We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful building, amazing surroundings, needs cash injection.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bosworth Hall Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Market Bosworth
Reviewed 4 June 2014

My husband and I booked for two nights last weekend on a DBB basis in a standard double room. The first thing I would say is that the room was tidy if a little dated and basic. The TV was really old, however, we did not spend much time in the room. The hotel did provide the usual toiletries. I think the heating was on and the beautiful old windows were very hard to keep open, thus room rather warm. I did put this on comment card.
The meals in Jenny's carvery were nice, but hubby and I were very gutted that we could not get into the posh restaurant (Cromptons), but believe this was due to wedding party (fair enough). Breakfast was nice, but a bit strange and presumptuous that each table had a coffee flask on it ready for the guests whether they wanted coffee or not. Seems a waste for those guests (like ourselves) who did not particularly want a coffee. Having said that I thoroughly enjoyed the soup on both evenings and actually complimented the Chef personally on the mushroom stroganoff on the 2nd night.
We were both impressed with the ambience and service in the Java lounge. Nicola in particular was excellent and was always smiling. Bit disappointed though that they ran out of Hot Chocolate on the Saturday, which I was really looking to after a day out at Drayton Manor Park getting soaked on the rides.
The health centre (Spindles) was really quite pleasant when you consider that parts of it are in desperate need of a revamp. The gym appeared to be well equipped, even though hubby and I did not use it. The pool, jacuzzi, steam and sauna were all ok, but steam and sauna area rather uninspiring and spiral staircase up to pool may be original, but a bit dangerous perhaps.
I would definitely stay here again, but really think the CEO of Britannia Hotels needs to think very seriously about spending some money doing parts of the hotel up. This is a beautiful hall in amazing surroundings, please do it justice!!!

Room Tip: I would perhaps request an upgrade to one of the executive ones in the old house. Very nicely done a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Deborah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,489)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,205 - 2,211 of 4,490 reviews

Reviewed 4 June 2014

Stayed here on 30th May on a Groupon deal. Impressive frontage, check in was quick, couldn't upgrade evening meal to Comptons Restaurant as it was fully booked. Room was in old part of hotel and was ok, most important thing for me is that the bedding is clean and it was, bed seemed small though probably just a standard double, windows with obscure glass so no view to speak of, tv was old but worked ok, bathroom was ok. Overall the room was ok but needs updating, nothing amazing just a room.
Evening meal in Jenny's Restaurant was disappointing, my husband had the carvery which consisted of turkey, part cooked roast potates, peas & sweetcorn (no yorkshire puds, no stuffing, no parsnips, no choice of meat just turkey). I had cottage pie which was basically mince with peas, no potato topping. Other choice was fish, which looked like the cheapest battered fish from the cheapest supermarket you can think of. Deserts were nice with at least 3 choices.
Breakfast was also disappointing, cheap mushy sausages, rubbery fried eggs, rubbery scrambled eggs, bacon, beans and tinned tomatoes. Selection of fruit and yoghurts was just ok.
Bar area in the evening was ok but let down by bingo coming from other room.
Guests appear to be mostly OAP's, a scattering of newly weds and a handful like us that are somewhere in middle. Lots of dogs in hotel, which isn't to my liking.
The hotel itself is a beautiful building set in lovely grounds, staff didn't tell us about the spa, the rooftop conservatory or the table tennis room on check in, we just stumbled across them.
Staff we encountered were polite and helpful.
Overall for what we paid it was value for money but I wouldn't pay full price and even at Groupon prices we won't return.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shush1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Recently stayed at this hotel with family, the hotel is very nice with lovely lounges, comfortable pleasant clean bedrooms and situated in lovely surrounds.
Little disappointed with dining area and the buffet meals were nothing special, in fact this is one of the areas that could be addressed with an improvement of presentation and of quality of food. I would also recommend that some, not all of the waiters and serving staff should be educated in politeness and to be courteous to guests staying at the hotel

Room Tip: The room we stayed in was very comfortable,clean with a nice en suite, took a while to locate the ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dennis N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

...but it's not. Very old and tired-looking rooms, haven't been updated since the 1950s I reckon. Small bed. Full of blue-rinse brigade, which is fine but the bingo kind of does your head in after a while.
Some staff were nice, some were uninterested. No mobile reception there, so when the wifi didn't work I asked reception. The response was "wifi isn't guaranteed in the rooms" rather than something like "I'll do my best but...". It didn't work in the rest of the hotel either.
Well, not going back there anyway. Market Bosworth deserves better.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank FergStrack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We found this hotel on Groupon and thought it looked a nice place to celebrate our 1 year anniversary. I'd heard they hold weddings there so thought it must be nice! We booked in and walked down to our room. It was tiny, smelly and the bathroom looked dirty.
We went to the spa or a swim. It was small and again run down but it was ok. I had a shower after our swim and the water was struggling to go down the plug hole as it was full of hair, disguising!!ll
We were offered a 3 course carvery for £10 which was again poor.
Breakfast was ordered for 8.30 and 8.45 I called down to check where it was and they'd forgot. It turned up at 9am, not what we ordered and the tray swimming in orange juice. We left the lot, got our thing and left.
We will not be going there again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Amanda583
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

This has to be one of the most over rated places I've ever stayed. So much potential so much wrong.
stayed twice equally bad experiences.
Rooms are tired and dated not very fresh, there appears to be not much money being spent on maintaining standards around the place, staff are unfriendly with a don't really care attitude not very professional and let the place down.
Attended a wedding there a while back there had been a mix up with the bridal suite and it wasn't handled very well.
Food is very basic and run of the mill, breakfast is canteen style.
such a shame its so poor in so many areas when location and all its history gives it sooo much potential to be so good.
Certainly would NOT consider it as a wedding function venue, and would be reluctant to enthuse about staying here.

Room Tip: put a blind fold on before entering your room. dated, tired, old, tatty round the edges.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Helly J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We enjoyed a nice Bank Holiday break at this Grade 11 listed Hotel close to the historic Bosworth Field area of Leicestershire.

The Hotel begun life as a C17 country House with gated entrances still existing on several aspects and set in extensive well kept grounds. These areas are open to be enjoyed by the visitor especially during summer days and perhaps to indulge the hunt for the Grey Lady who as legend has it, met her very unfortunate end here. More recently it had been a hospital although I saw no evidence of this.

Our room was spacious and clean and the double bed wide and comfortable.

The bathroom had double sinks and a power shower. There was several dated items of wooden furniture in the room but this was in keeping with the provenance of the Hotel.

The bar area was welcoming and the seating comfortable and there were several other rooms like the conservatory, snooker room and drawing rooms where guests were also free to relax. The drawing room itself has a celebrated huge stone fireplace carved with the latin motto of Harrow School – Let the house endure – although if there was ever any link between the two this was not apparent.

Being a history lover I also much enjoyed visiting The Newgate Bar which my research informed me, contained a cell door from the old City of London prison, Newgate, which I knew had been demolished in 1900 and replaced by the Central Criminal Court, the Old Bailey.

The deal(s) available to book your place at this Hotel were very reasonably priced but it also contained breakfast and dinner being self service in Jenny’s Carvery. Be warned that there is often a wait to be seated and the food is best described as “without frills” although entirely in keeping with the deal price. An upgrade to The Crompton a la carte restaurant is probably a good idea at a cost of £7 per head per dinner but this must be done quickly on arrival as this move is much in demand by your fellow guests and the restaurant is quite small. The choices in this restaurant are accordingly fairly limited and the menu we were told only changes monthly.

The Hotel also has a very nice Spa area called Spindles which is free to guests and has available for your enjoyment the use of a swimming pool, sauna, steam room, jacuzzi and various gym equipment.

Just outside the Hotel is a very nice coffee and sandwich bar called Swans from which the friendly owner serves excellent coffee and snacks at very reasonable prices and to the accompaniment of peaceful classical music.

Only a five minute walk to the other side of the medieval church opposite the Hotel entrance, is the village of Bosworth which has several bars and restaurants which are sure to be enjoyed by visitors.

Two other tips that you may find useful are that there is no safe or deposit box in your room and it is a good idea to register your credit card with reception in order that all drinks and any other purchases made in the Hotel need only be paid with your final bill.

All in all a very nice stay at very reasonable rates that I would recommend providing you are prepared to endure Jenny’s Carvery which I felt was not up to the standard of the rest of the Hotel being adequate but definitely not memorable.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MrBoring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Market Bosworth
8 mi away
Jurys Inn Hinckley Island
7.1 mi away
Sketchley Grange Hotel & Spa
5.9 mi away
Badgers Mount Hotel
Badgers Mount Hotel
#1 of 1 in Elmesthorpe
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.3 mi away
Kilworth House Hotel
Kilworth House Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Kilworth
1,036 reviews
11.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Ullesthorpe Court Hotel & Golf Club
3.7 mi away
Millers Hotel
Millers Hotel
#2 of 12 in Nuneaton
464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bosworth Hall Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bosworth Hall Hotel & Spa

Address: The Park | Market Bosworth, Market Bosworth CV13 0LP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Market Bosworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Market Bosworth
Price Range: £39 - £87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bosworth Hall Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bosworth Hall Hotel & Spa is located in the heart of the English countryside. Set in 11 acres of beautiful landscaped gardens, Bosworth Hall is one of the most imposing and striking hotels in Market Bosworth. The beautiful Grade II Listed Mansion, dates backs from the 17th century and encompasses many of its original features. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Bosworth Hall Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Bosworth Hall
Bosworth Hall Market
Bosworth Hotel
Bosworth Hall Hotel & Spa Market Bosworth, Leicestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing