We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Old English Charm works”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Howard Arms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Howard Arms
Ranked #1 of 3 Ilmington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
314 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Old English Charm works”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2008

Excellent food and service. Very impressive place to take overseas visitors at it is full of old English charm.

Sister restaurant (Horse and Groom) also excellent and near Moreton in Marsh.

  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
Helpful?
Thank Fosseboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    226
    69
    32
    12
    5
See reviews for
44
204
5
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Warwickshire, England
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2008

Great quality food with a good choice detailed on a blackboard.
Log fire added to the good atmosphere.

Room quality was good with the fluffiest towels I have ever experienced great quality toileties and tea/coffees tray with proper china cups.

Flat screen TV with built in DVD and opportunity to access DVD library.

Not a lot to see in the village - we popped to Chipping Campden to peruse the high street shops.

Closes early afternoon and reopens at 6pm- worth noting.

Would recommend The Howard Arms- not cheap but as stated earlier you get what you pay for!

  • Liked — Room & food quality
  • Disliked — Opening hours & scaffolding at rear- but did not hinder stay
  • Stayed February 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reguser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sutton coldfield
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2007

What a wonderful place to stay, we stayed for two nights and stayed with friends, the people were genuinely lovely people who made our stay very enjoyable.

Having travelled on various occasions mainly abroad - I was astounded at how pretty this village was and enjoyed the experience immensely.

Full marks to the Howard Arms everything was first class would definitely stay again!

  • Liked — Tranquility
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank martinveness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire, UK.
Level Contributor
124 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2007

We stayed here on a mid week DB&B leisure deal for two nights (£158 per night which included a £55 supper allowance each night!!)

The pub has three rooms. Our room had wonderful views over the village green and was spacious, charming and elegent. The room had a nice double bed and small seating area. Tea, coffee and biscuits were provided together with a luxury toiletries.

Breakfast was served between 8.30 and 9.30. You select what you want the night before but there was plenty of choice and the food was of a good standard.

We found the staff to be friendly and helpful. There was a good range of food with a menu that is changed regularly (the chips and garlic mash were really lovely....) There was a selection of interesing local cask beers. There was an excellent choice of wines too.

The accommodation provided a good base to explore the Cotswold. There were also walks available from the pub which were lovely.

This is cetainly worth a visit!

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing really...
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JoWilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2007

My wife and I decided to round off a cycling tour of the Cotswolds with a night at the Howard Arms. We have eaten there on several occasions and had the highest expectations. We weren't disappointed. We had a nice room at the front of the pub overlooking the village. Dinner and breakfast were both fabulous. Certainly not cheap at £120 per night for B&B but you get what you pay for.

  • Liked — Fabulous food & drink, great service
  • Disliked — Seems to be run for the convenience of the staff - can't check in between 4 and 6, dinner between 7 and 9, check out by 10:30.
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank W P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barton-upon-Humber, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
183 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 231 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2005

We only ate here so I can only speak about the food.
A very good menu and our choice of dinner was great, a friendly pub with a nice atmosphere.
I would definately think of staying here if in the area again.

Stayed September 2005
Helpful?
1 Thank mauritiusbride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 February 2004

When we Brits talk about the great British Pub this is what we mean. A place that serves great food with great booze and all you have to do is crawl upstairs to bed. It is everything you could possibly want. The food is fantastic, the rooms are great and the atmosphere is wonderful (ok there are a few Daily Telegraph Readers around, but that's a minor point). Enjoy and bring a stomach pump.

Helpful?
5 Thank Matchbox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ilmington
13.5 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,104 reviews
3.1 mi away
Ettington Park Hotel
Ettington Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Alderminster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,402 reviews
2.7 mi away
Charingworth Manor
Charingworth Manor
#1 of 3 in Chipping Campden
4.5 of 5 bubbles 973 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
White Hart Royal Hotel
White Hart Royal Hotel
#2 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,792 reviews
9.5 mi away
Buckland Manor Country House Hotel
7.2 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#5 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,992 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Howard Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Howard Arms

Property: The Howard Arms
Address: Lower Green, Ilmington CV36 4LT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Ilmington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Ilmington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Howard Arms 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the picturesque village green of Ilimington, set in the crook of the Cotswold Hills, lies The Howard Arms, a stunning, 400-year-old Cotswold stone inn.The stylish pub and dining room provide the ideal backdrop for an appealing mix of old furniture, broad polished flagstones and a log fire that burns for most of the year. Upstairs, three beautiful bedrooms have been joined by five newly-built sumptuous and spacious bedrooms which all boast separate power shower and bath, free internet access and iPod docks. Ultimate luxury and comfort are the focus of each bedroom which offer beautiful bigs beds with hand-stitched and sprung mattresses, modern fabrics and a clever mix of antique furnishings to ensure that each room offers its own personality. As the Howard Arms is sited away from main roads or street lights, a good night's sleep will leave you revitalized and refreshed, ready to enjoy our 'famous' three-course breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Howard Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Howard Arms Hotel Ilmington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing