We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“relaxing and excellent food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Nuthurst Grange Country House Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hockley Heath
Certificate of Excellence
Stourbridge,West Midlands
Level Contributor
148 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“relaxing and excellent food”
Reviewed 27 April 2007

I treated my elderly parents to a weekend break at Nuthurst Grange.On arrival they were offered a choice of bedrooms as they were not full.They chose the ground floor executive room overlooking the pond.The room was large and very comfortable.The grounds were a joy and afternoon tea was taken outside (weather permitting).They both ate in the restaurant and described the food as superb and not really bettered elsewhere. They have both stayed at many 5 star deluxe hotels and this was just as good.The hotel was conveniently located near the motorways and the pleasant local countryside.A very enjoyable stay.

  • Liked — food in the restaurant
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JB4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    142
    55
    9
    8
    3
See reviews for
56
57
4
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2006

I stayed for one night on business.

Positives:
Comfortable and pleasant lounge and restaurant. The food and service in the restaurant are very good (both dinner and breakfast). The hotel grounds are spacious and very attractive. Staff is friendly and professional. Spacious, well-fitted, and very clean bedroom and bathroom.

Negatives:
Close to M40 motorway, so traffic noise is constant (although it is a steady background hum so didn't disturb my sleep). Dinner is relatively expensive. Bed could be more comfortable - a better quality mattress would be more in keeping with the overall quality of the hotel.

I would stay here again, and I am pretty picky!

  • Liked — spacious and very clean room
  • Disliked — bed not totally comfortable
  • Tips/Secrets — If traffic noise bothers you request a room facing away from the nearby motorway
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jctee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitstable, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2006

After dropping our two darling children to their first ever summer camp, we wanted a grown up, relaxing night together and Nuthurst Grange did not disappoint. We found it to be very relaxed, quiet and completely childfree!

The staff were friendly and welcoming and we were escorted up to our room even though it would have been easy to find.

The room was spacious with the both the bed and sofa being extremely comfortable. It was as if someone had found my wishlist for a hotel bedroom! We had fresh fruit, fresh milk for tea and fresh coffee! There was a whirlpool bath that was relaxing and they provided bath salts and a body scrub to use. We also had bathrobes and slippers, which were a nice touch. There was also a hand shower and a big overhead shower that were easy to control and had good pressure.

There were some rather nice lounges and the restaurant was lovely. The waiters were attentive while not being too pushy or "in your face" . As a veggie, I was pleased to see that we had our own varied menu. My husband, who isn't a veggie, enjoyed his meal as well. All the food was well cooked and presented. We especially enjoyed our breakfasts. His lordship had the full English breakfast, which he said was very nice and I had the poached eggs with hollandaise sauce, which I would highly recommend.

This was a very pleasant night away from home without the kids and we will definately be going back.

  • Liked — The little extras
  • Disliked — nothing!
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MandyF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surbiton, Surrey
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2005

Charming hotel. Very homely but luxurious. I stay in hotels most weeks - and do not appreciate the overpriced poor quality of the corporate chains. Nuthurst Grange came in cheaper for me than the well known 4/5* chains - and was streets ahead. High quality service, friendly and courteous staff - 5* service. The rooms were large and luxurious with many nice personal touches - i.e. Port and Sherry/Home Cooked Shortbread Biscuits/Jacuzzi/Proper Tea and Coffee facilities (i.e. real ground coffee)/large bowl of fruit/Mineral Water/Bath Gowns. Excellent breakfast with options such as Kedgeree (really good) and Scrambled Eggs with Smoked Salmon.

I would say its a home from home, but its nicer than my home - I will definitely stay again. It does have a helicopter pad if you need it!

Helpful?
6 Thank SurbSi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale AZ
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2004

If you've always wanted your own country estate, but your budget won't allow it, book a few days here. It feels like your own home and the staff are wonderful! You can stroll down country lanes, sit outside on the patio with a good book, or relax in the lobby with a pot of coffee or tea. Meals are the best part. On our first morning, we asked to have a traditional English breakfast via room service. Wow! It was a perfect way to start the day. Lunch was even better. The food was prepared fresh and served instantly with great care and attention to detail. An absolute delight in the English countryside.

  • Stayed August 2004, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank smithres1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hockley Heath
2.8 mi away
Hogarths Hotel
Hogarths Hotel
#1 of 2 in Dorridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 805 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Oak Hotel
The Oak Hotel
#2 of 2 in Hockley Heath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
16.5 mi away
Coombe Abbey Hotel
Coombe Abbey Hotel
#3 of 39 in Coventry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Solihull
Crowne Plaza Solihull
#9 of 25 in Solihull
4.0 of 5 bubbles 612 reviews
4.1 mi away
Village Hotel Solihull
Village Hotel Solihull
#10 of 25 in Solihull
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,550 reviews
1.3 mi away
Premier Inn Solihull (Hockley Heath, M42) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nuthurst Grange Country House Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nuthurst Grange Country House Hotel & Restaurant

Property: Nuthurst Grange Country House Hotel & Restaurant
Address: Nuthurst Grange Lane, Hockley Heath, Solihull B94 5NL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Solihull > Hockley Heath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hockley Heath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Nuthurst Grange Country House Hotel & Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in more than seven acres of private woodlands, Nuthurst Grange is within easy reach of Birmingham, Solihull, Coventry, Warwick and, of course, Shakespeare’s birthplace Stratford upon Avon. Close to major motorway links, Nuthurst Grange is also within easy reach of the NEC and Birmingham International Airport ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Nuthurst Grange Country House Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nuthurst Grange Country Hotel
Nuthurst Grange Country House Hotel & Restaurant Hockley Heath, Warwickshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing