We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, great value, use it!”
Review of The Oak Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Oak Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Hockley Heath
Reviewed 4 July 2014

What a great find, recently opened this hotel is fantastic value. Just off about a mile from the M40, it was very quite. The room and shower were very good. Excellent number of power points so we could charge both phones and this iPad, with sockets to spare. Free Wifi which worked well. The food was very good and like the room excellent value. We don't eat cooked breakfast but the hot food looked well prepared.

Would we stop again, most certainly yes.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank BarcodeUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOakHotel, Manager at The Oak Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2014

Thank you for your great review. We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us and can see the hard work we have put in to make this a comfy and enviting hotel for all our guests and diners. We do hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (359)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

338 - 344 of 359 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2014

I went to stay at the oak hotel on 20th June for the weekend my partner is staying there while he works in the area . The staff at the hotel could not be faulted they offered a very friendly but professional service the managers were very friendly and my stay was very enjoyable the restaurant was exceptional but the best part of my stay was the fantastic Sunday carvery my daughter and her partner joined us and we all agreed it was the best carvery we've eaten anywhere .we would certainly go again.infact I'm back there this weekend and will be enjoying it then all in all I would recommend this hotel to anybody. We live in Crosby Liverpool and I was trying to convince my daughter to have her wedding there as the function room and facilities were exceptional.well done to all concerned lynn from liverpool

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynnkelly60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOakHotel, Manager at The Oak Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Thank you for your lovley comments we are looking forward to seeing you again and would look forward to any function you may book.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We stayed here on our way to the Cotswolds/Stratford upon Avon and what a little gem it is. We arrived quite late and ate in the restaurant finding the food tasty and portions sufficient, the staff were friendly and attentive. The room was immaculate, bed was comfy, shower clean and powerful. The breakfast was excellent, in fact far better than a top hotel in Stratford. We have discussed coming back on our way down South again and quite honestly it will be a pleasure to return.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Ann H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOakHotel, Manager at The Oak Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

So glad you enjoyed your stay and we will look forward to a return visit from you.
Thank you for your kind review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

It's a pity that the restaurant, which is open to the public independently of the hotel, isn't listed separately because I'm reviewing the restaurant and didn't stay at the hotel. The atmosphere in the restaurant is very pleasant and the decor is classy,, there's no feeling that this is a pub restaurant. The menu offers two for one on a number of dishes for £9.95, rather an unexciting choice but that would be OK if it was good. The starters were more interesting and the crispy duck and toasted Brie were great and promised much. Unfortunately the 'chunky' battered cod wasn't particularly chunky - mine seemed to be a tail - and the batter was thin and crispy, which was fine but it was also a little greasy. There's a good selection of desserts for £3.95, with no description apart from the name so it was disappointing that the coffee gateau was mass produced and not entirely defrosted - some the filling was still frozen and the mandarin segment on mine (orange isn't mentioned on the menu) was like an ice lolly. Other main courses not on the two for one might be better but they cost about twice as much for two people. Service was generally good and there was certainly a pleasant atmosphere in the dining room.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank jacquir88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOakHotel, Manager at The Oak Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2014

Thank you for your review. We have tried to provide something for everyone on our menu but we have duly noted your comments. We do hope you will return for another visit to try other items on the menu or perhaps try a night in our equally hospitable hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Stayed for 1 night with my husband and 3 year old. Booked with the hotel directly and Amy at reception was super helpful. Managed to get a large double room with extra bed for £45 including a lovely hot breakfast.
The hotel is refurbished and plush and the staff we came across were all helpful and friendly. A great stopover.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sabzy80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOakHotel, Manager at The Oak Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Thank you for your great review hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

wanted a night away from home to visit some national trust places, so googled hotels near the NT houses, and this place was within 3 miles. What a find, all the staff smiling and helpful, room was brilliant value, bed was comfortable, good shower cubicle. had a meal in the restaurant... good hot food, and lots of it too..same again for breakfast.... would recommend this place to anyone we will be going back

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rae C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOakHotel, Manager at The Oak Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Was our pleasure to have you stay. Look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

I went to a party and needed a room nearby that was good value. Booked through laterooms.com and got a double, with breakfast for £45.

Hotel decor was very posh.Everything new just three week's ago. Bed was really comfortable. Shower was very powerful. Carpet in room was thick and plush. Staff were helpful and polite. Breakfast was good. I would have liked softer lighting in the room as the over bed lights had very bright bulbs in. I would also have liked a selection of types of tea at breakfast. Amazing value. Receptionist said that if customers phoned up they would match the internet prices for rooms at the weekend.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOakHotel, Manager at The Oak Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Thank you for your great comments. We now have a selection of teas for our guests .
Hope you call again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hockley Heath
3.8 mi away
The Regency Hotel Solihull
5.0 mi away
Ramada Birmingham Solihull
4.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Solihull
Crowne Plaza Solihull
#7 of 28 in Solihull
692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Henley Hotel
Best Western Plus Henley Hotel
#2 of 3 in Henley-in-Arden
320 reviews
4.2 mi away
Village Hotel Solihull
Village Hotel Solihull
#13 of 28 in Solihull
1,884 reviews
7.6 mi away
Arden Hotel & Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oak Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oak Hotel

Address: 8640 Stratford Road, Hockley Heath, Solihull B94 5NW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Solihull > Hockley Heath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Hockley Heath
Price Range: £39 - £84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Oak Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The premises both internally and externally including the bar, restaurant and function room have been completely refurbished in a contemporary, bright and luxurious style. We have built 63 brand new, comfortable and cosy guest rooms, all with en-suite facilities ranging from our Standard double or twin rooms through to our Royal Suite. The Oak Hotel is located within the beautiful Warwickshire countryside and is within easy reach of Birmingham, Solihull, Stratford Upon Avon and Warwick making it an ideal base to explore these and the surrounding areas or when visiting any of the wide range of attractions on offer including the LG Arena, Birmingham NEC, Warwick Castle, Shakespeare County and Cadbury world to name but a few. You can find out more here. Situated less than a mile from Junction 16 of the M40 with ease of access to the main road networks including the M42, M6, M5 and M1 and only 12 miles from the Birmingham Airport our central England location makes us a great venue for business or leisure. Wendy and her team offer a very warm and friendly welcome with first class hospitality whether you are here to enjoy a coffee or drink as you pass by, a meal in the restaurant or an overnight stay with us. Here at The Oak Hotel we also host business conferences, meetings and other special events including weddings, anniversaries and parties and we are always happy to work with you to provide exactly what you need. Here at The Oak Hotel we are now fully licensed for marriages and civil ceremony’s please visit the Warwickshire County Council website for more information We hope to see you in the very near future! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Oak Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Oak Hotel Hockley Heath, Warwickshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing