We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Afternoon Tea”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Nuthurst Grange Country House Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hockley Heath
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
144 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Afternoon Tea”
Reviewed 20 December 2013

Girls/Ladies Christmas office outing for afternoon tea,friendly and efficient staff set in a lovely country house,sandwiches a little boring but a delicious selection of cakes and very well presented except that the quality of the cups and saucers was not 4 star,tea should be drunk out of bone china and should match or contrast markedly with the rest of the china on the table.It might sound a little bit petty but it just took the edge off a 4 star experience.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    142
    56
    9
    8
    3
See reviews for
56
57
4
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

This was our third visit, and once again it lived up to our expectations. The staff were friendly and most helpful, the food was excellent and well presented, and the room was spacious and well appointed. It is a good venue for that special occasion, such as our wedding anniversary. The hotel faces south west overlooking the Warwickshire countryside. The grounds are well tended, with lawns and woodland. There is ample car-parking close to the hotel, but without spoiling the setting. The ground floor is wheelchair accessible, and a ramp is available for the front door. Although there is no lift, there are 2 downstairs bedrooms, while able-bodied guests may prefer the upstairs rooms..

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NickE332
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We went to Nuthurst Grange for a meal in their fine dining restaurant. The food was excellent, and the waiter could not have been better. We had a fantastic evening. Well done. Nice to know there is at least one place locally where service is still proper. Our compliments to all your staff.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Noel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul H, Owner at Nuthurst Grange Country House Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Dear Sir
Thank you for taking the time to write a postive review of the hotel .As a owner it is nice to see there are people out there that write postive constructive reviews.I hope to see returning soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmarthen
Level Contributor
135 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 786 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

We celebrated our God Daughter's wedding at Nuthurst Grange and the event was a huge success. The venue, food and facilities were all first class and the hard working Manager/Master of Ceremonies ensured that the special day went to plan.

In complete contrast to the Wedding, our stay in Room 13 could not have been worse. When we entered our room it reeked of smoke and when we turned down the bed there were two large patches of mould on the sheets.

One of the highlights of a weekend away in a Country Hotel is the leisurely breakfast on Sunday morning, so having read the menu in the room the night before we were looking forward to the advertised fresh fruit smoothie, porridge, kedgeree and smoked haddock so I was disappointed to find the only option available was a traditional cooked breakfast.

As I wrote in my letter of complaint, I don't object to paying a premium price, but I expect a premium product and Nuthurst Grange did not provide it.

I directed my complaints to the owner Mr Paul Hopwood, but he did not even bother to reply. A member of his staff replied on his behalf explaining the strong smell of smoke in the room was the fault of their guests. The problem with the bed linen was the fault of their linen/laundry supplier and finally the breakfast was limited because of the discounted rate of £128.00 for guests attending the wedding.

I wrote back saying that I didn't accept any of their comments as they totally missed the point of my complaints.

The room still smelt of smoke after being made up by house keeping.

The staff fitted the mouldy sheets, so why blame the laundry.

If they had checked their accounts they would have seen that I did pay the full rate of £143 and not a discounted rate of £128.

Having waited two weeks for a reply from Mr Hopwood, I gave up on him and decided to write this review for Trip Advisor.

Room Tip: Avoid Room 13, as all the smokers congregate in a shelter below the bedroom window and the room smel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank JCA1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul H, Owner at Nuthurst Grange Country House Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
I am sorry you were disappointed with your stay at Nuthurst Grange and regret that you found it necessary to report this matter. Rest assured I personally read all letters directed to me and their subsequent replies but have great faith in my employees who respond on my behalf. I take all complaints very seriously and take all necessary steps to avoid re occurrence. I understand from my general manager that you were offered an alternative room which you declined and as such he assumed you to be satisfied at that time. I have also spoken to my housekeeping team and although the marks were minimal and could easily be missed I totally agree that this is unacceptable and have highlighted this incident to our laundry provider. I feel the letter of response to your initial contact was sufficient but should you wish to discuss it further please give me a call.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 3 October 2013

We stayed at Nuthurst Grange in July and had the most wonderful relaxing time the room was beautiful and everything was catered for so well ..... amazing views ...the staff are wonderful and couldn't do enough for us ...the food was delicious I would recommend to stay here to anyone it is a beautiful peaceful place to unwind and the gardens are lovely to walk around Thank you once again for a very special stay and we hope to stay there again next time we are in the country

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 605Deb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugene, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 September 2013

I am American who recently had the pleasure of having lunch at this property with my friends who live in the area & whose son is head chef. Everything was exceptional including the food & the staff who were very accommodating & made sure that we where well looked after! I would not hesitate to recommend the hotel as well as the restaurant for my many friends who visit the UK in their travels abroad. It was certainly a five star experience for all of us. I can only hope that I can enjoy the experience again at some point in the future!

Room Tip: Since I was only there for a meal & all the rooms were in use I was unable to tour the room. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank virginia k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llansanffraid Glan Conwy, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Just spent a wonderful weekend at Nuthurst Grange for the wedding of our niece on 1st September 2013. Anyone planning a wedding look no further than Nuthurst Grange, this is a perfect wedding venue.. From the moment we arrived the staff were welcoming and helpful..The evening reception was held in the Barn which is set away from the main hotel, so not to be intrusive on other guests. The hog roast was a great success with our menfolk and the courtyard heaters added a warm glow to an autumn evening. Children are well catered for and have plenty of outdoor space to run around in the lovely gardens, or crawl if you are only eight months old like our grandson. A perfect day in a perfect setting, true romance.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnieWin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hockley Heath
2.8 mi away
Hogarths Hotel
Hogarths Hotel
#1 of 2 in Dorridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 806 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Oak Hotel
The Oak Hotel
#2 of 2 in Hockley Heath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
16.5 mi away
Coombe Abbey Hotel
Coombe Abbey Hotel
#3 of 39 in Coventry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Solihull
Crowne Plaza Solihull
#9 of 25 in Solihull
4.0 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
4.1 mi away
Village Hotel Solihull
Village Hotel Solihull
#10 of 25 in Solihull
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,561 reviews
1.3 mi away
Premier Inn Solihull (Hockley Heath, M42) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nuthurst Grange Country House Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nuthurst Grange Country House Hotel & Restaurant

Property: Nuthurst Grange Country House Hotel & Restaurant
Address: Nuthurst Grange Lane, Hockley Heath, Solihull B94 5NL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Solihull > Hockley Heath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hockley Heath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Nuthurst Grange Country House Hotel & Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in more than seven acres of private woodlands, Nuthurst Grange is within easy reach of Birmingham, Solihull, Coventry, Warwick and, of course, Shakespeare’s birthplace Stratford upon Avon. Close to major motorway links, Nuthurst Grange is also within easy reach of the NEC and Birmingham International Airport ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Nuthurst Grange Country House Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nuthurst Grange Country Hotel
Nuthurst Grange Country House Hotel & Restaurant Hockley Heath, Warwickshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing