We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never fails to impress”
Review of The Howard Arms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Howard Arms
Ranked #1 of 3 Ilmington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 October 2013

This was out fourth trip to the Howard Arms. It is an hour from where we live by car but worth the trip. We ate here on our wedding anniversary last year and this time for my birthday. The service and the quality of the food were, as always, both impressive. Thank you for another memorable night.

Room Tip: Eat in the restaurant for a more formal feel but the bar area is comfortable too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ohbytheway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (390)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

253 - 259 of 390 reviews

Reviewed 20 September 2013

After a matinee at the RSC always good to extend the day by staying overnight. Found The Howard Arms a very suitable inn to do just that. Warm welcome but told shower in room was not working,however, a bottle of wine offered as compensation. Had a pre dinner pint of Old Hookey which was excellent. The room was large and furnished with "antique" furniture. It needed a bit of tlc but overall was okay.The evening meal was good. The restaurant efficiently run by Jane. My steak was well presented and delicious. My wife who is a" fish a holic" was pleased with her sea bass. Breakfast again was good and well presented. On paying the bill a further 25% was deducted from the room price because of the shower. Good business sense! The setting is Cotswold village---- enough said!! The Howard Arms is worth a visit,

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank macnewport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013

Having 'discovered' this place in 2008 in the Good Pub Guide, we were taken in by the combination of lovely rooms, proper pub and rustic, yet chic country dining room. We have returned over the years, taking family to experience the place as an alternative to the more central Cotswolds destinations, as well as recommending the place to others.

We returned this month having not stayed here for over 2 years, but nothing has really changed. New manager's arrival may see some minor changes, but the lovely combination of pub, restaurant and rooms all within touching distance creates a wonderful atmosphere which can all too easily be ripped out when places are 'modernised' or brought 'up to date'. That is the main draw here.

The pub is stone flagged, with a large inglenook at one end, with cosy areas of seating throughout. The central bar serves a short but sweet selection of local ales, all well kept. The dining room is raised to the right side of the pub, creating a separate area but still linking you to the pub and it's atmosphere. Food is good pub food - gastropub is sometimes a derogatory word but it's close to the style here. Large portions of well cooked food are the norm, with great modern and classic British favourites throughout the menu. Wine list is varied, some unusual gems here, most of which are by the glass too.

Rooms vary in size, depending on where they are. Pub rooms are full of character but slightly smaller than the purpose built stone addition to the rear, where modern country comforts vary from room to room, each one individually styled. We had the Summer Room in the eaves - large bed, walk-in bathroom behind it, separate WC. All very comfortable.

Ilmington is a lovely small village, only one local shop, but winding paths and a great church to explore makes the setting very pleasant. Whether it's for one night or a few days, The Howard Arms is a great little place which we will continue to return to.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anthlacey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

You cannot miss the Howard Arms in Ilmington, it is a very typical English pub situated by the village green and decorated with lovely summer flowers. A very friendly lady showed us to our room, The Cotswold. It is a very spacious room, with a super king size bed, with lovely bedding and comfy pillows. There is an occasional table and two chairs ideal for having a pot of tea from. The bathroom is spacious with bath and shower. The extractor unit is outside the bathroom window but the double glazing quietens the sound. The room has 'proper clothes hangers and hairdryer' such a change to the hotel type fixed ones! Fresh milk and bottled water are available from a fridge on the ground floor. We had dinner the two nights we were there and together with the breakfasts cannot fault what we had. A very nice place to stay.

Room Tip: The Cotswold is in the eaves and is very spacious. We liked it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sauvarin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Like a previous reviewer, we chose to stay at The Howard Arms for our Ruby Wedding for 3 nights over the August Bank Holiday weekend and we couldn't really have wished for more.
As on a previous stay a couple of years ago, our room was excellent, with views over the garden to one side and a neighbouring orchard/garden on the other.
We have enjoyed many lunches/dinners previously whilst passing through the village, but our family party of 15 for a celebration Sunday lunch (12 adults + 3 children) was very well looked after & the lunch was as expected.
The icing on the cake, apart from having our family with us, was that in the afternoon the Howard Arms laid on music and a barbecue in the garden. We didn't need any more to eat, but the music, from a couple of local musicians was enjoyable.
Reading this review again, it sounds very 'gushing', but we really did enjoy ourselves.
The Howard Arms is well located for visits to Cotswold attractions such as Hidcote/Kiftsgate Gardens and nearby towns including Chipping Campden.
We shall be back - but maybe just the two of us next time!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StaffsTraveller2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

We have stayed several times at The Howard, but this time brought with us some friends who were celebrating a 'big' birthday. We had a really nice lunch in the idyllic garden - excellent sandwiches and you can have a bowl of very good homemade soup with them (instead of chips) for £1 extra. It was Bank Holiday Monday and the village was buzzing with its annual Flower Show, which added a perfect sampling of traditional rural England at its best! (There was even a Spitfire fly-past to the sound of a brass band playing the Dambusters March!) What better prelude to As You Like It? The rooms this time were in the old building, above the main bar: good size, very nice decor (only niggle the electric shower that was impossible to adjust to a usable temperature - which the manager was on to as soon as I mentioned it.) The food is really very good - superb breakfast - and the service friendly and efficient. I particularly like the touch of giving you a thermos of fresh milk for the tea/coffee in the room.

Room Tip: If you pay top whack for a room in the annexe, you'll be tucked away from the pub and you'll...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Very warm welcome, we stayed in the Garden Room, which was large and spacious with dual aspect overlooking the garden although people drinking in the beer garden could see in.

Bed linen was crisp and good quality and the bed large and comfortable.

Fresh milk was provided in a flask, which is a nice touch, as were the homemade cookies.

Dinner was very good with a combination of honest pub food and good restaurant dishes with a focus on locally sourced foods.

Breakfast was just right in size, quality and flavour, again with a focus on local sourcing.
The only downside was the soundproofing from the room or rooms upstairs - the sound of footsteps, showering etc could be heard at times but this did not spoil a very nice sleep in such a peaceful village.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StevefromFrome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ilmington
2.7 mi away
Charingworth Manor
Charingworth Manor
#1 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,045 reviews
4.8 mi away
Noel Arms Hotel
Noel Arms Hotel
#3 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,053 reviews
3.4 mi away
The White Bear
The White Bear
#2 of 2 in Shipston-on-Stour
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,065 reviews
3.1 mi away
Ettington Park Hotel
Ettington Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Alderminster
1,524 reviews
7.1 mi away
The Fish Hotel
The Fish Hotel
#4 of 6 in Broadway
740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Howard Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Howard Arms

Address: Lower Green, Ilmington CV36 4LT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Ilmington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Ilmington
Price Range: £88 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Howard Arms 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the picturesque village green of Ilimington, set in the crook of the Cotswold Hills, lies The Howard Arms, a stunning, 400-year-old Cotswold stone inn.The stylish pub and dining room provide the ideal backdrop for an appealing mix of old furniture, broad polished flagstones and a log fire that burns for most of the year. Upstairs, three beautiful bedrooms have been joined by five newly-built sumptuous and spacious bedrooms which all boast separate power shower and bath, free internet access and iPod docks. Ultimate luxury and comfort are the focus of each bedroom which offer beautiful bigs beds with hand-stitched and sprung mattresses, modern fabrics and a clever mix of antique furnishings to ensure that each room offers its own personality. As the Howard Arms is sited away from main roads or street lights, a good night's sleep will leave you revitalized and refreshed, ready to enjoy our 'famous' three-course breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Ebookers and Odigeo so you can book your The Howard Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Howard Arms Hotel Ilmington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing