We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect lunch” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Howard Arms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Howard Arms
Ranked #1 of 4 Ilmington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Perfect lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Dropped in here with my son during a wet half term holiday, he wanted lunch in a place 'with an old open fire'... I've never been here before but kind of guessed it would fit the bill, it did.
Food was excellent, staff attentive and helpful and the whole experience was very pleasant, which was more than can be said for the weather that day. Perfect.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank plasticeddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    220
    67
    32
    12
    5
See reviews for
42
200
5
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Warminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

A surprise weekend away organised with a duel purpose of enjoying a romantic weekend ... the delightful bit, and seeing the top of the Cotswold Run Relay course. . . the hard bit. Easy to find after a nice pleasant saunter thru the Cotswolds, Ilmington is a delightful village and the Howard's Arms stands out as a very attractive building set on the outskirts. A bar and restaurant clearly very popular with the locals it was vibrant on a Friday evening without making it over crowded. We had a delightful room with plenty of character and space for all the kit we brought, and the heating on making it snug and warm (then being March!!). We ate both dinners and breakfasts in at the HA and it was worth it as the menus were interesting varied and delightful meals, every one. A nice selection of wines and beers to savour and so made for a very easy and extremely pleasant weekend. And finally a nice touch was to have a flask of fresh milk delivered daily to the room, to match the great array of teas and coffees on hand. Well down the Howard Arms as you have a fine establishments which has a very hospitable and charming staff.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank juglansjames57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kegworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

We came back here several years after first coming for dinner. This time it was for a sunday lunch. We hadn't booked (which I would advise) but/and the staff accommodated us admirably. We only really wanted a snack as we had had a big breakfast and were looking forward to (yet) another big dinner at our hotel (Dormy House). The menu allowed for all appetites, including ours! Despite being very busy, the service was exemplary and complimented the food. It was well worth seeking this pub out after several years.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiltshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014 via mobile

We had visited the Howard Arms several times before, and loved the food and the atmosphere. We went back expecting more of the same, but came away feeling a little disappointed. The food was good, if not quite as tasty as I remember from last time. However, our meal was completely spoiled by the volume of noise in the restaurant. I've been to quieter rock concerts. We had booked for two successive nights, as we were staying in the area, and went back on the second night hoping for an improvement. If anything, it was worse; more noise and poorer service - 15 minutes to take our order. Instead of staying for a dessert and a relaxing coffee, we left straight after the main course.

Last time we visited, we sat in the lower bar area, rather than the restaurant itself, and passing through there on the way out this time, the noise level was much lower. We'll definitely sit down there if we go back again.

Nice pub, friendly staff, good food, but take your earplugs and be prepared to wait for service at the weekend.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonathan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

I've now stayed at the Howard Arms around four times, and it just gets better and better. Nestling by the village green of an absurdly picturesque village (evening stroll, serenaded by birds, lambs, cows, even a chicken, for heavens' sakes!) you walk into a lovely flagged bar, and are given your key straightaway (no computer interaction, credit card business, etc). Very atmospheric place to spend an evening - rooms clean and well appointed, nice big bed, fresh coffee, etc - and the breakfast next day is second to none (one of the cleaners brings the eggs, meat is locally delivered, etc). Staff friendly and polite. One of my favourite places.

Room Tip: Maybe avoid the room over the hotel bar when they have events on
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mark t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwickshire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

Have visited the Howard Arms on a few occasions, usually to eat. Food is excellent, lovely pink roast beef on a Sunday, staff are very friendly, attentive and professional. All round one of the classiest eateries in the Midlands with a lovely relaxed, content atmosphere.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JJS74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014 via mobile

We popped into the Howard Arms (having booked in advance) for lunch on Good Friday, and a very civilised outing it was, too.

The charming property, tucked away in the countryside of south Warwickshire is very pretty. Our food was very tasty - one main of beef, one of Gloucester Old Spot pork were well cooked and nicely presented, promptly served, and the service itself was faultless. A side order of chips went down well too!

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank DeuceDeuceUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ilmington
13.5 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,069 reviews
2.7 mi away
Charingworth Manor
Charingworth Manor
#1 of 3 in Chipping Campden
4.5 of 5 bubbles 965 reviews
3.1 mi away
Ettington Park Hotel
Ettington Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Alderminster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Buckland Manor Country House Hotel
3.2 mi away
Three Ways House Hotel
Three Ways House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Mickleton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 638 reviews
7.0 mi away
White Hart Royal Hotel
White Hart Royal Hotel
#3 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Howard Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Howard Arms

Property: The Howard Arms
Address: Lower Green, Ilmington CV36 4LT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Ilmington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Ilmington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Howard Arms 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the picturesque village green of Ilimington, set in the crook of the Cotswold Hills, lies The Howard Arms, a stunning, 400-year-old Cotswold stone inn.The stylish pub and dining room provide the ideal backdrop for an appealing mix of old furniture, broad polished flagstones and a log fire that burns for most of the year. Upstairs, three beautiful bedrooms have been joined by five newly-built sumptuous and spacious bedrooms which all boast separate power shower and bath, free internet access and iPod docks. Ultimate luxury and comfort are the focus of each bedroom which offer beautiful bigs beds with hand-stitched and sprung mattresses, modern fabrics and a clever mix of antique furnishings to ensure that each room offers its own personality. As the Howard Arms is sited away from main roads or street lights, a good night's sleep will leave you revitalized and refreshed, ready to enjoy our 'famous' three-course breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your The Howard Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Howard Arms Hotel Ilmington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing