We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place, slightly rude staff and food undercooked”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Nuthurst Grange Country House Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hockley Heath
Certificate of Excellence
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
137 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Nice place, slightly rude staff and food undercooked”
Reviewed 15 August 2013 via mobile

We attended a wedding here recently. The place was lovely but the staff very insistant about where we were allowed to be. We wanted a drink in the main house and the other guests but told we had to use the bar in the barn. In general everything else was good apart from the mains for the wedding meal. Lack of sauce and almost raw vegetables.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank rebecca h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    142
    56
    9
    8
    3
See reviews for
56
57
4
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Stayed here for one night after a wedding at the same venue. The room was lovely with lots of nice furniture. Beautiful location with lovely gardens. Breakfast was good with lots of options. It's not cheap and it'd been nice to have had at least a complimentary bottle of water in the room, but overall a really nice stay and would use again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lukemoorland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 8 August 2013

Well at last!!!! Was my only thoughts after looking at the large array of sheer luxury.
During the approach up the smooth Tarmac newly laid Tarmac both me and my wife looked at each other and knew we had found something we was entitled too.
After choosing a lot of country club establishments for our well deserved time together as we are both managing directors of several companies we didn't think this would be any different from the rest( we are both very fussy) and frequent a lot of other establishments claiming to achieve standards we are looking for.
As I am not a golf enthusiast I don't really fit in a lot of the other chains of clubhouse themed venues so this suited me perfectly.
The grounds around the hotel were totally perfect with regularly manicured lawns, beautifully maintained flower beds and even fabulous statues all nestling amongst the lovely backdrop of the rolling hills of Warwickshire countryside.
The helicopter pad was very inspiring for my next visit and as I am a keen pilot and will be frequenting it.
The front desk has a very welcome atmosphere and from the minute your are welcomed by the front of house you just know the whole place has genuine respect for their guests. Both myself and my wife wanted too stay overnight very quickly after our arrival but could not do so as we both had a busy work schedule the following day.
The staff and management are absolutely devoted too this business and it shows.
Our oldest child is getting married next year and after fortunately finding the nuthurst grange
Hotel will be advising him and his fiancé to look very seriously at making this the venue!!
It will make any parent proud to walk through the lovely landscapes next to his soon to be married
Son/daughter especially as I'm paying for it.
Which brings me too the final part of the fabulous nuthurst grange review ,the cost
I was pleasantly surprised upon receiving my bill with how costs was achieved considering the paramount importance we was given and I know for a fact the pristine service we both endured was worth every pennie and pound.
Long may the quality and service in the hands of an independent hotelier live.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Nuthurst Grange for a wedding. The setting is lovely and the grounds are extremely well kept. We checked in very quickly and one of the staff carried our bag to our second floor room. The room was clean and well presented there were a couple of minor issues that let the room dwn, our shower did not work and when I came to dry my hair there was no plug near a mirror and there was no milk for coffee when I came to make a cup in the morning. I am not sure the room was worth the £130.

The wedding venue was beautiful and again the staff and organisation was excellent. The barns provide a perfect setting for a small wedding and if the weather is nice the patio area is lovely.

Breakfast was of a good standard and the staff were efficient.

The hotel is well run and all the staff were very helpful. Small improvements to the room would have made it perfect. An enjoyable but expensive stay.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kate S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013 via mobile

Lovely hotel, great rooms. The four poster bed and size of bedroom came as a really pleasant surprise. Staff could have been a bit friendlier at times, but were always professional at least. Would absolutely recommend the place though and would return for a weekend get away

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samba2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwickshire
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

This was a excellent venue for my sons wedding. The small chapel, courtyard and adjacent dining areas (joined by a excellent bar) were spotless and very well laid out for the event. It catered perfectly for the smallish (50 -60) guests adn with a larger party in the evening.

I could not fault their attention to detail - the hotel staff were friendly and servie in the hotel itself was spot on. we had a "four poster" bedrooom which was enormous with a huge bathroom attached and had great view over the countryside.

Breakfast in the morning was lovely and I got the impression noting was too much trouble for the team that served us. A particular foible of mine is the quality of the table linen and napkins - it always tells me a bit about how much effort the hotel is prepared to go to make the right impression . . . theirs was perfectly white and crisp (passed my test)

Great place - not just for a wedding but for somewhere to stay with a bit of class.

Room Tip: The "honeymoon" suite on the top floor that my son showed me has a lovely large balcony wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RichyMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2013

Attended a wedding reception here and stayed overnight. It is a beautiful venue made even better by the staff who were helpful and polite. Drinks were served on an attractive terrace with a nive view. Excellent food at the wedding breakfast and in the evening we transferred through the grounds to the converted stables, which was a good venue for the dancing and with a bar & outside area with gas heaters - these added to the atmosphere but didn't provide much heat on a chilly evening! We had room No 1 for the night. A downstairs, large, attractive room and bathroom in period style. I didn't find the bed particularly comfortable - a bit of rolling into the middle - though my husband found it ok. Just one niggle - why was there no shower gel? Breakfast was served in the orangery and was quite nice. I would have liked to have spent more time in the grounds. I would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monilovey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hockley Heath
2.8 mi away
Hogarths Hotel
Hogarths Hotel
#1 of 2 in Dorridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 806 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Oak Hotel
The Oak Hotel
#2 of 2 in Hockley Heath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
16.5 mi away
Coombe Abbey Hotel
Coombe Abbey Hotel
#3 of 39 in Coventry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Solihull
Crowne Plaza Solihull
#9 of 25 in Solihull
4.0 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
4.1 mi away
Village Hotel Solihull
Village Hotel Solihull
#10 of 25 in Solihull
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,561 reviews
1.3 mi away
Premier Inn Solihull (Hockley Heath, M42) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nuthurst Grange Country House Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nuthurst Grange Country House Hotel & Restaurant

Property: Nuthurst Grange Country House Hotel & Restaurant
Address: Nuthurst Grange Lane, Hockley Heath, Solihull B94 5NL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Solihull > Hockley Heath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hockley Heath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Nuthurst Grange Country House Hotel & Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in more than seven acres of private woodlands, Nuthurst Grange is within easy reach of Birmingham, Solihull, Coventry, Warwick and, of course, Shakespeare’s birthplace Stratford upon Avon. Close to major motorway links, Nuthurst Grange is also within easy reach of the NEC and Birmingham International Airport ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Nuthurst Grange Country House Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nuthurst Grange Country Hotel
Nuthurst Grange Country House Hotel & Restaurant Hockley Heath, Warwickshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing