We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A wonderful family time break.”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Cottage Beyond

The Cottage Beyond set in it's own large, private garden
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Cottage Beyond set in it's own large, private garden
Enjoy swimming and sitting in the hot tub whilst admiring your garden The fabulous pool suitable for all, with a length of 13m and a deep end for the serious swimmers
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
46 reviews
The Cottage Beyond set in it's own large, private garden
Enjoy swimming and sitting in the hot tub whilst admiring your garden
The fabulous pool suitable for all, with a length of 13m and a deep end for the serious swimmers
The front door
Enjoy swimming and sitting in the hot tub whilst admiring your garden
The light and airy lounge which has a curvaceous ramped entrance, loved by all.
The modern, curvaceous, contemporary kitchen.  Easy to use and packed with everything a cook needs.
The large solid oak dinning table capable of seating 15.
Bedroom 1 on the ground floor which is fully accessible
Bedroom 6
Entrance to the Spa Hall
Pepsi the farm dog talks to one of our cattle
Hugging goats!  Over 100 goats graze our fields, they are all friendly and like to see visitors
The magic ball which continues to amaze with it's wonderful reflections
East side of the house with the trampoline on the left and the Spa Hall on the right
One of the two circular tree seats to enjoy your morning coffee sitting under the walnut trees
Spa Hall seen from the upper lawn area
Bedroom 3 that can sleep 2 in either a super king sized bed or two singles
Bedroom 4 detail
The sauna
Swings and slide set in the garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
6 Bedrooms, 7 Bathrooms, Sleeps 16
Sampford Arundel, Wellington, Somerset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 46 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
sis4shazz...
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“A wonderful family time break.”
Reviewed 21 March 2018 for a stay in March 2018

We spent 4 nights here with our two daughters, their husbands and our two young grandchildren. From the moment we arrived we were made very welcome. The house was spotless and very well equipped. The spa hall with its pool, hot tub and sauna was brilliant and we spent a lot of time here. The grandchildren loved it. There are lots of walks around the farm and surrounding areas and if you are lucky the owners two dogs, Pepsi and Elbie will tag along also and be your unofficial guides. We had a wonderful time and would recommend it 100%.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Mar 2018
Lovely review, thank you so much. It means a lot to us that others find TCB as special as we do. We hope you will return again before too long.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
helenC513...
Chichester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Free flow fun!”
Reviewed 1 December 2017 for a stay in November 2017

A great house set in beautiful gardens with glorious views. The house has terrific open space to enable the family (13 of us, ages 4 to 70 including 5 small boys) to interact and enjoy each other plus quiet areas if required. I don't remember any quiet! Also a brilliant central kitchen for sociable cooking of vast meals! We made full use of the lovely well equipped pool and hot tub with games of water volleyball and woggle battles, of the games room, feeding the pigs, collecting eggs from the hens. Stick throwing for Pepsi and Elbie provided hours of fun, plus the bird table and lovely walks .. and chipping ice off the roundabout on the first frosty morning. Our only sadness is that we didn't have longer as there remained a long list of To Dos, Christine and Alan make brilliant suggestions and are perfect hosts.

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Dec 2017
You're too kind, loved having you and delighted you had a brilliant special birthday. We hope you will return before too long.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ninaandpa...
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
1 review
“AMAZING!!!!!!”
Reviewed 21 November 2017 for a stay in November 2017

we had a fantastic weekend the cottage is amazing and has every thing you need for the perfect break - the swimming pool was great the kids loved it - beautiful surroundings plenty to do amazing weekend cant wait to return again!!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Nov 2017
Wonderful review thank you so much. We're delighted you had an amazing time and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheilaB1
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful place for relaxation and celebrating with family and friends”
Reviewed 3 October 2017 for a stay in September 2017
1
person found this review helpful

The Cottage Beyond is a perfect place to get off the world, relax and enjoy. 7 friends meeting up to celebrate 3 ladies significant birthdays. Enjoyed walks across the fields and woods with Pepsi and Elba the owners dogs. Great fun feeding Apple, Blackberry and the other pigs with food scraps each day. The chickens provided our eggs for breakfast - part of the welcome pack also a yummy chocolate cake.
The indoor pool, jacuzzi and sauna provided relaxation and time to rejuvenate.
The cottage is well equipped with everything you need and more. We booked a local chef to cook one evening (Gayla Stewart) recommended by The Cottage she is excellent, delicious food. Also, pampering afternoon recommended (Sue Hartman).
Christine and Alan (owners) are delightful and extremely welcoming, very attentive when required, without being obtrusive.
Planning to visit again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Oct 2017
What a lovely review, thank you so much. It was a pleasure having you to stay and look forward to your return.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clairejb1
Dorset, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pefection!”
Reviewed 8 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We have just returned from a wonderful family week at this delightful home. The lovely cottage layout has been well thought out, with special touches everywhere! It is clean and very well equipped - having everything you would need for a stress free stay. Within the garden there is a beautiful swimming pool, jacuzzi, sauna, outdoor games and entertainment for all ages. Wonderful surroundings with lovely country walks, forest adventures, pigs and hens. Perfect for our grandchildren too! Thank you so much - we hope to be back one day.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Sep 2017
What a lovely review - thank you so much. We look forward to welcoming you all back again some day.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike W
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best of the Best”
Reviewed 16 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Wonderful Cottage Beyond lived up to expectations and gave whole family a weekend to remember. The setting and bird life are nature's best. Facilities are fantastic for all ages. Just perfect.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Aug 2017
What a perfect review from such wonderful guests. So pleased your milestone birthday was enjoyed by all both young and old.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cvhornsha...
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
“The perfect place!”
Reviewed 27 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

This was our second family get-together at The Cottage Beyond. We have celebrated both my parents' 70th birthdays there. We are a mixed group - ages 3 to 75 and everyone has a brilliant time. The house is spacious, immaculate and fantastically well equipped, and really well located for lovely walks. The owners are warm, welcoming and thoughtful. They even provided activities for the kids! I genuinely couldn't fault The Cottage and we are already planning when we can go back. One bit of advice - book early, its very popular! Claire

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Jul 2017
Thank you so much Claire. We're so pleased you and your family have been able to celebrate your parents milestone birthdays at TCB and very much look forward to the next big occasion.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;