also plenty for children to do inside with the games, toys etc.
I would thoroughly recommend and would love to stay again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Apr 2017
We love it - "A haven of loveliness", what a wonderful phrase. Thank you so much for your very kind words which we hugely appreciate. You were fabulous guests and we would welcome you back any day.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
APEHOPHOP
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Mrs”
Reviewed 10 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Alan & Christine have created a truly fabulous holiday home, set in the countryside with access to local amenities by car and hilltop walks.
We were a group of 10 ladies on our Annual weekend get together.
TCB has everything covered for your stay. Spacious, well presented bedrooms with en suite to all, except 1, plus 2 bathrooms.
Constant hot water, laundry room, towels, bath robes, hair dryers, outdoor games room, snug (overlooking a very active bird table), kitchen/breakfast room (with 2 dishwashers), modern induction range cooker, complete with every cooking accessory you could need. Large dining table off the bright, spacious living area. Sun terrace overlooking very well maintained, established gardens including children's swings/slide, roundabout, and trampoline. At the foot of the gardens was a purpose built indoor heated swimming pool, jacuzzi and sauna, complete with change facilities and shower room.
There is nothing we could fault about this property.
If you're looking for a large home offering accommodation for a couple of families, including anyone in need of wheelchair access, The Cottage Beyond is certainly one to consider.
We all would highly recommend and look forward to returning.
Thank you Alan and Christine for providing us with a welcoming holiday home for our weekend break x

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Apr 2017
What a wonderful review, we ought to recruit you to our PR team! Thank you for taking the time to write such wonderful words. We are delighted you had such a great time and look forward to your return.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing