We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nicely surprised!”
Review of The Oak Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Oak Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Hockley Heath
Certificate of Excellence
Haverfordwest
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nicely surprised!”
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Conveniently situated close to the M40, this recently refurbished hotel/diner and function suite provided a very reasonably priced 'half board' 3-day break. We were given a quiet room (as advised that there was a function booked for the Saturday evening, although any noise/music, etc. would not continue beyond midnight.) The room itself was very comfortable - pleasantly decorated, nicely furnished with a new bed, etc. plus a desk and armchair. Towels were changed each day - and all carpets seemed new. As stated by another reviewer, the 'half board' meal was only a main course chosen from the 2 for 1 menu. But it was adequate as was the breakfast - although no orange juice either on 2nd and 3rd days! But with plenty of free parking and free WiFi, pleasant helpful staff, we would certainly return. Two or three extras would have made it excellent: a table lamp on the desk, a light above the bathroom mirror and shelving. Also, why the high Reception Counter? Quite unnecessary and unfriendly for both staff and guests.

Room Tip: Request a quiet room if there is a function booked - particularly if you are not attending it! Mayb...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patsi G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOakHotel, Manager at The Oak Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Thank you for your comments. We do hope you return soon as we are altering things constantly to make our guests experience the best it can be here at The Oak.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    123
    99
    45
    26
    18
See reviews for
69
112
12
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Stayed in the newly refurbished Oak Hotel on Saturday evening, the receptionist was very helpful, clean, nicely decorated room, ate in the restaurant, good Menu, great staff, fantastic value for money. Ideal location, definitely will return soon.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diana G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOakHotel, Manager at The Oak Hotel, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Your kind words will be passed on to all our staff thank you. We are all encouraged that you enjoyed your stay and will visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High Bentham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

reasonably priced hotel, no frills, rooms basic but extremely clean. Staff were very helpful and polite and went the extra mile to help. The only downside was breakfast which was a bit of a bun fight. The first morning we stayed they only had apple juice as the juice option as the orange had run out, the second morning (24 hours later) still no orange juice and only apple, I can only assume that there are no shops around Solihull that sell orange juice, a small niggle but justified if the comments of the other guests were noted. Anyway all in all a pleasant budget hotel just needs a few things tweaking but keep the staff they are lovely.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOakHotel, Manager at The Oak Hotel, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Thank you for your review we will take on board any points raised that need attention. We do hope that you will visit again to see for yourself your concerns have been addressed. Thank you for your positive review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cwmbran, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
242 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Firstly we got an amazing price for 2 nights half board at this hotel. We were amazed actually. But as the old adage goes, no such thing as a free lunch. The hotel looks new, it's clean and tidy and on the main road to Hockley Heath, so convenient for Stratford, Warwick, etc.

We booked two rooms, asking for them both to be QUIET. Having read the reviews we knew that this place could well have weddings and functions on a summer weekend so we wanted to be put out of the way somewhere.

We went down for food on the first night. The waitress told us that half board meant we could have one main course each. Not a starter or a dessert. A main course. Just that. Now I've stayed in many countries, across many continents and have never been anywhere where half board was just a main course. And a limited main course at that. There is a 2 for 1 menu and you're allowed to have something off that. When asked if we could have something else and pay the difference we were given a very sharp 'no - just this menu'. So we found something to eat and paid for starters and dessert. Essentially as this is a 2 for 1 deal your half board evening meal costs about £5 each. Really. £5.

The next morning we had breakfast. I love a buffet breakfast. Usually I like it all in one go though. We had to go back and forth for bits to be brought out from the kitchen so you got a sausage starter and then a tomato chaser. Not great. Also no orange juice, only apple. And Bran Flakes or Special K were the cereal choices. Nothing remotely appetising. And no marmalade, yoghurt, etc. On the second morning breakfast was better, well it was all cooked together. But still no orange juice or marmalade. (If they'd asked I would have picked some up in Tesco for them).

And finally. Saturday night. Remember our QUIET rooms. Well one of them was pretty quiet, just a dull thumping sound from downstairs. However, the other room was horrific. The TV was actually shaking on the wall. Then of course we had the banging doors, giggling in the corridors that inevitably follows a party. Classy. Combine that with the lads who were endlessly kicking a football at the wall next to where were having dinner the previous evening and generally we were pretty glad to leave.

On a plus point the young lady on reception when we checked out was very gracious. She read our booking details and saw that we'd asked for QUIET rooms and said 'they should have known that room would be noisy'. She apologised, but sadly it was too late to save our opinion of this place. Oh and the young cleaning lady was very helpful and polite.

It's unprofessional. There are too many rough edges that haven't been polished yet. Lots of effort seem to go in to functions or large parties when the general punter is more of an inconvenience. Sad really as it could be a nice place to stay.

Room Tip: 55 was quiet but 34 was very noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Loncat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOakHotel, Manager at The Oak Hotel, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
We are disappointed that you didn't enjoy your experience with us. We do feel that we did try to address your issues whilst you were here with us. We offered immediate alternatives that you accepted but if you feel you would like to discuss any matter further please contact us on 01564 785252
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
113 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We stayed for one night while visiting family in the area and only booked because our usual places were full or very expensive. After reading reviews and with limited options we decided to give this one a try. From the outside this hotel is lovely, especially the landscaping in the front, and all of the staff we met were friendly and helpful. We were told that there was a function on that evening and that the hotel was full but that didn't particularly bother us because we went straight out after checking in and didn't return until around midnight. As for the room itself, we got a ground floor room and while everything worked and the bed was comfortable you did get the impression that things might have been refurbished on the cheap. The bathroom had all you would expect but could have been better. For example the shower cubicle was the smallest I've had in any hotel and was a squeeze to get into. The toilet seat looked flimsy, like it was from a 'value range' and the decorating was a bit shoddy to be honest. The kettle in the room while working and doing its job looked like it cost about a fiver. All little grumbles now but I wouldn't be surprised if these little things didn't last very long. Our ground floor room overlooked the restaurants outside seating/smoking area and there was no net curtain so we had to draw the curtains while we showered and got changed. The biggest disappointment though is the noise from the other rooms. I was woken at 06:15 by somebody simply walking around in the room above, they didn't do anything wrong but the sound insulation seems to be non-existent. As the morning drew on I could clearly hear people in other rooms talking, their tv's going on and people walking along the corridor. Eventually we went to breakfast and, again, all of the staff were very nice and the buffet cooked breakfast went down a treat. Unfortunately though, purely down to the lack of sleep we got, we won't be booking this hotel again which is a shame because it looks so nice and we did expect better.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank barnieslad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOakHotel, Manager at The Oak Hotel, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
We have taken your comments on board , thank you for your review. Should you wish to discuss any matters further please contact us 01564 785252
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Very clean welcoming hotel, the room was everything you'd want in a hotel stay apart from no hair dryer for the wife. The evening meal was substantial and a very nice breakfast to. Not to far from the NEC, very easy to find and in a nice area.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony3327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOakHotel, Manager at The Oak Hotel, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Thank you for your review we are happy you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingswinford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Warm welcome on our arrival and the staff were very friendly and helpful. The room we were given was very spacious and very clean and modern as was the entire hotel. We had a great meal in the hotel restaurant and service was quick and food perfectly cooked.Would we stay here again...a big fat yes we loved it.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank neil1502014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOakHotel, Manager at The Oak Hotel, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Thank you very much for your kind review. It is encouraging to hear that you enjoyed your stay and enjoyed your meal we do hope you return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hockley Heath
0.2 mi away
Nuthurst Grange Country House Hotel & Restaurant
1.3 mi away
Premier Inn Solihull (Hockley Heath, M42) Hotel
2.8 mi away
Hogarths Hotel
Hogarths Hotel
#1 of 2 in Dorridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Ramada Birmingham Solihull
8.5 mi away
The Strawberry Bank Hotel & Restaurant
4.2 mi away
Village Hotel Solihull
Village Hotel Solihull
#10 of 25 in Solihull
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oak Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oak Hotel

Property: The Oak Hotel
Address: 8640 Stratford Road, Hockley Heath, Solihull B94 5NW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Solihull > Hockley Heath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Hockley Heath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Oak Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The premises both internally and externally including the bar, restaurant and function room have been completely refurbished in a contemporary, bright and luxurious style. We have built 63 brand new, comfortable and cosy guest rooms, all with en-suite facilities ranging from our Standard double or twin rooms through to our Royal Suite. The Oak Hotel is located within the beautiful Warwickshire countryside and is within easy reach of Birmingham, Solihull, Stratford Upon Avon and Warwick making it an ideal base to explore these and the surrounding areas or when visiting any of the wide range of attractions on offer including the LG Arena, Birmingham NEC, Warwick Castle, Shakespeare County and Cadbury world to name but a few. You can find out more here. Situated less than a mile from Junction 16 of the M40 with ease of access to the main road networks including the M42, M6, M5 and M1 and only 12 miles from the Birmingham Airport our central England location makes us a great venue for business or leisure. Wendy and her team offer a very warm and friendly welcome with first class hospitality whether you are here to enjoy a coffee or drink as you pass by, a meal in the restaurant or an overnight stay with us. Here at The Oak Hotel we also host business conferences, meetings and other special events including weddings, anniversaries and parties and we are always happy to work with you to provide exactly what you need. Here at The Oak Hotel we are now fully licensed for marriages and civil ceremony’s please visit the Warwickshire County Council website for more information We hope to see you in the very near future! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Oak Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Oak Hotel Hockley Heath, Warwickshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing