We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place for lunch” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ye Olde Red Lion Hotel, Market Bosworth

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nuneaton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ye Olde Red Lion Hotel, Market Bosworth
Ranked #1 of 10 Nuneaton B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice place for lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013 via mobile

Popped in here when out for a walk from the nearby Bosworth hall, had a good selection of real beers and I tried most of them. We had a lunch of a burger and chips and a plate of sandwiches. All very good and not expensive. Locals were chatty and is is clearly popular with them.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank mark l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    23
    11
    2
    3
See reviews for
9
27
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
99 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

Popped in here for a few drinks and a spot of lunch while staying in the Bosworth Hall Hotel up the road which you should avoid at all costs as it's terrible. Anyway, what a lovely pub this place is, the staff are all very welcoming and my wife and I had had a lovely lunch and drink in here, good value and good food, definitely worth a visit if your in the area : )

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank brokenpedro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlands
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013

Not stayed here but have had lunch a couple of times. Staff very friendly and helpful and very good selection of beers. Unfortunately the food lets it down. It is in general overpriced and not very well cooked or presented. Certainly wouldn't recommend it for food.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HEC58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
241 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

Had lunch here on Saturday, steak pie with chips, soup and roll, both good, decent pint.

One gripe Mrs C not impressed by veggie menu at all, poor choice.

Went back on Sunday night and did their monthly quiz, ales had changed very nice EPA, the quiz is really good well thought out, we were equal first at one point and then Shakespeare and classical music sent us crashing and burning.

Planning on spending quite a bit of the winter on the Ashby canal, will make sure we are always here for the quiz, and a bite to eat

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank lincolnhatter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
73 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

My visit was for a drink and a pub grub meal, we did not stay overnight. The 'Hotel' is situated in lovely Market Bosworth, a typical old fashioned building with plenty of atmosphere. The beer on offer was varied and good quality. Our group ordered a variety of dishes from the the menu and specials board. Unfortunately the food was below average, my selection of lasagna was bland and tasteless the chips were under cooked, overall the presentation was poor. The staff were polite and helpful, worth a visit for a drink but on my experience I would suggest you give the food a miss.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CJMESQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rugeley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

We stayed one night, had a meal in the bar which neither of us were particularly impressed with. The pastry on the steak and ale pie was tasteless and the strangest pastry ive ever had and the gravy very watery, my partners steak was more medium well than medium rare as requested. the chips were overdone and seemed to be the last bits out of the chip basket, the breakfast the next day was much better, very tasty and served by a lovley friendly lady who really went the extra mile with service. The cleaner was also really friendly and chatty. The room was nice enough, clean and the bed was comfortable.The toilet was very noisy though and we did wish we had picked a room with a shower

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jacquelinefleet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

Great pub in the middle of Bosworth. Large choice of real ales and excellent well priced home cooked food. The landlord knows his stuff and runs the pub well. The bar staff are polite and hard working. The locals are friendly and chatty. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shaun e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nuneaton
0.2 mi away
Bosworth Hall Hotel & Spa
Bosworth Hall Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Market Bosworth
3.0 of 5 bubbles 4,023 reviews
3.6 mi away
Millers Hotel
Millers Hotel
#2 of 12 in Nuneaton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Dixie Arms Hotel
The Dixie Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Market Bosworth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Old Ivy House Bed & Breakfast
Old Ivy House Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 1 in Congerstone
5.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Royal Arms Restaurant & Hotel
7.4 mi away
La Tavola Calda Hotel
La Tavola Calda Hotel
#2 of 10 in Nuneaton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ye Olde Red Lion Hotel, Market Bosworth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ye Olde Red Lion Hotel, Market Bosworth

Property: Ye Olde Red Lion Hotel, Market Bosworth
Address: 1 Park Street | Market Bosworth, Nuneaton CV13 0LL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Nuneaton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Nuneaton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Ye Olde Red Lion Hotel, Market Bosworth Nuneaton, Warwickshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing