We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lunchtime meal”
Review of The Howard Arms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Howard Arms
Ranked #1 of 3 Ilmington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Salford Priors, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“lunchtime meal”
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Lovely ambience, timeless setting: mix-match wooden furniture, big old fire place . Sufficient window seats were vacant, service was fast and amiable.
We choose the à la carte lunch menu, though the fixed price one was tempting, also intriguingly served from 6 - 6.45 pm.
Starters chosen were an excellent 'beef strips' dish, and a disappointing squid ink coloured gnocchi choice that was unattractive on the plate and rather bland to eat.
Mains were a very good fish and chips, with light batter and chunky chips. The more expensive (£17+) calves' liver was on a bed of lumpy mashed potato , the liver was cooked well with soft interior, but not a large quantity.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Majen1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    242
    75
    34
    13
    6
See reviews for
52
216
6
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

This is our second time at the Howard arms, we came go celebrate my husbands birthday, we love it here you are made to feel welcome the moment you arrive by Grant and all his staff. It is set in beautiful cotswolds countryside. If you are looking for somewhere tranquil this is definitely the place to come the restaurant has a great choice of delicious food on there menu which is all made from fresh locally grown produce . A short drive away is the historic Stratford upon Avon which makes a great day out . Our room yet again was perfect everything you needed was there . And to go with your tea and coffee were some delicious homemade shortbread biscuits. I would highly recommend the Howard arms for the perfect getaway.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Italianlady48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cannock, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

On the weekend of the 26th July my partner and I booked a weekend break In the lovely village of Ilmington of which we both agree to be a very pleasant place to stay.
We decided to book for evening dinner at The Howard Arms on the Saturday for my partner, our 4 month old daughter and myself.
We had read some good reviews on the Howard though unfortunately our visit was far from those 5* reviews. On arrival I found the young male serving behind the bar a tad rude, having our table pointed out to us rather then being seated of which was situated in a very small corner but thank you to another member of staff we were offered an alternative due to the expression on my face and obvious body language although this still wasn't the best placed table as I don't believe being seated directly next to the bar hatch is suitable for a couple with a pram.
As for the food, we both decided on the pork following a lengthy look through the sparse choose from the menu.
I must say the pork was extremely nice tasting although pricey especially for the size of portion.
During our visit we did see another couple come in the Howard and approach the bar area, requested menus and a table, the menus were handed to them without words of speech leaving the mouth of the same young man that originally half heartedly greeted our entry.
So it would seem those tourists like ourselves must receive not only a blunt welcoming but also get allocated the cheap seats to dine.... Will we return to the Howard?? sorry but NO, If you want a nice comfortable place to dine, a friendly welcoming and good food you should try the Fuzzy Duck.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Craig G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hythe, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We enjoyed our stay at the Howard Arms. Unfortunately it let itself down on some basic items.
1) The A/C didn't work.
2) There were pubic hairs in the bath (and a spider but I don't think that was their fault).
3) The right hand tap was very loose as was the spout.
4) The spout allowed a discharge of hot water to come through despite the hot tap having been turned off. This was painful as my leg was immediately below the spout when it did this.
5) The room was of a large size but could have done with a sofa.
6) There were a few cobwebs around

On the other hand the food was very good and the staff were friendly and attentive. A credit to the training and management.

If the room had been up to standard, and at £150 for the night I do expect certain standards, then they would have got a four instead of a two. But the bath issue really let them down badly.

I know people will say, 'why didn't you tell the management', but really at that level and price it shouldn't be necessary, especially when the faults are so obvious.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank renardHythe_Kent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Beautiful village and excellent meal today. After a long hot walk we enjoyed beers in the lovely garden then moved inside for a late lunch, good menu choices. Great food, enjoyed the afternoon , hope to be back soon !

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Sharon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

My husband and I were married in Cuba earlier this year without telling anyone, but, when we broke the news to family and friends, we were able to say that there was to be a blessing in the Cotswold village of Ilmington, followed by a reception at the Howard Arms on 6 June. After the service, together with our 50 guests (several of whom were booked in for B and B,) we strolled back to the Howard Arms where we were greeted by the very friendly staff serving Pimms and nibbles in the gorgeous pub garden. I had met previously with Grant, the Manager, regarding the cold buffet for our guests with varying tastes and appetites and he suggested a superb spread which catered for all. We were certainly not disappointed and I have to say the quality and presentation of our "wedding breakfast" was outstanding. The staff were always at hand to assist, but not be in the way, and when our guests' appetites were satiated, we were served deliciously cold Prosecco whilst we cut our cake and speeches were made. We had arranged our own music for the three sections of the reception - in the garden, during the meal and for after dinner dancing should anyone wish to do so!! Again the process of moving the Ipod and speakers around the venue was done without fuss and with perfect timing. Not content with the excellent service already provided, ice cream was made available for the children, tea and coffee for the adults who needed it and to cap it all, delicious hot pork baps were served mid evening just in case anyone was still hungry!! Nothing was too much trouble for "Team Howard" and they remained helpful and friendly until about 12.30am when the party finally came to an end. Our rooms were delightful with excellent facilities and beautiful en suite bathrooms and the breakfast the next morning was every bit as good as the catering the day before. If anyone is looking for a venue for a small(ish) wedding/blessing reception in idyllic surroundings they could not better this delightful pub. Well done Grant and the team and thanks again for creating a superb memory for all present on 6th June

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely at the Howard Arms; some big enough to be adapted to family rooms. Some are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisbech, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Fancying a break in the beautiful Cotswolds, we were pleased to find that the sister hotel, The Park, Bedford, had an offer on stays of two nights or more at The Howard Arms. I chose the 'Country Room' as it looked very charming on their website, and requested twin beds.
On arrival we had to navigate a very busy bar area to find a member of staff who could check us in. We were handed a small thermos of milk 'for the tea' and taken through a very shabby corridor and up two flights of stairs ( again very shabby and with stained and snagged carpeting, shabby wallpaper ). Not a good first impression !.
The room was spacious, clean and overlooked the 'Green', and also an area used for parking, although there is a car park at the side of the pub and a pleasant beer garden at the rear.
Two beds had been pushed together to make a huge king-sized bed, and made up with clean bed linen but the very old bed throw, full of unsightly snags looked awful. The room held a small wardrobe and 4 coat hangers, two bedside tables with lamps, a chest of drawers, a dressing table & chair, a small hairdryer, various mirrors, two small easy chairs, and a table upon which was a kettle, teapot, two mugs, spoons, coffee pot and a small dish with four each of tea & coffee sachets, a small canister with 4 delicious little shortbread biscuits, also there were two small bottles of water, a still & a sparkling. The bathroom was clean & bright with a huge bath and power shower over - note if you have difficulty using a bathtub this might be an issue.
On arrival there were a few complimentary toiletries in the bathroom, these we used but were not replenished the next day, neither was the bottled water or the biscuits!.
On our first night we dined in, and found ourselves almost alone in the dining room. I chose the Beef Fillet which was tender & juicy, but the potatoes were strangely dry, OH had the Lamb roast dinner which tasted as if it had been left over & reheated from the lunchtime, it included the most awful Yorkshire pudding we've ever tasted - it was like eating a tennis ball. (We're from Yorkshire so we know a good pudding from a bad one ) and the promised 'jugs of gravy' never materialised. The wine we had with the meal was very good, John B Cabernet Sauvignon. Dessert was lovely, Choc cake with rum sauce & Eton Mess....
After a very hot stuffy night ( even with the windows open) we had a breakfast consisting of fresh orange juice, melon with (previously frozen ?) mushy berries, porridge with honey ( honey under the porridge ?!) a piece of burnt toast apiece and to finish scrambled eggs on granary toast with smoked salmon, which was delicious. It was interesting over hearing a fellow diner complaining about his previous day's breakfast, we were glad not to have chosen the full-English ourselves.
After a full very enjoyable day out exploring the beauty of the Cotswolds, we returned late afternoon to find that the bed had been made, (though later discovered the bottom sheet had not been straightened) the towels had been replaced though not the toiletries, the biscuit canister was empty & we had no milk for our tea. I had to go in search of a staff member who obligingly gave me new biscuits & more milk. The milk tasted a bit strange, but I used it in my tea anyway, something which I bitterly regretted later as it was obviously off and I had to suffer the consequences the next morning ! Not a brilliant end to a romantic trip away - OH also missed the breakfast that day.
On the whole, I didn't feel the Howard Arms justified it's prices. The rooms had no safe, fluffy dressing gowns, fridge, where were the leaflets / info on places to go etc.
I wouldn't return to The Howard Arms, it was just not what was promised.
Ilmington itself is a pretty village, with just the two pubs, but it's without a shop, so do bring medicines etc with you.

Room Tip: If you have any difficulty with stairs, do not book 'The Study', 'The Country Room'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank suzannejuliet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grantowen26, General Manager at The Howard Arms, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Hi There

Thank you for taking the time to write this review, we take all customer comments very seriously.
I have sent you an email regarding this matter.

Regards

Grant Owen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ilmington
3.1 mi away
Ettington Park Hotel
Ettington Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Alderminster
1,457 reviews
2.7 mi away
Charingworth Manor
Charingworth Manor
#1 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,003 reviews
3.2 mi away
Three Ways House Hotel
Three Ways House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Mickleton
682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Buckland Manor
Buckland Manor
#1 of 6 in Broadway
402 reviews
4.8 mi away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,035 reviews
13.5 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#2 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
1,186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Howard Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Howard Arms

Property: The Howard Arms
Address: Lower Green, Ilmington CV36 4LT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Ilmington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Ilmington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Howard Arms 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the picturesque village green of Ilimington, set in the crook of the Cotswold Hills, lies The Howard Arms, a stunning, 400-year-old Cotswold stone inn.The stylish pub and dining room provide the ideal backdrop for an appealing mix of old furniture, broad polished flagstones and a log fire that burns for most of the year. Upstairs, three beautiful bedrooms have been joined by five newly-built sumptuous and spacious bedrooms which all boast separate power shower and bath, free internet access and iPod docks. Ultimate luxury and comfort are the focus of each bedroom which offer beautiful bigs beds with hand-stitched and sprung mattresses, modern fabrics and a clever mix of antique furnishings to ensure that each room offers its own personality. As the Howard Arms is sited away from main roads or street lights, a good night's sleep will leave you revitalized and refreshed, ready to enjoy our 'famous' three-course breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Odigeo so you can book your The Howard Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Howard Arms Hotel Ilmington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing